We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent restaurant in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Gusto

El Gusto
Ranked #33 of 92 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Wonderful location on the shore of the Pacific to enjoy your lunch or dinner. Lunch is being served on the terrace overlooking a freshwater lagoon with an active birdlife. Dinner is offered indoors due to the cooler evenings and some upcoming winds. In Summer, we also serve dinner on the terrace. The terrace is called whale deck due to the wonderful view on passing whales in season (Jan - Mar). We serve day-fresh seafood and well cured prime cuts. Organic salads and vegetables from the region are a must. And we also speak Vegaterian and Vegan. Dinner reservation required.
Pinetop, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

ate there for lunch a couple of weeks back - kind of hard to get to, but it's well worth driving on some dirt roads to get there - the upstairs patio overlooked the ocean with whales breaching and spouting, all with delicious fare to boot! I wish I was still there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
715 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“stupendous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

we rented a car and drove from san jose to todos santos 2 weeks ago, about 1 1/2 hr. drive. we parked our car and walked into the 1st art gallery we saw, "galeria la poza". it wasn't officially open, however the owner was there and we chatted. libusche's art is wonderful. she asked us if we had eaten yet. turns out she and her husband own a boutique hotel which also has a restaurant, "el gusto". after we had strolled and explored around the town we drove out to "posada la poza". it is a dirt road, o.k. to travel on and many of the hotel's signs all along the way, about a 10 min. drive there. and oh, my goodness! a beautiful orange hotel, amazing gardens and the 2nd floor teal blue and lime green outdoor restaurant looks out over a lagoon and the pacific ocean. such a tranquil setting. my husband had the snapper and an artfully displayed yummy salad, and i had the tortilla soup and caesar salad, both very good. we watched frigate birds and pelicans fishing in the lagoon and grey whales breaching in the ocean. doesn't get much better than that!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Rough roads bring nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This oasis is worth the drive. Yes rough roads, but it gives you a good excuse to wind around some back roads seeing unusual sights. The food was very good but perhaps a little pricey considering it was only lunch. The setting is beautiful and clean. The bathrooms were the nicest I have seen in any restaurant in Mexico. Go do the exploring, and when the chef speaks to you after your meal he will answer you that he finds rough roads bring nice people! Great added touch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stumbled up to El Gusto after walking up the trail from the beach. Despite our bedraggled appearance, the owner warmly welcomed us and treated us to one of the best meals of our vacation. I had a fantastic shrimp dish. And while I didn't order it, the tortilla soup was out of this world. Even in the dark, the view was lovely -- across the lagoon to the ocean. To top it all off, as we were leaving, the owner discovered that we were planning to walk home without a proper flashlight. He went back indoors -- we assumed to lend us a flashlight -- and instead returned with the cook who he volunteered to drive us home. What a way to end the evening -- door to door service after an outstanding meal. Thank you, El Gusto!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ems38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeagle, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Only restaurant with ocean view. Swiss owners have a euro/mex menu which is really good and fun. One of the best pollo moles I have aver had!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianoGraeagle_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gusto also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to El Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing