We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest of fish, authentic setting, best in Baja”
Review of Cafe Santa Fe

Cafe Santa Fe
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
SF, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Freshest of fish, authentic setting, best in Baja”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The little art and expat town of Todos Santos is already a memorable place to visit. Authentic folk art (once one navigates around the tourist souvenirs), statues of saints on the brick and stucco buildings, the town square and access to scenic beaches with powerful surf make a trip to Baja del Sur without visiting Todos a major blunder. But what awaits you there in the culinary deliciousness of Cafe Santa Fe is all icing on the cake. On a recent trip, we had the freshest huachinango (snapper) of my life, prepared simply to allow the fish to be the focal point. Shrimp pasta brought supple tasty crustaceans. The pulpo (octopus) was only slightly less tasty. Portions are generous, service friendly and the outdoor garden dining makes for a romantic experience. The prices are big city, so be prepared for that. Run, don't walk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    59
    35
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where's the Vodka Penne?”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I rode our motorcycle down to Todos Santos from La Paz on Sunday for lunch at the Cafe Santa Fe. I would highly recommend this easy, scenic drive for a fantastic, easy day of trip. It's only about 50 miles and the road is about as perfect as you could imagine. I have been going to Santa Fe for almost 20 years. The food is always good and the ingredients are super fresh and of the highest quality. The wait staff is attentive and the menu offers pizza, pasta and fresh seafood dishes. We had the pesto pasta and pizza. Both were good, although I thought the pesto portion was very small and not such a great value. The pizza was right on the money and an excellent value. Also, a dish that I used to drive from Cabo or La Paz to enjoy has been lost from the menu. Where is the Vodka Penne?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A "must" in Todos Santos”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a must when you go to Todos Santos, it's the best italian restaurant, the food is fresh and very tasty, the service is prefect. The prices are a little high, but it's a treat !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la-choyera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and very good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have enjoyed many lunches at Cafe Santa Fe and enjoyed all of them. We like the restaurant and the atmosphere, although we do feel the pricing and the quality are somewhat out of line these days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasmar9680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly - meal was impeccably prepared and served. Kitchen immaculate - a true delight and wonderful find in Todos Santos, Mexico.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaS981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Santa Fe also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Cafe Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing