We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we booked our trip to Tijuana for my wife's surgery, the medical tourism company told us we would be staying at the Marriott. Two days before our trip they called us to let us know that the Marriott was overbooked, and we would be moved to the Palacio Azteca. Initially we were nervous about being switched from a "name brand" hotel to the Palacio.

As it turns out our concerns were completely unfounded. The Palacio Azteca is a beautiful, clean, safe hotel in a great neighborhood. Everyone from the doormen to the wait staff in the restaurant to the housekeeping staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Small example: at one point I with my limited Spanish went to the front desk to ask where I could find a pair of scissors, the concierge pulled a pair out of a drawer and let me borrow them on the spot.

The rooms are bright and airy, with nice neutral furniture. The windows open, which is great! The bathrooms are a little small, but very nicely equipped. The TV has plenty of English channels to choose from. A hint: if you're watching a channel and the audio is in Spanish, hit the "Idioma" button on your remote and it will show you if English is available for that show.

The restaurant is great, but the prices are a little high. Excellent food can be found just outside the hotel as well. There is a 24 hour restaurant on the adjacent corner which is fantastic (Try the Combinacion), and the best tacos in TJ are two block east at Las Ahumaderas. This "Taco Alley" was featured on No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain.

Sorry for the length of this review, but I have strong, great feelings about the Palacio Azteca. We will book there again when we return to Tijuana, and suggest that you do as well!

Room Tip: Top floor seemed to have very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beardsley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, appreciated the effort of the staff working at Hotel Palacio Azteca is valued by those who give us the opportunity to welcome you and we are committed to continue to improve every day. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    29
    10
    17
See reviews for
45
41
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very nice room despite lack of room safe - room 626. Very quiet at night and enjoyed the huge tub. Approx $6 cab ride both to medical clinics near frontiers and the huge shopping mall at Plaza Rio, which is worthy of a review all of its own...breakfast was expensive at $12 but had great selection and I have never seen cheesecake on a breakfast buffet anywhere. I was a little surprised when I returned in afternoon and room key wouldn't work - billing problem? In any case, greatly enjoyed my two day stay. Expedia booking went smoothly and no hidden charges for bottles of water etc. Desk staff speak English and displayed gr8 patience with my clunkety George Bush style spanish! I would definitely go back. TV had lots of channels and even BBC news.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments and we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for two nights. Clean hotel. Friendly service. The breakfast buffet was great. Safe neighborhood. We walked for taco's 2 blocks away which were great. We walked to the mall and even to some bars locally. Felt completely safe and we are a bunch of US east coasters. I speak some Spanish but had no problems getting around. I would stay again!!!!

Room Tip: Great Taco's at Las Tres Salsa's just around the corner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for expressing your opinion, will be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to Tijuana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We celebrated my Grandmothers 100th Birthday and we got 10 rooms. We have never stayed in a Hotel in Tijuana and we did not expect too much. As soon as we arrived the bell boy took all our belonging to our room.
They have a modern decor in the lobby area and the rooms were a nice size and very clean. We were also impressed with the customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Your satisfaction in our services is our greatest reward. We appreciate your comments and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying in Tijuana, so we did not know what to expect. I really liked this hotel. It was very clean and much nicer than what I expected. We came thnxgiving wk. Most of the staff were very friendly. We were going to visit Ensenada, but needed to stay in TJ for the night, and a family friend recommended this hotel. The food was the best part of this hotel and was the reason we stayed here a second time after coming back from Ensenada. Coming from Las Vegas, we thought the hotel was a little pricey, but felt it evened out since we received complimentary breakfast. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments and are glad your stay with us was a pleasant one! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice and clean. We initially had issues with our reservation and the manager kindly stepped in and helped us out. We ate breakfast and the food and service were great. The kids also enjoyed the pool.
I felt very safe and enjoyed this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting TJ.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvette0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate your opinion and hope to receive you in your future visit soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at this hotel and I liked a lot because it was clean, the room was nice, great bathroom and shower, quiet, nice pool and relaxing patio! Easy to get everywhere in the city (Revolution ave, Plaza Rio, etc). The only improvement would be more fluffy pillows and stronger wifi signal in the rooms but at the lobby was pretty strong! Has one bar and restaurant, they had breakfast buffet at a fair price but I did not try it. If you have to go to Tijuana, you should consider this hotel, for any reason you need ( leisure, business or a getaway)

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioAzteca, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to evaluate our services and we hope to receive you in your future visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#17 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#13 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Azteca Hotel

Property: Palacio Azteca Hotel
Address: Boulevard Cuauhtemoc sur Oriente 213 | Col. Davila, Tijuana 22044, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio Azteca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing