We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gathering Place”
Review of Cafe De La Flor

Cafe De La Flor
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Tijuana
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gathering Place”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

There are several branches of Cafe de la Flor throughout Tijuana, but the one with the charm and the chic is the Chapultepec branch on Calle Sonora near the Club Campestre. I dined here on January 1, 2014 [most restaurants in Tijuana were closed that day]. The filagree iron chairs on the patio are immensely uncomfortable, so grab one of the wood chairs---there are a few outside and more inside, and simply move them to the table of your choice. Then your back won't scream. The two tiny interior rooms are cramped and claustrophobic, and one room is dominated by a large glass case of desserts, so the patio is preferred. Some of the tables were topped by a tiny vase into which was placed a short-stemed red carnation---a nice touch. Even though it was three o'clock in the afternoon, the waiter brought me the breakfast menu---no, no, no, I want the lunch/ dinner menu please, which he quickly brought. But first the wine: There is a small and ordinary wine list: I ordered the L.A. Cetto Chardonnay Riserva Privada. After about ten minutes, the water brought an L.A. Cetto Nebbiolo---no, I ordered the Chardonnay---a WHITE wine. Then another ten minutes passed, and he brought out an L.A. Cetto Chardonnay---hurray!----but it was not a Riserva Privada. Then another ten minutes passed and the bartender himself came out to the patio to advise that they did not have the Riserva Privada at all, so I had the "regular" Chardonnay. The bartender was wearing a heavenly fragrance---I had to ask him what it was: "Hugo Boss", he said. The piped in music was good---French songs, Spanish music. I ordered the Chicken Breast a la Plancha, which is offered "bathed" in your choice of three sauces: I chose the Chipotle Sauce, which did indeed "bathe" the pounded breast far too much--- it was more like a drowning. But it was okay, and was served with vegetables and rice. I felt like Papas Francesas [French fries], so I ordered a side plate, but they were sadly soggy and not very good. Perhaps next time I will try a simple panini or a salad. The bill for one person [common wine, chicken breast, French fries and a nice coffee drink] came to 600 pesos, with tip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    66
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sidewalk Cafe on Calle Sonora”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The particular Cafe de la Flor that I enjoy is the branch on Calle Sonora, the "Street of Restaurants" [La Condesa, Tabule, Elementos, Cabanna, Piola, etc.]. There is a pretty terrace out front [wish they had more comfortable and substantial chairs, rather than those wobbly little wrought iron numbers}. The valet parking makes dining in this busy neighborhood easy. I have only dined at the Cafe de la Flor for Sunday breakfast, after the 8:00 a.m. Mass at Spiritu Santo, which is located just up the hill. The food is okay. The point is just enjoying the charm of the place and letting it go at that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast, desserts”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I usually come here for breakfast. Seems to be disproportionately filled/loved by women of all ages for whatever reason. I think they do a pretty good job with variety/quality/atmosphere etc.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forthelulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
610 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Disappointed about the Mexican food. The cakes were wonderful”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went there for business lunch. Some reviewer claimed this is the best Mexican restaurant. I don't think so. I ordered the Shrimp anyway you like. I picked Garlic Shrimp. The shrimps were overcooked. The chef did not know what he was doing. This is basic shrimp cooking 101. When shrimps are overcooked , they shrink and get tough. Cook them in high flame for 2 to 3 minutes max and that's all it takes.

I was going to give a one star, but the coconut cheese cakes were so good. I gave 2 stars because of the deserts.

The place is clean. Service was good. The Mexican dishes are not up to standard. They have to go back to school. This is a common mistake of most chefs in restaurant in Mexico.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Tijuana”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Come anytime, you can get breakfast, lunch or dinner, and of course you MUST try one of the cakes.
Cafe de la flor is a small place, and in many locations parking is an issue (unless you go to plaza rio, which is more crowded than the other locations).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eesliter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De La Flor also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Cafe De La Flor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing