We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
22
21
18
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
21
18
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caesar salad hotel caesar the main tourist street jai alai no elevator rooms are clean dressing invented prohibition rage noise wifi tj partying
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 68 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at the Hotel Caesar's 100s of times since 2004 and have seen it slowly be renovated into a rather clean, modern gem from the old times.

I am an avid Cuban cigar aficionado and traveled to Tijuana from my home in SoCal to relax and enjoy a great Habanos from the closest to the USA mainland Cuban franchised cigar store, the La Casa del Habano which is located across the street from the hotel.

The hotel has been updated but still retains its historical charm. It is where the world famous Caesar's Salad was born back in 1924 by Caesar Cardini. It was a favorite stop for Hollywood actors, sport's stars and the elite back when bullfights, Jai Alai, gambling, alcohol (remember Prohibition) and partying were the rage.

The room prices are reasonable and the hotel's restaurant is one of the best in Tijuana.

So grab yourself a great cigar at LCdH, a great meal at Caesar's (of course have the famous salad), a great msrgarita and chill, chill, chill.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank magician49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

This is an old school hotel right in the center of Tijuana. If you have a room facing the main street, you're likely to go mad thanks to the loud the music from neighboring businesses. Still, it's cheap, clean, and central. Would stay here again.

Room tip: Do not get a room facing the street.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

and if it was for him alone, I would have given FIVE dots, he speaks excellent English AND he remembers your name like you were in a Ritz Carleton hotel unfortunately, there are factors that brought the rating down. ( I once read a review where the first line complained about was the desk clerk there so I stopped reading then and there so if the things I complained about are not important to you and you just care for an efficient and friendly desk clerk and Marco is working that night then by all means stay here.) NO elevators, though SOMETIMES they will have someone to carry things to the room.

It is a good value, clean nicely appointed hotel in the center of downtown and best of all next to Caesar's restaurant (they now have different ownership) but a restaurant of this caliber would be twice the cost in the U.S. (like my dentist-LOL) BUT the wifi is awful, I kept getting bounced off and it was slow, the problem was the second night, the clerk spoke no English so could not help at all and during the day if you are taking a nap it sounds like a drill or something was on (it looked like they may be renovating the hotel so that's why their prices are especially low now.) If you want more towels, strangely enough, they charge you extra.

Well, if you don't need the internet and if you can speak Spanish in case a problem arises or do not think it would matter for one night or so and find out that they stopped renovating or will not be around in the day when they do, this would be a good value but as I said, if you can, find out before working whether Marco is working that night, that would be the best day to arrive, I think that much of him.

Room tip: Someone said get a room in the back it's quieter but I could not hear outside noise only indoors as my room was at top of stairs.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evangeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

a noisy hotel from the clubs around it; room was OK but small bathroom that smelled and sink clogged up. old type heater/AC unit noisy. I would say it would have been OK if price was lower, but for the same price can stay at the Ticuan hotel which is excellent.

Room tip: not sure, all noisy
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

This is not only a place to taste the original Caesars Salad (they invented it, and they certainly know how to prepare it), but all of the plates that we had, were well prepared and the service was wonderful. I recommend you visit. But if you have a big party, do make reservations.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank vic000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews