We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Nipomo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Reasonably priced, very clean & comfortable and close to the medical district. Will stay here again when next I need to go down. Cabs right across from the main entrance to take you where ever you want to go.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a swimming pool or spa, but I may be wrong. We were not interested in eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Greetings from everyone working at the Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are glad to have cover your needs during your visit. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    63
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
24
35
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel charges 19% in addition to room base rate. You can only pay in full through their website with a credit card. If you book using a third party, you will need to pay at check-in (cash or credit). Popular medical tourism hotel close to many medical offices.

Room Tip: Third party booking may not get the best room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank A-Worthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Greetings from everyone at Hotel Real DEL RIO. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem located in the Zone Rio area. Service was excellent, the rooms were first rate and I loved the bar. The unexpected thing about this hotel is the food is really good which I would never expect from a hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was a find on priceline about $60 bucks a night for a double. It was modern, clean and well-located. It was a quick cab ride to the nightlife on the Avenida de la Revolucion. We went jogging in the morning in the area and everything was great. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor or above to get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiotexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel is nice and modern. To find it, it was a bit tricky, but I'm sure if you call them, they can guide you. The breakfast was very yummy and reasonably price. The only thing I would suggest is getting softer towels. They were a bit too harsh... Other than that, it was a comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Sorry you had a hard time getting to the Hotel, but as some might say “Getting there is half the fun"

We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am a frequent traveler to Tijuana. This time I needed to find the nicest hotel possible at around 75 dollars a night as I was needing 2-3 rooms. Hotel Real del Rio's website showed some pretty nice modern bedrooms and they boasted a policy in place to maintain the hotels integrity. Through their website I got a pretty decent rate using my AAA discount. My son got a bloody nose and got some blood on the sheets. When I went to pay my bill at the end of our 4 night stay (3 rooms) I was charged 500 pesos (about $40 USD) for laundry service on the sheets! Something about them not having onsite laundry service. If it weren't for this outrageous charge at the end of my stay, I would have said the hotel was a really good price for the room we stayed in. I'm not staying here again - how can i guarantee no stains on the bedding with a 3 year old? Pros: Free WIFI, Free Parking, Convenient Location, Clean Room, AAA rate gives you a decent rate
Cons: No in room Fridge available at all, 3 adult max per room (even for a 2 bed room), not enough storage if on extended stay, small dingy raspy towels, no wash clothes, loud AC, not enough light in room, they will CHARGE for any type of stain on bedding, no pool

Room Tip: use AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiosMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on Clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Complying with international standards of quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here on January 4th. The hotel has a restaurant and bar. Tried all of the services the hotel had to offer and was very satisfactory. The bar is great, plays alot of techno but fairly empty and quiet for a Saturday night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#13 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lucerna Tijuana
Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#3 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Tijuana Otay
Fiesta Inn Tijuana Otay
#2 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Property: Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Address: Avenida Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing