We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been worth the money...but then I got the bill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would have been worth the money...but then I got the bill”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am a frequent traveler to Tijuana. This time I needed to find the nicest hotel possible at around 75 dollars a night as I was needing 2-3 rooms. Hotel Real del Rio's website showed some pretty nice modern bedrooms and they boasted a policy in place to maintain the hotels integrity. Through their website I got a pretty decent rate using my AAA discount. My son got a bloody nose and got some blood on the sheets. When I went to pay my bill at the end of our 4 night stay (3 rooms) I was charged 500 pesos (about $40 USD) for laundry service on the sheets! Something about them not having onsite laundry service. If it weren't for this outrageous charge at the end of my stay, I would have said the hotel was a really good price for the room we stayed in. I'm not staying here again - how can i guarantee no stains on the bedding with a 3 year old? Pros: Free WIFI, Free Parking, Convenient Location, Clean Room, AAA rate gives you a decent rate
Cons: No in room Fridge available at all, 3 adult max per room (even for a 2 bed room), not enough storage if on extended stay, small dingy raspy towels, no wash clothes, loud AC, not enough light in room, they will CHARGE for any type of stain on bedding, no pool

Room Tip: use AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiosMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on Clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Complying with international standards of quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    79
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
30
39
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here on January 4th. The hotel has a restaurant and bar. Tried all of the services the hotel had to offer and was very satisfactory. The bar is great, plays alot of techno but fairly empty and quiet for a Saturday night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went to Tijuana for one week's trip and lives several different hotels. I booked this hotel online before I went there, it's very close to the boarder between America and Mexico. I paid $68 of a single room with a king size bed, it's a nice room with a nice desk, good WIFI, safe box. It worth the money I paid.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank xiedwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos que se tomaron el tiempo para compartir su opinión. Por este medio recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO. Aclarando los detalles de su visita, fue atendido por nuestro encargado de recepción y se Muchas gracias por dar sus comentarios de su visita y teniendo en cuenta su opinion para mejorar el servicio futuro. Esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Cumpliendo con los estándares internacionales de calidad y servicio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Let me start this review by saying that I hardly ever write bad reviews. I am top contributor in TripAdvisor I work for Expedia, I travel a lot and as a Mexican with regret I can say this is one of the worst hotels Ive ever stayed in.

First the PROs:
- Free WiFi
- Free Parking

now the CONS (I will elaborate more on some points):
a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD, dont even try to ask for fresh towels
b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
c) Overpriced, specially by having amazing hotels like Camino Real 1 block away
d) Rooms are old, carpets are stained and there's no suite amenities (fridge, microwave)
e) Facilities like A/C are OLD and noisy.

Now let me elaborate:

a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD:
After a long day visiting "La Ruta del Vino" a wine tour, we came back and took a late shower, towels are like sandpaper but anyways. We woke up late (we had a wedding that day) and called house keeping for some towels, which we were denied to, they didnt have any (yeah right) and they were waiting for them to come from outsourced laundry... housekeeping lady was RUDE, and simply denied to help my wife, at that time I called front desk and argue with the guy in order to get towels, its the first time in my life I BEG for towels. after 15 to 20 minutes a rude bellboy comes, and gives me ONE towel, which my wife used.. end of the story I had to wait until evening to shower and use a fresh towel, of course my room was never cleaned and housekeeping only showed a day later.

b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
We saw 3 prostitutes arrive to the lounge bar to "visit" other guests, this I find extremely inappropriate for a "decent" hotel

c) d) and e) are self explanatory, this hotel is simply something I would NEVER use again and would NEVER recommend,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I came to Tijuana by myself to have some dental work done. ALL of my friends and family were worried about me (except my hubby who knows that I am adventurous). This hotel was chosen because of its price and proximity to my dentist. It is located in the Zona Rio and is close to restaurants, cinemas, banks and clubs. The very modern décor carries through from the hotel rooms to the lobby décor - it's not my particular taste but for those who like modern styling, this hotel is perfect. My room was a little dark with the blackout curtains closed but task lighting is adequate. There were a few stains on the carpet but not enough to prevent me from enjoying my stay. For some reason, washcloths were not provided but this wasn't a problem since I travel with my own loofa. They have Wi-Fi and provide the password to incoming guests. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Although I had the continental breakfast coupon, I needed a special meal because my teeth were sensitive. The waiter in the restaurant worked with the chef to create a soft (yet delicious) breakfast for less than $7.00 U.S.! The only suggestions I would have would be to include washcloths, professionally steam clean the carpets and add more ceiling light fixtures. I have more work that needs to be done and the Real del Rio will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Textilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. The check in was fast and it was obvious that they had security measures in place. Felt Safe at this location. The hotel looks average from the outside but the inside rooms are very clean and very nice looking. Its a bit tricky getting to the hotel because of the one way streets and lack of signs. The parking is free, and it has 24/7 security so its safe.
Very nice hotel, staff very nice. No complaints, just stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiva_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel.It is very close to Zona Rio which is the center where there is alot of restaurants and a theater there. Customer service is great and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is near everything, and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jl90650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Google Translation
Recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO, Muchas gracias por dar su opinión y esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#17 of 43 in Tijuana
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 43 in Tijuana
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#6 of 43 in Tijuana
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#14 of 43 in Tijuana
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Property: Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Address: Avenida Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing