We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It has an excellent location, restaurants and a mall close by, very clean rooms and overhall this hotel is excellent for the price that you pay. very friendly stuff and very private, walking distance to places and one of the best areas in Tijuana. Boulevard close to so you can take a cab if you don't wanna drive.

Room Tip: call the hotel before you book online, sometimes the price is better if you call them first. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abusadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRealR, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.
By this means receive a cordial greeting, of all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, Thanking you for allowing us to be your host and hope we have exceeded your expectations of service. We hope to be your preferred choice in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    23
    12
    15
See reviews for
29
38
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff are great. Even if they do not speak English there is always someone close by that does.
Never had a communication problem at all, they try so hard to make your stay pleasent.
The in hotel dining room has excellent food and the morning buffet for 99 pesos can't be beat.

As far as safe, we wandered all around the area for blocks and blocks with no issue.

TJ has cleaned up a lot and seems to me that they are renovating many areas.

Wifi was great and always up with solid consistent speed.

As far as price it was very fair and in fact cheaper than I expected.

If you are coming to TJ you really should check out this hotel as an option to stay at
you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bama0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRealR, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.
By this means receive a cordial greeting, of all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, Thanking you for allowing us to be your host and we hope we have exceeded your expectations of service. And we hope to be your preferred choice in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my mom for 2 night on January 26 and 27. The room quality reminded me of a comfort inn or quality inn in the states but the fixtures in the room were more modern. We felt completely safe here with no issues. We even walked about 2 blocks to an Oxxo store and felt safe then as well. We also walked to a shopping mall and that was nice too. The only store I was familiar with was sears but all in all good shopping. The staff here are very friendly and speak English well. We never had an issue with that. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRealR, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR VISIT

Through this Yours sincerely, all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, We thank you for allowing us to be your host and having exceeded your expectations of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My sister and I just got back from spending New Year's Eve in Tijuana. We stayed at Hotel Real del Rio and were very pleased with our stay. The location is fairly easy to find, in Zona Rio, and it is down a nice quiet street. The service was outstanding, the front desk very pleasant and professional, and the staff in the bar and restaurant were also very friendly. The bar was a very pleasant surprise, the decor was ultra modern and the drinks were so cheap! We only paid $3.60 for each of our drinks. We also paid a very reasonable price for the hotel room. The room was very nicely decorated, very comfortable and modern. My only complaints are the towels, rough and scratchy and only one hand towel and 2 bath towels, and the pillows weren't even in a proper pillow case, just in some sham covers and the pillows were flat. But those were minor issues, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms were quiet even though it was New Year's eve, and the location is so convenient to the border. We will definitely stay here again! Thank you to everyone at Hotel Real del Rio.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Surrounded by great restaurants, shops and the famous CECUT planetarium, this cozy-chic hotel in the Zona del Rio is a great value. Rates are <$100 and you have all the amenities needed. Free WiFi, hotel bar and it’s restaurant, La Miel, is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I logged onto Google maps and did a search for hotels in Ensenada for the Baja 1000. I clicked on the El Cortez as we had stayed there several times in the past several Baja 500, and 1000 races. The parking garage is very well protected and the hotel has 24-hour guards to watch vehicles and race cars. They also make room for trailers. Anyway, enough on the El Cortez as it's a great hotel.

When you click on the Google Map Pin it takes you to www.BajaInn.com

I selected El Cortez and the photo at the top of the site confirmed I was on the right hotel. I booked my stay for the Baja 1000. What happened was that a reservation was made at the Hotel del Rio in Tijuana not the requested hotel in Ensenada.

Beware when making reservations online with this company. Always call the hotel and speak to the manager. The hotel in Ensenada has taken great care of us... This other hotel has found away to make false reservations from people wanting to book another hotel.

When I called to ask for a refund, they took my number and said they would call back... No word yet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BajaHoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved this place. The staff was great, the buffet breakfast set us up for the day and the rooms were lovely. Parking was safe and the area around the hotel is great. No complaints whatsoever. I don't think you can find a better place in Tijuana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Tijuana
Real Inn Tijuana
#14 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#12 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Property: Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Address: Avenida Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing