We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent sushi”
Review of Kobu Restaurant - CLOSED

Kobu Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant has two locations, one in Mexicali and one in Tijuana.At Kobu you will find the freshest seafood and best meat quality in Baja. The atmosphere is great for any occasion. We are open from 1pm to 1am Monday-Sunday.Coming to Kobu is an experience you don't want to miss.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“decent sushi”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place undoubtedly offers you the best sushi in Baja as I've seen it. They are also all very nice there and the manager has been especially accommodating with me. The sushi, though, is not nearly great compared to anything 'really good' in the USA. Also they are very weak on certain aspects of their menu which is a real drawback:
-Their duck dishes have all been bad
-Their sushi rolls almost all are built with cream cheese or have other weird manifestations which make it kind of gross
-Some of their dishes I think are just constructed poorly
Overall though, I really like it. Their asian steaks are great. A lot of their sashimi is perfectly fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forthelulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in TJ”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

You will enjoy great sea food, excellent steak and gourment sushi. Service is also outstanding
The mixture of different flavors and the great service makes you enjoy your dinner in a cosmopolitan atmosphere. Martini's are owsome and for the rest of 2013 you can bring your own bottle of wine at no extra cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arturo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaYadira, Public Relations Manager at Kobu Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that you had a good time at Kobu and thank you for recomending us. We hope to see you soon again at Kobu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT STANDARD OF QUALITY AT TJIJUANAS KOBU”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had great dinner time with eight friends last Saturday night. I was curios TI see if second part better. Thy started in Mexicali. I love that place and U was very surprise to find another great place from those guys. We try not only the seafood. The steak are great. You have to try TOMAHWAK is almost an 4 pounds steak. The Mongol is Chiken Great. And their TUNA TOSTADAS, are awesome. Great spot to be. Is larger than their first place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerrycastroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
186 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A step above the usual sushi places in town.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

http://www.koburestaurant.com/

A very clean, slick space. Food is uniformly fresh and preparations are not the usual found in most other similar sushi places in town. Baja/Asian fusion is done well here. Service is adequate. We were there for lunch and were the first to arrive when they opened so for most of our two-hour stay we were the only occupied table. Dishes are prepared to order and nothing is sitting around getting stale so dishes come out as they are ready and some of them take longer than others. Taste combinations are out of the ordinary and for the most part quite interesting and tasty...lots of unique citrus/ginger combinations and being Mexican lots of hot peppers here and there too. Seven dishes and five soft drinks=90 dollars. There is also a Kobu in Mexicali, by the way. It's located in a commercial space roughly across from the Gran Hotel Tijuana (twin towers) and Carl's Jr. (in the same commercial area where Palma Azul used to be).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobu Restaurant also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing