We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty mexican food served on huge plates”
Review of El Potrero Carnes

El Potrero Carnes
Ranked #32 of 577 Restaurants in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: If you want to eat at one of the restaurants most historic and traditional city, El Potrero is an excellent choice. Here you can enjoy from a delicious hearty and delicious breakfast, to a delicious meal or a special dinner, There are dishes for every moment of the day. If you eat breakfast on weekends, you can enjoy unmatched Saturday and Sunday rubbish your barbeque, made the traditional way.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty mexican food served on huge plates”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Big servings of your favorite dishes, huevos rancheros , chilaquiles , combination plate or any other thing you crave. The coffee is fresh and if you like the mexican style cafe de olla you are in luck since they have plenty to go around. Go their often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The building looks like a big sombrero hat.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The building looks like a big sombrero hat. Once you are inside you are treated very special. They bring you a plate of pig skins in salsa and grilled tortillas you break the tortilla apart and eat like chips. The coffee was so good I think they called it cafe de holla its made with cinamin water and other special ingredients you really don't need sugar. The food was great and the restaurant decor is very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chiles en Nogada”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

One of the few places I've found that has Chiles en Nogada. Also great steaks and always great service. They used to always throw in a free shot of house tequila but don't seem to do that anymore. Contrary to what other reviews say I prefer the larger corn tortilla shells they give instead of the normal salty nacho style chips.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaBlaYMasBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"That Big Sombrero".............”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a great place, great pictures with alot of character. Like the first review stated, ask for the chips, those shells they send out are a waste of time. Make sure to have the tortilla soup, absolutely one of the best i've ever had. My friend had the fish with veggies steamed in foil, she was very happy !!! I had the big Ribeye and it was above and beyond fantastic. Great decor, that Sombrero caught my eye and sucked me in with no regrets !!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food experience in Tijuana!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Absolutely love this place, and the large sombrero on the roof can't be missed. Lively atmosphere with waiters holding handheld pinatas over the table next to me. Delicious margaritas, be sure to get the mushrooms wrapped in bacon, absolutely wonderful. They don't bring our traditional nacho chips so you will have to ask them for them upfront. This is far away from the tourist zone just down the street from the Marriott Hotel however.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristianZane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potrero Carnes also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Been to El Potrero Carnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing