We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk could use some help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Front desk could use some help”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location is centrally located. Best rooms in the city. Best beds in the city. However i found the check in process simply slow. Based on that alone, i will not stay here again.

Side note, hotels do not exchange us dollars anymore due to possible money laundering.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGotravelGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    151
    51
    14
    17
See reviews for
98
93
48
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice clean place, reasonably priced. Staff very helpful. Fitness room adequate. Rooms and ccommunity bathrooms really clean. The resturant staff was very efficient and we got in on a Sunday when they had brunch which was "excellent". The menu had many authentic dishes so I
Got a chance to really sample main dishes and many desserts and drinks....I really enjoyed...they also had a musician who was very good. All in all a nice 2 day stay. Some shopping and a Walmart within walking distance some resturants especialy a McDonald's and even a Starbucks. Not a bad location with taxi service frequently available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyotababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
1,104 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel has comfortable rooms. The bed was great. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned but suitable. The location is only good if we want to be in the area of the hotel. You'd need to walk for about 15 minutes through a street without many pedestrian in order to reach a shopping area.

I was not impressed by the executive lounge. Breakfast there was a small warm buffet that was acceptable. I did not use wi-fi (not included in the room price).

The receptionist was a bad one, giving no information at all about the hotel.

I had booked a junior suite with balcony and garden view and got no balcony and ( ugly) city view. I did not ask for change as i arrived late and was tired.

Another bad item was referred to the mini bar. Despite having an open voucher, i had to ask twice to have it opened. This is unpolite mexican hotels habit, that here was specially annoying as once a concierge came with the key, he spent 5 minutes writing in a notebook which drinks were inthere.

All in all, the xperience was not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days 4 nights. Hotel on main street. Can walk to Walmart etc. Most staff were very helpful. Some were rude. Has a pool and nice weight room.
Pool is nice but tiles need work, Chipped/missing etc. Busy hotel. The food was very bland and some dishes not tasty. Chicken soup was good. I had eggs and beans one day. The beans smelled and tasted sour.
I did not eat at any buffet It does not have a spa and staff could not recommend on for us

I would stay here again only because it is central, seemed secure and close to border. They could not exchange us to Mexican

The beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool has double slidin glass doors and large deck but can be noisy 10th floor has v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We travel to TJ often and stay overnight to avoid a long day of lines over the border. We wanted somewhere safe, and this was perfect! We could walk to Walmart, and take taxis anywhere else we wanted or needed to go. The rooms were very clean, quiet, and comfortable. It's not glamorous, but it is just right. A little pricey for Mexico, but everyone was so helpful and the spot was so centrally located, we were very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: We had an inside room with no windows, so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadfly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Marriott Tijuana during this past 4th of July weekend. We did not know what were going to expect even after reading some of the hotel reviews. But I'm very glad we chose this hotel. We were coming for a quick weekend getaway from Los Angeles, and since this was our first time in T.J. we were a little aprehensive due to the bad publicity and reputation that unfortunately this Mexican city has had in year's past. As a Mexican-American, I can say that I'm glad we went and experienced T.J for the first time because we had an amazing time and Tijuana is just like any other big city in Mexico or the U.S.-- you need to know your surroundings and be smart about where you're going, that's all. As far as the hotel goes, the best asset of the hotel is the staff. The facilities are very clean, lobby and restaurant are okay but not too big as one would expect from the Marriott franchise. Although, I have stayed at other Marriotts in the U.S. and the Marriott Tijuana is overall up to par with its American counterparts-- and in terms of the staff the Marriott Tijuana was excellent in comparison. The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds, plasma T.V., mini bar, and they're really clean rooms. Our check-in was super quick and the front desk agent Yessica was very sweet and welcoming. We arrived there too early for check-in but we were able to walk around the hotel neighborhood and go for great seafood until our room was ready. Yessica was also our check-out agent coicindently, and if there's anything to criticize is that the Marriott Tijuana should have an express check-out system in place. It wasn't the agent's fault that we waited about 30 minutes in line but they should implement a quicker check-out process. Additionally, one thing that I found odd is that in order to get to the pool/jacuzzi area you had to walk through the restaurant. Which was really bizarre as people who are dining may not necessarily know want to see people walking around in swimming gear and perhaps walking around wet. Overall we had a great time, it was a quick trip but we certainly will come back to this hotel if we're in Tijuana anytime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor overlooking the golf course, we asked for one but it wasn't available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabuluxeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
599 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I always stay here on business. It is secure and located in business and college section of the city. I walked to the waltmart on a few occasions to shop and eat. This time we walked 15 minutes to the famous Los Acros seafood restaurant for dinner and took a taxi back.
The room is fine. You get upgraded if you are a gold or platinum member, free breakfast and Internet.
Otherwise Internet is $8 us dollars.

The breakfast buffet is excellent. They have cooking stations for eggs and a separate for pancake. As a platinum member, They never upgraded t a suite, only high floor facing the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#6 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#13 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
2.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Tijuana Otay
Fiesta Inn Tijuana Otay
#3 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tijuana Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tijuana Marriott Hotel

Property: Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Address: Boulevard Agua Caliente No. 11553 | Baja California, Tijuana 22420, Mexico (Formerly Emporio Tijuana)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tijuana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tijuana Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tijuana, the elegantly-appointed Tijuana Marriott Hotel is Mexico's premier hotel. Our property is situated in close proximity to the Tijuana business district, Rio Shopping Center and many of the local area's best sites and attractions. When you stay at our hotel in Tijuana, be sure to take advantage of our modern restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center, beautiful pool and comfortable bedding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tijuana Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tijuana Hotel Tijuana
Tijuana Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing