We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Culinary Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mision 19

Mision 19
Ranked #7 of 573 Restaurants in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Culinary Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Top Notch experience all the way around. Food is outstanding, design is great and service was good.

Tried 5 items off the menu and all of them were unique, full of flavor and tasty. Additionally we tried a couple of their craft cocktails. Equally as good.

Highly recommend dining here. Javier Plascencia has world class talent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    58
    18
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flawless and Exciting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Took a day trip down from San Diego. We did the 6 course with wines. The food, wine, service, and setting were flawless. Each dish was new and exciting... grounded firmly in the roots of pure Mexican cooking but with a twist. The seafood was a standout but all the ingredients were incredibly fresh. The wines were also a highlight. All Mexican and perfectly paired, the surprising quality and diversity of varietals kept the experience interesting and unexpected throughout. We regularly travel the world seeking out food destinations and this was truly one of the most memorable dining experiences I have ever had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bravo Mision 19!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice flavors, well executed dishes and lovely presentation. Proud to see this little gem of a restaurant in my hometown. Mision 19 can elevate high quality ingredients to a whole new level.
Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0tusEater13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't say Enough good about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Javier Plascencia gifted Tijuana with this gem of a restaurant. I'd known of the famous Plascencia family for years, and had been to other restaurants without disappointment (Saverios and Giussepis on the Bulevard). Mision 19 hs been called one of the best restaurants in Mexico, and I agree. I've spent many many weeks in Mexico City on business, and no restaurant there can beat this one.
The restaurant is on the 19th floor of the Via cooperativa en el Rio, easy to get to from the border. The cocktails are all original, with ingredients from Mexico's regions. The main courses are fabulous (I had seared tuna-highly recommend) and the atmosphere is perfect. Great for couples, business and even families.
Be sure and check out the bar upstairs before or after dinner.
This restaurant is the leader in Tijuana's fabulous culinary collection, and is reason alone to cross the border for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“every time gets better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant is in our top 5 in Tijuana. Every time I go there with my family we all eat very well, and every time we get surprise with the Chef creativity. So I take there clients and all of them are always blown away with the place.

Chef Placensia has lots of creativity and takes care of all the details, from the rock where they set the knife to the plate decorations as well as drinks. Flavors are awesome, few restaurants are as good as this.

Ill will keep going to this place at least once a week, it is one of the little secrets of TJ that everybody who finds it will love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mision 19 also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Mision 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing