We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious”
Review of Mision 19

Mision 19
Ranked #7 of 594 Restaurants in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tijuana, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had to beg for bread. No sides with entrees. Servers had trouble understanding wine order. Somewhat pricey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    64
    22
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Fine Dininig Restaurant in the Area”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I am accustomed to dining in Michelin rated restaurants and Mission 19 could with a little attention be one of those. The food was delightful, full of thought and adventure. Great value as well compared to similar caliber establishment's north of the border. The two areas I would address are the wine pairings, which I found out were limited to only those wines already served by the glass, and the dessert course. Both were lacking the refinement and taste of the other courses. The wine pairings simply did not match many of the courses that were offered. When I found out that the pairings were limited to only those wines served already by the glass, I immediately understood why the pairings were lacking. Also the dessert course from the premier chef's tasting menu, simply was not up to the rest of the meal. It was very last century and not at all imaginative as the rest of the menu. All in all a must eat place in Tijuana or San Diego.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fabulous place -- You should visit Tijuana”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Tijuana has an unearned bad reputation because most American visitors go only to the seedy
downtown area and miss out on all the gems to be found elsewhere. The Zona Rio where Mision 19 is located is modern and safe. The extraordinary CECUT arts center with its many galleries and activities is nearby and a day at CECUT followed by dinner at Mision 19 will change anyone's view of Tijuana for ever.

Mision 19 is in a modern block and has a crisp minimalist look to it. I decided to go for three
courses. I started with an exotic appetizer based on cactus I think. It comes with all sorts of tongue-tingling concoctions both savory and sweet set in little tortilla chip pockets, the pockets sitting in a neat row in a special container, and each one dipped in alternatiing green and white sauces. The taste was complex and exhilarating.

I next had the house special beef, slow-cooked for 48 hours. This was very good, but not frankly on the same level of haute cuisine as the outstanding starter. But the absolute climax was to come at the end: a dessert called "textures of chocolate" that presented six different types of chocolate, each generating a unique sensory experience. There was white chocolate ice cream, mousse, a hot fudge sauce, a crumbly warm chocolate cake... Each type of chocolate eruped as a bombshell, subtle variations coming together in a powerful wave of multi-orgasmic chocolate ecstacy.

Had a coffee and paid the bill -- not cheap, but terrific value for such an amazing experience,
one you won't match for the price anywhere in the USA!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited this place while on business. The atmosphere was amazing and the food made you verbally comment how good it was with every bite. Truly one of the best meals I have every had.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great restaurant at the heart of Tijuana culinary revival”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved Mision 19. The building is beautiful, the ambience is great and the food is as good as any you'll find in Baja. It's not traditional Mexican food but our seared ahi was fantastic. After we ate there I saw the Anthony Bourdain piece, which was cool. Definitely recommend if you're south of the border.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mision 19 also viewed

Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
Tijuana, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Mision 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing