We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ticuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ticuan
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ladies at the reception we very nice and helpful, the staff were outstanding. From the moment I check in everyone made me feel very welcomed. The atmosphere of the entire place is made so you can relax. The room was very clean and nice and the bed was just right. The only complaint I had was the remote for the TV was not working but they took care of it in no time. The bar had very elegant with very reasonable prices. I had an interior room so I had no issues from the nightclub. I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clos_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    67
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
62
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

As soon as I walked into the room for the first time, I could hear the loud music. I checked to make sure that the windows were closed and I shut the curtains but it didn't make any difference. I called Reception and asked if they had a quieter room but the woman said that they didn't have any more rooms available. This wasn't light background music, this was loud enough at times that the walls and windows were rattling. Unfortunately, the club next door didn't shut down until 5 AM. The next morning, a different woman at Reception said that she would move me to a different room. But, she said that since it was Saturday, the club would again be open until 5 AM. I asked her to just check me out of the hotel.

I had read some reviews about the loud noise but TripAdvisor rates this hotel as #1 with more reviews than any other Tijuana hotel so I figured it had to be an anomaly. Perhaps, on other nights besides Fridays and Saturdays, if the club is closed, then this hotel would be a much better experience.

- The room and hotel were nicer than they appear in the pictures.
- The shower water pressure was very good.
- Revolution Avenue is right around the corner so there's lots of restaurants within walking distance.
- When I checked in, they told me to count the towels so that I wouldn't be charged $20/towel and when I checked out, they had to check the room first.
- Weird that there was no alarm clock by the bed nor any outlet nearby to plug one into.
- There was a small round table with two chairs but no desk nor nearby power outlet for my laptop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well, I went here to relax and drink some nice old texas oil .. it was a grand ol time i tell u what sonny boy, but i dare say i have to deduct points due to unhead of mattahs i tell ya, when night came round time 2 sleep but next door it was... eheeem. to say the least loud && not from no darn "night club" neither i telll ya. well about 45 mins later the yelling ended ohh hahah yeahh thats what were calling it.. and then i was able to sleep. nice channels. and counter tops. hot girl works at counter good experiece overall would come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Kept expecting something wrong to happen here, but it didn't. The Ticuan as good as a lot of 5-star hotels in major world-class cities. What a pleasant surprise. Would be nice if they had a gym, otherwise nothing to criticize. Restaurant service stellar. Room comfortable, clean. About checking the room at check-out: nothing wrong about this, just calling ahead to desk when you're ready to leave makes it seamless. Finally, a top-rated tripadvisor hotel that deserves to be number one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel Ticuan is my go-to place in TJ. I've stayed the at least five times. But, as another reviewer mentioned, they've got this weird "send somebody to check the room" policy before they let you leave. Annoying, but even more so when you're accused, as I was, of pilfering a towel. They insisted that one was missing and tried to charge me another eight bucks. I argued, they retreated, but I don't patronize a place to steal the linens - or defend myself from false accusations of having done so.

That said, the place is nice, clean, with a helpful staff. Some of the rooms have "false" windows which open onto an interior courtyard, letting in no natural light. Combine this with very dim interior lighting, and you may not be able to read in bed if you've got middle-aged eyes. Avoid this by asking for a room with an exterior window (you then have to contend with street noise, but that's common in most urban hotels.)

I'm not sure I will stay here again, given the weird checkout experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just returned from Ticuan, having spent three nights at this lovely hotel. The hotel is immaculate, offering a large and welcoming lobby. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. The dining staff were gracious and well-trained in hospitality. They were never overbearing or boisterous-they did well at being gentle host and representing the hotel well.

My room was immaculate with not a hint of dust or fingerprint anywhere. The staff even came and did a sheet change during my stay, for my comfort. They were beyond helpful.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank townandcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Wi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just spent 6 days at the Ticuan. I've ben staying there since it opened. Its still like it was when it opened. All the services, Food, Beer and a excellent place to relax in a city of many distractions. From the people at the front desk and the lounge,(Louisa,Noemi,Jose and Aldo. to just a good place to have a excellent time in Tijuana!

Room Tip: Stay on the back side because Los Pulgas is loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sledhead43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#7 of 43 in Tijuana
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 43 in Tijuana
558 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#14 of 43 in Tijuana
249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ticuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ticuan

Property: Hotel Ticuan
Address: Calle 8va # 8190 | Zona Centro, Tijuana 22000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ticuan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWEST HOTEL in Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico! Built on the Historic Revolucion Avenue in downtown(Centro), Hotel Ticuan brings luxury and 5 Star Service and offers great food at our NEW Restaurant "Albaca". At Hotel Ticuan you can count on FREE WI-FI or FREE use of our business center! We also have FREE 24HR parking with security! Join us for ALL sporting events were we have 8 LED 55INCH TV"S!!! SEE YOU HERE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ticuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing