We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Motel Leon(Tijuana)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Plaza De Oro(Tijuana)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Astor(Tijuana)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (179)
    Filter reviews
    179 results
    Traveler rating
    78
    45
    34
    9
    13
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    78
    45
    34
    9
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfeeling safebreakfast buffetfriendly hoteltaxi standbeds were comfortablenice roomstayed one nightwould stay here againother hotelsamigosborderjackpottjdollarspromoyeashuttle
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    104 - 109 of 179 reviews
    Reviewed August 4, 2010

    just got back from staying at the hotel pueblo amigo.when you cross the frontera you can catch a yellow cab aprox 5 dollars or a taxi libre 3.00 the location is so close that i just walked it about 10 min . left the hotel and walked to ave revolucion about 10- 15 min a nice walk (during the day ) at night i would recommend a cab. very cheep. the hotel is in a good area of town and is close to every thing near down town or the zona rio one of t.j.s better areas the room and sunday brunch were all very good and the staff was also above ave. at first they could not find my reservation but if you show them your conformation they will find your room quickly also went out to a few night clubs on revolucion and felt quite safe the town seems to be getting better as of late. and the el centro and zona rio and shopping areas all had a good police pressence. had a wonderful time in your city and the hotel pueblo amigo was a large part of this the people of t.j. as allways were wonderful.

    • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jay1414
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 19, 2010

    Ok, so the hotel is a bit on the chaotic and strange side - one of the elevevators didn't work for a week, the one working was programmed to go really weird routes (3rd to 2nd floor first gets you the ground level). My phone didn't work, and it took the hotel 3 days to fix it. Really weird paintings of the hotel owners kids hanging around everywhere. Signal reception on the TV was really bad.

    However, I still really enjoyed my stay. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the Breakfast is extremely good, and the overall value of the hotel is great. The rooms are gigantic in size and clean, on the other hand there sadly is no minibar.

    Oh, and of course you have to know that the hotel owner runs tons of Casinos, which also means there are gambling machines in the hotel everywhere.

    Don't go here if you expect things to be perfect. If you can live with a bit of chaos, it's a real great place to stay.

    • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Fischgericht
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 24, 2010

    Just the right place to feel welcome to Mexico with open arms, very convenient located just a minute from the border

    When you arrive at “Hotel Pueblo Amigo” you get the sensation of feeling safe, in a place where everybody cares, staff is great, you ask you get it!, nice friendly environment

    • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RosieLopezCastell
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 22, 2009

    This hotel is very nice! I travel to Mexico at least once a week and stay and have never tried here before. Considering staying in a crappy overpriced unsafe hotel on the other side of the border, this is really nice! I have tried Camino (ok but internet always goes out, etc), Lucerna (not bad but for the price not better than this one they are more comparable plus this one has easy border access! Food was really good, service was great, bed wasn't bad at all and it has a small casino in it, but you can't even hear anything in your room, so not a concern whatsoever. Very secure, safe and nice, especially for the price or alternatives in the area.

    • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MedicalGirl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 25, 2008

    We had to stay in TJ because of passport problems and the Pueblo Amigo was recommended.

    The room was clean but basic. The bed was hard and extremely uncomfortable, blankets were very strange fabric, lighting in the room was dark and couldn't be adjusted, the heat wasn't working, the bathroom door woudn't close and the water pressure in shower was low. The design of the hotel is a large atrium and so rooms can be noisy if there's a lot going on in hotel.

    Food in restaurant was decent, nothing to write home about. Stick to the mexican dishes. Best thing about the hotel is the staff who are helpful and very nice.

    We realized once we arrived that we had stayed there once before and had said we wouldn't return. That's still our position!

    The front desk quoted me a room for $140.00 for the night. Luckily I asked about an AAA discount and we got it for $85.00. At that price it's okay for a night or two but I'd rather pay more and have a better experience.

    • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank transitbabe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews