We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oasis in heart of Tijuana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in heart of Tijuana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very clean rooms with first class service. We were in Tijuana for business and were able to relax and recharge in the evenings. The lively casino was available for those of us who wanted the stimulation, as well as areas of quiet for others. The rooms were a welcome sight in the evenings.
An island of comfort in a sea of confusion and distraction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    35
    25
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
29
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

only bad thing was that they were fully booked and we arrived early after my husband had gastric sleeve surgery so we ate at the buffet while waiting for a room to be cleaned and our bathroom commode needed a new valve to flush properly. these were minor issues considering they gave us complimentary drinks and casino coupons to use during our stay. The room was very spacious and clean and Tony was so great and knowledgeable at the front door and even took us shopping on the golf cart to the market nearby. the restaurant staff knew my husband was on a special diet and were very courteous to our needs. The steak tampiquena was so delicious I ordered it twice and room service was good.

Room Tip: I wish they had a pool but other than that our stay was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patiricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here in the past, it is nice, clean, but a bit Pricey for the Area.
The Food in the Restaurant was real good, with one of the Best Hambergers
I ever Had. It is not far to the Shopping areas, on Revalution Bl, But also Great Shopping
Behind Revolution in the Business district, and prices will be better, it is the Upper to Middle Class section, and has old churches and a Nice Old style Park with Entertainment.


Ritchie H.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I took a second honeymoon here. It was a wonderful stay. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Food was great and our room was beautiful. I was excepting loud noise but we stayed on,the 4th floor and we were able to sleep. Overall I would give them 10s.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniemora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a disappointment! Once you open the doors to the lobby you are greeted by the cigarette smoky air that is rushing to escape. That should have been an indication for me to turn around and find a better hotel, but the room could not be cancelled. When I inquired about the smoke I was informed the casino is smoke free. That was true only for the casino next to the open resturant, but there is also an adjacent casino room for smokers. Unfortunately they doors are never closed so all the smoke lingers throughout the entire open area. So if you are a smoker, you'll love it.

Note: a $50.00 deposit is also required for any incidental which is not disclosed until checking-in.

The rooms are adequate and in need of renovations. Not compairable to the pictures shown, but that is to be expected. You can see that in the décor, dingy grout in the shower, and the soiled carpet in the room and hallways. Don’t expect a good night sleep. The constant ringing and chimes from the slot machines and occasional uproars from customers can be heard in the room. If that is not enough the constant traffic noise of cars passing by on all the enterchanges can be heard.
The food was very disappointing. The filet mignon with steam vegetable was very bland and not cooked properly. Cheese is put into everything, the potatoes, soup, sandwiches, eggs. Service was slow and some of the staff members just ignore you when trying to ask for help. The breakfast was “supposed” to be included, inquire during check-in otherwise.....

Upon check-out we were given another surprise, we were charged for making local phone calls. Only the first one is free, the rest you have to pay for. That was not what we were told from the hotel operator and nowhere is that disclosed to you, not even in the hotel handbook.
Also note that the tag on the bottle water stating the bottle water is complimentary is deceiving, only the hotel labeled water is, not the one with the tag stating complimentary.

This establishment does not get a good endorsement and I’d suggest looking/researching other places.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, noise from the slots ring throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensboro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

service , food ,rooms,wifi,staff one of the best i have come across in the hotel industry
Will stay again very friendly staff and the General Manager .



“Wonderful Experience”


Pueblo Amigo Hotel was the perfect place to for me and friens to stay while visiting in Tijuana. The hotel is extremely close to the border crossing which made it very easy to find after entering the country. The staff was extremely accommodating and provided us with excellent service during our three-day stay. If you are in Tijuana...
more

Room Tip: all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed here because of the airport being closed due to fog. The service was really good, the front desk accommodated us with a room even though it was still early. The room was not very good, the beds were comfortable but the carpet was old and needed cleaning and the decor was really dated. It was okay to stay in just to get some much needed sleep after being up all night trying to fly out, and I really liked the way the rooms were all faced towards the middle of the hotel where the action was. They had a really fun bar area and a nice buffet. I guess I would stay there if ever I get fogged in again, which I hope never to repeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#5 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#13 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#3 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#4 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Property: Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Address: Calle Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing