We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino to your Saves list
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed here because of the airport being closed due to fog. The service was really good, the front desk accommodated us with a room even though it was still early. The room was not very good, the beds were comfortable but the carpet was old and needed cleaning and the decor was really dated. It was okay to stay in just to get some much needed sleep after being up all night trying to fly out, and I really liked the way the rooms were all faced towards the middle of the hotel where the action was. They had a really fun bar area and a nice buffet. I guess I would stay there if ever I get fogged in again, which I hope never to repeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    34
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
25
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Pueblo Amigo Hotel was the perfect place to host my crew while working in Tijuana. The hotel is extremely close to the border crossing which made it very easy to find after entering the country. The staff was extremely accommodating and provided us with excellent service during our three-day stay. If you are in Tijuana and looking for a clean, safe, and convenient place to stay I highly recommend Pueblo Amigo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloAmigoHotel, Gerente at Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear JF: On behalf of our staff, I want to thank you for your comments. They are a great incentive and makes us strive in our daily duties!! We appreciate it so much!! Hope we see you and your crew, some time soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a nice hotel within walking distance of the border. I like everything about it BUT the front desk. They try but they are very unorganized. I've stayed here 10 times and I've had my rooms change from two queens to a single king. I've also had the price change. It's very frustrating.

Room Tip: get the name of the person you talk to when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwd32248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. the room was standard king and was quite large for hotel room. Thought coffe maker came with this room, but told only suites have. No mini fridge which would have been helpful, but the food in the hotel was VERY good! We stayed a week and enjoyed trying new things. For hotel food, the prices were not that bed compared to the states. The best the hotel had was their staff. Everyone was very helpful. I just wished we spoke the language. That would have made a big differnce. As for the continental breakfast, on the internet it said choice of coffee or tea, two eggs andy style, and choice of fruit or juice. At the Patio (restaurant) cont. breakfast was same except two bread choices instead of eggs. Went to desk and explained I needed eggs, not bread. No problem, one was called americano cont. They easily changed my coupons. When served, it also included potatos and bread.
The taxes kind of sneek up on you at check out. $66.00 a night ended up being $85. Even so,good deal.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Caliente, the book making place across from the hotel entrance. It was loud no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good location although a little hard to get to without knowing the road tricks. Great staff. 5 Star service everywhere. Great bar. Good food at the restaurant and buffet, although a little overpriced on weekends.
No noise insulations. Humming sound in the room from some equipment, as well as noise from the street. Very noisy party on the front lawn drove us out of the room for a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was nervous about staying across the border, but I was pleasantly surprised by the location, staff and cleanliness! Rooms are a bit dated , but for the price, I think it was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario_purcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This casino hotel is right at the border in Tijuana, Mexico. We had a reservation for a Junior Suite with breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel, the valet parking took our car ( free of charge ) and we were pointed to the entrance.
Unfortunately, this was the entrance of the casino and we had to go through a baggage check. It is very embarrassing to open a suitcase in the middle of a busy casino. The check-in process was ok and the staff was friendly. This hotel is very noisy and you can hear the gaming machines all night.

Our room was just boring – everything was basic and besides the size, there was nothing “suite” in it. In the morning, we went to the breakfast area, which is right next to the gaming machines, and wanted to start our day with a nice breakfast. But our option “breakfast included” was only a cup of coffee, a glass of orange juice and 2 pieces of small “pan dulce” per person. Extra bread was extra.

For almost $100 per nite including taxes and fees, there are really much better places to stay in Tijuana for HALF the price.

Room Tip: I have no idea!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#10 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#3 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucerna Tijuana
Lucerna Tijuana
#6 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Property: Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Address: Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing