We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Tijuana
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. the room was standard king and was quite large for hotel room. Thought coffe maker came with this room, but told only suites have. No mini fridge which would have been helpful, but the food in the hotel was VERY good! We stayed a week and enjoyed trying new things. For hotel food, the prices were not that bed compared to the states. The best the hotel had was their staff. Everyone was very helpful. I just wished we spoke the language. That would have made a big differnce. As for the continental breakfast, on the internet it said choice of coffee or tea, two eggs andy style, and choice of fruit or juice. At the Patio (restaurant) cont. breakfast was same except two bread choices instead of eggs. Went to desk and explained I needed eggs, not bread. No problem, one was called americano cont. They easily changed my coupons. When served, it also included potatos and bread.
The taxes kind of sneek up on you at check out. $66.00 a night ended up being $85. Even so,good deal.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Caliente, the book making place across from the hotel entrance. It was loud no...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good location although a little hard to get to without knowing the road tricks. Great staff. 5 Star service everywhere. Great bar. Good food at the restaurant and buffet, although a little overpriced on weekends.
No noise insulations. Humming sound in the room from some equipment, as well as noise from the street. Very noisy party on the front lawn drove us out of the room for a day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was nervous about staying across the border, but I was pleasantly surprised by the location, staff and cleanliness! Rooms are a bit dated , but for the price, I think it was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mario_purcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This casino hotel is right at the border in Tijuana, Mexico. We had a reservation for a Junior Suite with breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel, the valet parking took our car ( free of charge ) and we were pointed to the entrance.
Unfortunately, this was the entrance of the casino and we had to go through a baggage check. It is very embarrassing to open a suitcase in the middle of a busy casino. The check-in process was ok and the staff was friendly. This hotel is very noisy and you can hear the gaming machines all night.

Our room was just boring – everything was basic and besides the size, there was nothing “suite” in it. In the morning, we went to the breakfast area, which is right next to the gaming machines, and wanted to start our day with a nice breakfast. But our option “breakfast included” was only a cup of coffee, a glass of orange juice and 2 pieces of small “pan dulce” per person. Extra bread was extra.

For almost $100 per nite including taxes and fees, there are really much better places to stay in Tijuana for HALF the price.

Room Tip: I have no idea!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I had to spend one night in Tijuana because I was having eye surgery. My husband called this hotel and spoke to the manager who spoke English. The manager seemed all about helping us and even told us that he could give us a "speed pass" to drive back over the border quicker and we wouldn't have to sit in line. He also said their shuttle would take us back and forth to the dr office.

The room was a bit worn with dingy carpet. I was ok with that because the bedding looked clean. They did have free wifi which was a benefit.

After my eye surgery, we had dinner at the restaurant. I ordered a filet mignon with mushrooms and it was pretty good. My husband had a fajita style dish that was ok. The restaurant is next to the casino with no walls so you did have to listen to the machines while you ate.

At this point, we were ok with the hotel. It wasn't until we went looking for a poker machine that the website advertised for virtual blackjack that we found out they only have electronic slot machines. That was a bit disappointing since we don't like slot machines. We felt a little misled.

After that, we went to meet the manager and introduce ourselves. He seemed very nice and mentioned the speed pass he would get for us the next day and to find him in the morning. The next day when we went to go for my check up, the shuttle was nowhere to be found and they told us we had to ask in advance, nothing anyone told us. Also, when we inquired about the speed pass, we were told that they ran out of them. When we asked to see the manager, we were told it was his day off. We had to go back the following week for another appt and did NOT stay at this hotel. We have since found out that there were never any speed passes an it was just a ruse to get us to stay there. Very deceptive!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Newc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel has a great location minutes from the major zones, clean spacious rooms, professional staff that are willing to help, net access both in room and computers for guest use, good food from room service and the buffet. I visit Tijuana at least once per month and I will continue to stay at this hotel, it offers anything a guest could ask for at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: When using the computers for guest use to insert the @ symbol press and hold alt and the numbers 6 a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriots4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I go there 3 times amounth ,before i was going to other hotel ,but now i only go to this pueblo amigo ,nice clean safe and the manager and people work there they are nice .thanks guys, see you soon

Room Tip: book online is cheaper
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 44 in Tijuana
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 44 in Tijuana
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#6 of 44 in Tijuana
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#14 of 44 in Tijuana
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#16 of 44 in Tijuana
119 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 44 in Tijuana
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Address: Calle Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tijuana
Price Range: $82 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing