We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hosting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hosting”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My friend and I spent only one night (Christmas Eve); the staff was in Christmas mode and very attentive, they went out of their way to tend to us. However, I have to say that their buffet breakfast was good and varied but a bit overpriced ($18.00.) We checked out their amenities and they looked clean and well taken care of. The Spa was nice & hot; it felt good after traveling by car for a while, it rested us and helped us be in good shape for the Christmas Eve party. We got a quote for $60.00 for two beds, and they wind up charging us $70; well we did not make an internet reservation, so their local price was fair and it appeared to be government approved. Over all we were happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Make your reservation via internet, it's less costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    33
    10
    18
See reviews for
16
21
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Was not very happy! the Hotel had a BIMBO convention and they had the run of the hole hotel, they played music so loud it rocked the rooms since i was above the meeting room, so i went down to complain to see if they would do anything about it, the answer i got was, nope there is nothing we can do and there will be alot of complaints, so i ask how long will it go on she says until 2:00 am. i can not figure out how they will stay in business if this is there policy!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Ron J,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tijuana hotels

Chula Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is located in the best part of Tijuana (Zona Rio) the rooms are very clean and the staff are friendly . The first time I stayed in this hotel (I Stayed two separated times) I left my Ipod on the counter and the Front Desk Girl was so honest to call my room and returned it, I really appreciated that, from the Bell man and Maintenance are very friendly. I defenitly going to try their restaurant next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Enrique C, Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Critico, agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y esperamos tener el honor de volver a servirle en un futuro

Sinceramente

José Enrique Colmenares Alcocer
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The service we received at this Holiday Inn was mediocre.

1. Excessive Noise. The noise from the street never stops, you need earplugs. Also we had a bunch of teenagers next door screaming, running, banging the walls and the door between our room, after numerous complaints to reception they settled down just a bit but they carried on.

2. The ice machine was out of order. I stayed on the second floor and I had to go hunting for this thing all over the building just to find out that It was on the ground floor behind a closed door, it may not seem like a big deal but I had back surgery and all of this was a huge undertaking and inconvenience.

3. The TV had so much static and when there was no static the colors were so dark, it was unbearable trying to watch TV.

4. They won't allow you to have food delivered to your room from the outside you have to go to the lobby to pick it up.

5. Their room service menu doesn't have prices!!! You either have to ask for the prices of everything you might want or wait for the surprise, I asked twice for prices and they got an attitude, I told them I need to know ahead of time so I know how much I'd owe.

I ordered chicken wings and pasta, about 25 minutes later when I am supposed to receive my meal they call me to tell me that they were out of chicken wings, what??? You couldn't tell me that, they said to me, sir you can either change your order or cancel, just like that no being apologetic or anything, so I said fine let me get the "Arrachera Tacos", ok sir it will be about 25 minutes, again I was astonished by their lack common sense.

In all we will never come back to this place and we will not recommend it to anyone we know, we have stayed at other Holiday Inn's in Mexico and in the US and this one takes the prize, the worst service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear MiguelDex,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Holiday Inn in Tijuana does have a good middle Class Standard. There was a friendly Employee at eception and fast CheckIn. We spend 2 nights there and can say, that it is a clean and clam Place. The Location was good, due lot of Shops and Restaurants have been there not far away. Nice decorated Breakfast Buffet. Choices of hot Beverages have been good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazurandAzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there on Friday Aug 31, 2013. I did not have anywhere to stay, saw that this hotel had descent reviews. So i booked a room I could not sleep the whole night, i felt something biting me, but i could never find anything. Until i finally caught something. Got up and saw that there was bed bugs where I was laying down. I called hotel management, and they did not have the decency to come out and fix the issue. They choose to ignore the issue. I have stayed at motels with better customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jl90650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear jl90650,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I would like to address this with you further but unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Guest Relations Department via email at IHGCare@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up on your experience.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one ight. Has a Spa adyacent, and a jacuzzi with thermal waters. However could not use it as it was way too hot. Later someone told me that I should call the reception 15 minutes before using it to control the temp.... Mmmmm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ETame,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#17 of 43 in Tijuana
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 43 in Tijuana
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Express Tijuana Rio
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#14 of 43 in Tijuana
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 43 in Tijuana
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio

Property: Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio
Address: Paseo de los Heroes 18818 | Zona Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Inn Tijuana)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Inn Tijuana Hotel Tijuana
Fiesta Hotel Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing