We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
78
92
66
27
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
92
66
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehospital roompool and hot tubpool areadental clinicthe room service menuplace is greatking bedrestaurants and barsup to datefront desk staffsan ysidrozona riovery nice hotelfloorlobbyoxygen
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 293 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Our Second time staying at The Grand Hotel Tijuana. Upon check in they sent up to room 1810 And The room had not been made up. So I called down to the front desk And they were very apoligetic. They then upgraded us to an executive suite on The 31st floor with a city view. The hotel is older but is kept up very Well. Some of The details I like about The executive suite is that aside from The little botles of shampoo, conditioner sewing kit etc, they have tooth brush and a razor.
Also The Executive suite comes with a complemantery Happy hour from 6-9PM and a breakfast from 6 to 10:30 AM. My Girlfriend And I are here for a cosmotoligst convencion that we anually attend.
All in all I like to stay here a The Grand Hotel Tijuana. Also a block west of The Hotel is a brand new mall named Chaputepec plaza. It's full of trendy new cutting edge restaurants. Another thing about The Grand Hotel Tijuana, The Security here is excellent. Staff is helpful And every maid goes out of their way to ask you if you need anything.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Valdezmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo D, Manager at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Valdezmark: We have a great commitment towards our hotel's standars. I'd rather think as an exception rather than the rule, on the unfortunate mistake with your unmaid room. Since we strive to meet and exceed guest's expectations, providing an upgrade to Grand Club, was the proper manner to solve the matter. We thank you for your comments towards our service and wonderful location. I am proud to announce we are staring our hotel's remodelation this july 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

April 13 I had major surgery (elective) in Tijuana. My Doctor Dr. Castillo, referred me for aftercare and recover to The Grand Hotel's 11th floor that has been totally converted to a like private hospital recovery rooms called Grand Care. Wow This made the worse part of my decision a breeze. My room for all purpose was like a first class hospital room including the bathroom with complete handicap facilities. When you are recovering that is so very important. The 3 gals that staff this floor could not have been kinder. They seem to know what I needed before I did. I was traveling with my husband, no problem they just brought in a bed for him. I travel with my own tea no problem contrast carafe with hot water. Room service is handled by them when you want it. Extra towel magically appear. I was so Happy I will be back later this year for a 2nd procedure that I was dreading simply because they have made recovery so pleasant. But the cherry on the top is we drove, and they issued us a medical pass and we spent 15 minutes in line going home crossing the boarder in a special line instead of 1 hour and 30 minutes. YIPPIE see you soon and thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank califblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo D, Manager at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Califblonde: We thank you for the time in writing about our property and our services. We are proud to read every sentence in your comments. As part of the remodelation program that we have stared in our property, Grand Care, a new18 units on the 11th Floor, seems to be the perfect and awaited answer that Grand Hotel Tijuana, provides to the Medical Tourism segment, that our destination demands. Every single staff memeber in our hotel, as well as the Grand Care staff members, are service oriented. We are happy to read that we have reached our goals on terms of guest satisfaction. You made us fell very, very proud of what we do, for that... one more time, We thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I Stayed at the Grand Hotel Tijuana for 3 nights. The room had a good size, however it is somewhat old. The beds are not that comfortable, the rug needs renovation. The bathroom was ok and the shower was the best part of the room.
The hotel have some restaurants which are very good, the morning buffet is great and the Hacienda restaurant was also very good. The overall service of the employees is outstanding, even though they had a lot of work as we were many people staying in this hotel for an academic conference.

Other advantages is that it is located in an area with several restaurants at a walking distance which offers more eating options. It is close (15 min aprox. by car) to the airport and to the US border.

As a tip I recommend you to ask for a room with the view of the golf course, which is very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teretrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo D, Manager at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Teretrev: Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor. Grand Hotel Tijuana is starting a remodelation program. Pool and jacuzzi are one of the public areas in which we already have made wonderful changes. We have done a full change on Grand Care, a special floor for Medical Tourism. Now we are starting Main Lobby and Hotel Rooms. We will be happy to welcome you again and offer you a tour and enjoy the the changes in our projects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed overnight in the Grand Hotel while we had dental work done nearby. The room is an excellent price for a nice, clean room. We were told to ask for a room with a view over the golf course, great advice! Lovely view! We enjoyed both restaurants in the hotel. Staff is very friendly and willing to straighten out our messed up Spanish! :) If you stay for dental work the hotel allows extra time in the room, great arrangement!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 543tinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014
Google Translation

Dear Tina B: Grand Hotel Tijuana agradece que usted comparta su experiencia en nuestra propiedad, así como sus comentarios a nuestro servicio. Ciertamente las hermosas vistas al campo del golf tienen alta demanda. Es recomendable solicitar su vista favorita cuando nos llame a nuestros números sin costo para atenderle. Continuaremos con nuestro compromiso de buen servicio y mejora continua. Le esperamos en su próximo viaje a nuestra ciudad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a month as medical tourists, attending one of the medical clinics in town. The Grand Hotel is reputed to be one of the nicer hotels in Tijuana. Beds are excellent. Staff are generally very courteous and helpful and do their best to make their guests as comfortable as possible.

Rooms are generally pleasant and roomy enough but the hotel has serious problems with plumbing and with uneven floor surfaces. We were forced to change rooms 3 times due to issues first with toilet, then a horrible smell from the grate in bathroom, and then a room with a tilt on the floor that was literally at least 10 degrees. Like being on a ship in rough seas. Another guest had to move during the night because the ceiling of their bathroom started pouring water onto the floor!

Rooms come with small refrigerators that often don't work. On the positive side, bathrooms have a separate faucet that has drinkable filtered water.

Cleaning is done daily but is surface. Rugs are filthy. Walls of shower are often not cleaned.

We were on the 31st floor - one of the two 'Club' floors. These rooms cost more and entitled us to use of the lounge on the 32nd floor - morning continental breakfast with fruit and cottage cheese, yogurt, sweet rolls, etc. And from 6-9 each evening hors d'oeuvres (often inedible) and beverages. We stayed on this floor because the lounge gave us a place for us to socialize with other clinic patients. Great support. If not for that need, we would not have paid the extra to stay on the "Club" floor. It wouldn't have been worth it.

The food in this hotel is terrible! Really terrible. We tried room service several times, different dishes, and two of the hotel's restaurants. Nothing is edible! The fruit and cheese in the lounge in the morning is the only edible thing we found. They desperately need a new chef. A few nice restaurants in the area. I personally recommend Salvatore's down the street. Best Italian food I've ever had.

Pool area was pleasant for the first 3 weeks but in the last week the hot tub was foamy. We were afraid to go into it. Because of that, we didn't trust the pool either, although it looked okay.

The hotel has shuttle service to the various clinics, airports and other places as well. The drivers are courteous and helpful. One in particular, Rosario Perez goes out of his way to be helpful, friendly, pleasant and courteous. He made our stay in Tijuana much smoother.

Bottom line? This hotel has some good points and is better than many here, but it has some serious problems, which are being investigated by the hotel and repairs are intended, we've been told.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a corner room on the 30th or 31st floor. They all have the uneven floors. In fact don't bother with the club floors at all. Not worth it unless, like us, you need the support of other patients. Ask for a room facing the golf course. Quieter and nicer view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminGrandTijua... G, Gerente at Grand Hotel Tijuana, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2015

Dear Moosey57, Thank you for taking a moment to write us. We stared a remodelation Project and Lobby is fully completed. We are currently working on the remodelation on upper floors and we have a wonderful new Chef. Raul Nunez is the new staff memeber that joined us, as of August 2014, As aGrand Hotel Tijuana, we were selected as Host for the Tijuana Innovadora 2014 event in Tijuana and had the opportunity of catering the De Gala Dinner for 700 people. you might find all details of event at google. Please come to visit us again, I am absolutely positive you will find several changes that will make you smile. Thank you, once again, we strive to meet and exceed guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews