We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close, Central, Clean, and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Express Tijuana Rio
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close, Central, Clean, and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great place for the price. Adequate breafast bar, nothing fancy but will fill your palate. Not even 5 mins from the border, you're next to a central shopping mall, super clean, attentive staff, clean rooms and hotel. I've seen reviews where other's have said the WIFI speed sucks, I never tried it so I couldn't tell you. If you're looking for a safe, clean, close to the border place to stay with good value this is it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    61
    32
    23
See reviews for
54
35
13
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Hi y'all! I loved it here! Secure. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and healthy! Offerings were: 4 kinds of cereal. White n whole wheat bread. A toaster. Pastries, ie: doughnuts, sweetbreads, cookies. Bananas, apples, canteloupe, papaya, creamy cottage cheese! Alfalfa sprouts, romaine lettuce, cooked ham. pancakes n all the necessary condiments. Two flavours of yogurt. Many flavours of tea. Fresh coffee. Milk. A virtual banquet! lol! Location great! Close to the Avenue of Heroes and, if you're a walker, within walking distance to Revolution Ave.
Squeeky clean! Don't really care about the austereness b/c it was visually pleasing and restful and uncluttered. I have enough objet d'arts in my home.
Security guard, Arnufo went above and beyond the call of duty. Rode up on the elevator with me and escorted me to my room b/c my hands were full. Ximena, reception was helpful and friendly. The girls, Isabel & Melissa at the breakfast buffet were great! As were our maids. Very friendly, pleasant.

Room Tip: Love it that there's a mini gym here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siumae2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica T, Manager at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments! We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will make sure that your remarks reach Arnufo, Ximena, Isabel, Melissa and the rest of the staff.
Looking forward to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

This is a nice clean place, has very good security, but a little sterile, or cold in appearance. It needs to be decorated with a little more warmth. I went for business, and was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicotraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cetir, General Manager at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thankyou very much!
We really appreacite you take the time for making such comments.
We're looking forward to your next vistit.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real Inn Tijuana
Real Inn Tijuana
#13 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.3 mi away
City Express Tijuana Insurgentes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Tijuana Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Tijuana Rio

Property: City Express Tijuana Rio
Address: Dr. Atl 6 | Col. Zona Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Express Tijuana Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rio Zone and the main shopping and financial centers of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Express Tijuana Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Express Tijuana Rio Hotel Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing