We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Spendy but Delicious”
Review of Baja Mar

Baja Mar
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in San Felipe
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 23, 2016

I've gotten used to cheap eats in San Felipe, so this place surprised me a bit. That said, the food was excellent! The fajitas, lobster, soups and burger were all done to perfection. The ocean view was nice and the staff was very friendly. Worth the price.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2016

we have been several times in the past, we met friends this time, every thing was great, service food drinks , will go back for sure , oh and great view

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Located on the boardwalk in downtown San Felipe, the Baja Mar restaurant is a popular watering hole for “gringos”. Unfortunately we were there during the weekend of the San Felipe Shrimp Festival and it was a loud and crowded madhouse. The service was super slow. Many of the menu items were not available--like calamari, costa azul shrimp and chile rellenos. Normally, the outdoor seating at the front of the restaurant has an excellent view of the boardwalk, the beach, and the bay. We were there at the wrong time. Prices were inexpensive.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

The Baja Mar Restaurant is well located on the popular Malecon of San Felipe, and is, in fact, in the most desirable location of the Malecon-right in the main, middle part where everyone passes by. Outside dining under umbrellas, or in the Restaurant, or up on the upper level with lovely views of the Sea of Cortez, you will enjoy the scenic and tranquil Sea of Cortez right across the street. Connected to the Baja Mar Restaurant is the Taco Factory, which is a fun and friendly place to eat less complex menus than at the main Restaurant. The food, beverages and service are all outstanding at either one, and the views are exceptional.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Baja Mar is located on San Felipe's Malecon and perhaps is the best and most consistently good restaurant in San Felipe. We travel to San Felipe twice yearly to volunteer with a group called the Flying Samaritans and have had lunch and dinner at this restaurant for 15 years. They do a great job with service and quality or food. Additionally, we bring our fish to them and they cook the fish three different ways for our Samaritans group on Saturday night - 30 people so they can handle large crowds.

Wonderful place; good food and service

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank NorCal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Mar also viewed

San Felipe, Baja California Norte
San Felipe, Baja California Norte
 
San Felipe, Baja California Norte
San Felipe, Baja California Norte
 
San Felipe, Baja California Norte
San Felipe, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Baja Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing