We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
7
6
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
6
4
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2018

I looked at the room and didn't want to stay here. It looked too basic and not up to U.S. standards. I was overruled and ended up being glad. For $55 a night right after Christmas, we got a room with 3 beds steps from the beach and the boardwalk. We walked to all our meals and the ATV rental down the street. Skip this if you love glamour and demand resort standards. But if you can look beyond the rough edges (and a few cracked tiles), there is a lot to recommend Chapala. The maid worked wonders every day. The management speaks English and takes customer service seriously. When one of our party lost his cell phone, they spoke to the person who found it, translated for us, and even drove us in their minivan to pick it up. They also helped resolve a misunderstanding with a fishing guide. Staying here was a happy experience that was easy on the wallet.

Room tip: Choose a room away from the street.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca120454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

First, the name of this place has changed to Nuevo Fan Felipe Hotel. There isn't currently a sign; just the name in the office window.
The place is clean and the staff is helpful. The location is good. It's obvious that renovation work has been under way for some time. They haven't gotten to the furniture yet.

Room tip: Choose a room away from the street.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuanajuatoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Stopped by here on a dirtbike trip with three guys. Paid about $40 for a three bed room. Was great for the price. It's in better shape than the photos on this site. Price was right. In general I've found that in Mexico, you pay significantly more for places that take reservations on the internet.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank KipRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

I am not sure what is meant when other reviewers have said this place is being remodeled because the room we had was in poor condition. The plaster was falling off wall in bathroom, wooden door was damaged, the bedding was very old, and overall was a dismal room. The TV did not work, but we didn't try very hard. There were only a few customers the night we stayed, so if there were better rooms, I wish they would have given one to us. On the positive side, the parking is secure, which is why we stayed, the wifi worked slowly, and the water in the sink (did not use the shower) was hot. We have stayed in very good hotels throughout Baja for the same price, so this place is not good value compared to others.

Room tip: Ask to see room before paying
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entrada7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Chapala Hotel is on the main street, one up from the beach. Some hotels in San Felipe have swimming pools. But with the beach a street away, who needs a pool? Beside, that would up the hotel cost! The rooms are simple, but nice. Every time I go there, they are redoing/upgrading rooms. A car is not needed as there are restaurants, pubs and the beach minutes away.

Date of stay: September 2015
3  Thank rorona7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews