We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel and restaurnat combo in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Palmas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Palmas Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best hotel and restaurnat combo in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Las Palmas Hotel is a really good place to stay and meet some of the local color in town. It has a restaurant and bar called Alfredo's that is really, really fun. It's named Alfredo's after the man who invented the alfredo sauce. Yes, it true, and he taught his son how to cook. Today, the elder father and son live on site and cook up gourmet dishes for $10 to $12 USD. I mean Tony, the son, cooks seriously gourmet food. The hotel is located up a small hill just walking steps from the beach. They have a swimming pool, tennis court, super large parking lot big enough for RVS, campers and off-roaders. Rooms are small but adequate and the price is right at $45-50 USD a night. Rates go up during the high season and holiday weekends. Also, back to the bar/restaurant. I have to say something about the bartender, Linda Wilson, an American ex-pat living in San Felipe for several years. Linda knows everyone in town, always has a smile on her face and is the sweetest person you'll meet in San Felipe. She'll tip a few back with you and be your instant friend. I highly recommend this place to anyone going to San Felipe not just for the affordable rooms, but for the terrific drinks and gourmet food served at the Alfredo's. And if you're really lucky, you'll get to me Alfredo himself. He'll tell you stories about his hunting trips in Africa and Central America, and you can see his trophies hanging on the walls.
Check out their website at: www.laspalmasanfelipe.com

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The a la carte restaurant offers about 15 meals - all priced at $12. They all include soup/salad, and their home made bread - couldn't stop eating the bread/ I had a filet mignon and couldn't believe how great it was! Actually cooked to a true MEDIUM and not the semi-rare I seem to get in so many places.There are other items to eat from the regular menu. Shampoo is available at the front desk. All you have to do is ask. Also remotes for the TV at the front desk. Probably 25 channels - most in Spanish (of course). Great pool area with BBQ space as well. They have a gym, and tennis court. very quiet. The rooms around the Spanish courtyard are very nice and during the day they hang caged birds outside - its a great ambiance. When you drive in to the property you may have some doubts - but hear for the front desk and you will be pleasantly surprised. I had hot water each day - no problem and the AC worked and was not noisy.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilmc237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Las Palmas twice this year with complete satisfaction. This hotel is located up on a hillside overlooking the fishing village of San Felipe in Baja California, Mexico. I was impressed with the historical pictures of owner, Alfredo Bellinghieri, with Marilyn Monroe, Jane Mansfield and other Hollywood celebrities who had visited his famous restaurant in Mexico City before Alfredo retired in San Felipe over 20 years ago. Now his memoirs are hanging on the wall of his onsite restaurant called "Alfredo's" which offers delicious dinners for only $12 USD. I love this hotel and always enjoy sitting in the Mexican Courtyard to communicate on Wifi with my friends, family and business associates. 

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank regener8us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Las Palmas during the 2012 Shrimp Festival. The room itself, although unappealing, was clean. Beds are uncomfortable due to extremely hard mattresses. No bathroom amenities are offered other than bar soap. There was no hot water our first morning, leading to some brisk and quite short showers! According to the front desk, the water maybe would warm up in about 15 minutes... There was still no hot water the next morning, Meanwhile, music blasted, and I mean blasted out of the front office area until late evening, although there was no one there to listen to it when we left for the festival at about 6, or when we returned many hours later. The music was so loud that even with staying at the opposite end of the motel with doors and windows closed, we felt the vibrations. I mistakenly left a necklace in the room: returned later that morning with the hotel receptionist while the room was being cleaned. No necklace. What to think?

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HOWRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a very clean and nice Hotel close to the beach and town..

We had great service and everything was wonderful

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2005

Stayed at Las Palmas during the annual Shrimp Festival in November. The restaurant/bar is no longer operating. The pool is unheated and quite cool. The room was large, clean and quiet. The quiet was probably due to the fact that the hotel was only 1/4 occupied. I was quoted a room rate of $65. over the phone and I reserved the room with a credit card. Upon arrival I was advised that the rate was $77. As there were two people. Hmmm. With a 7% tax I paid $164.23 for two nights. Not outrageous but similar to the rates at the El Cortez which is on the beach and has a heated pool and a restaurant/bar on site. I would stay here again only if other hotels were booked.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

Toilet leaked on the bathroom floor, and it appeared to have never had the outside of it washed. Cobwebs and dirt all around the walls and drop panel ceiling, especially the corners. The wash the tile floors and it had clean sheets and clean but stained towels. As usual for most small mexico hotels, be sure you bring your own shampoo, wash cloths, etc.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felipe
1.3 mi away
La Hacienda de la Langosta Roja
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#57 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
918.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cueva Del Pirata
La Cueva Del Pirata
#14 of 27 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Quintin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Hotel

Property: Las Palmas Hotel
Address: Calle Mar Baltico # 1101 | Col. Centro, San Felipe 21850, Mexico (Formerly La Trucha Vagabunda)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Palmas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a nine and a half acres propertie with an old hacienda admosphere , with espectacular view of the sea of Cortez is like the San Felipe terrace, the most clean Hotel in San Felipe surraunded by trees and cactus gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Las Palmas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing