We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU WOULD NOT EXPECT TO FIND”
Review of Ajenjo

Ajenjo
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $75
Description: Ajenjo serves French- Mexican fusion cuisine, with Asian twists, in a Baja chic and ellegant, yet rustic ambiance. Featuring world class cuisine by chef/owner Roberto Valle Hernandez, where you can enjoy his unique creations, such as his World Famous Lobster Burrito, Ajenjo Shrimp casserole, select cuts of prime Sonoran beef, fresh fish and seafood, localy grown produce and dairy from farm to table. Serving lunch and dinner, featuring daily chef´s specials. Ajenjo, also offers a variety of gourmet tacos, such as grilled arrachera, beef tongue, lamb shank stew, octopus, shrimp and more. Ajenjo´s bar is the place to go, for the best martinis, margaritas and specialty cocktails, with daily happy hour from 4:00-6:00 pm. Taco nights are Monday from 6:00-9:00 pm, paella Sunday 1:00 - 4:00 pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Ajenjo serves French- Mexican fusion cuisine, with Asian twists, in a Baja chic and ellegant, yet rustic ambiance. Featuring world class cuisine by chef/owner Roberto Valle Hernandez, where you can enjoy his unique creations, such as his World Famous Lobster Burrito, Ajenjo Shrimp casserole, select cuts of prime Sonoran beef, fresh fish and seafood, localy grown produce and dairy from farm to table. Serving lunch and dinner, featuring daily chef´s specials. Ajenjo, also offers a variety of gourmet tacos, such as grilled arrachera, beef tongue, lamb shank stew, octopus, shrimp and more. Ajenjo´s bar is the place to go, for the best martinis, margaritas and specialty cocktails, with daily happy hour from 4:00-6:00 pm. Taco nights are Monday from 6:00-9:00 pm, paella Sunday 1:00 - 4:00 pm.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

We were staying at La Jolla Real for the weekend and Ajenjo is just a few steps away. Not to mention it has gotten great reviews; all of which are clearly deserved. The place is deceiving from the outside, think "strip mall." But once inside the front doors that all changes. Staff is quick to greet and helpful. The food was outstanding. Not that it's important for "foodies" but the inside is super clean and decorated very upscale.

I had to get the lobster burrito based on all the positive reviews and I was not disappointed. My wife got the yellow fin tuna, which was well presented, flavorful, and cooked perfect. There were several items on the menu we will be trying in the future. We are building next door at La Jolla Excellence so expect to visit Ajenjo many times in the future.

As other's have pointed out Ajenjo can be a little more expensive than other locations. But you have to keep in mind this is Rosarito "fine dining" and not a taco stand. We had two very nice dinners and two cocktails. Plus, our waiter convinced us to try the tortilla soup, which was a great recommendation. The presentation for the soup was five star, not to mention it was large portions, and nicely flavored. For all that it was $48 including tip.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jiim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019

We try to visit Baja, weather permitting on a monthly basis for about 5-6 days. The coastal weather was cold & raining, varying on any given day. We visit our usual restaurants, but every once and while, we try to break away to other good restaurants in the area. Ajenjo is new to us.

Ajenjo meaning "Wormhole" is a very good restaurant and was surprisingly vacant, but again, it was Tuesday, cold & rainy. Located right in the Popotla Artisan area, south of the main town of Rosarito, you find it on the ocean side, down a ways from Betty's Burgers and Pasta y Basta.

The main dining area is contemporary, sleek and elegant.

The tradition Caesar Salad was average, nothing to rave about. Next time, I think the house salad might be a better pair with steaks. My entree on the menu, can be found at the bottom in the Charbroiled section. I ordered Arrachera (Flank Steak) medium rare prepared with Cabernet reduction and rosemary demi-glace, with your choice of mushroom risotto or sweet potato purée, and seasonal vegetables. The steak was really grilled to perfection, tender and moist.

We picked a great red wine from the Valle de Guadalupe...for our evening dinner:LA CETTO, 2015 Nebbiolo.

This is a very good place...has a Trip Advisor Ranking in the Mid-Teens...should be higher!

Looking forward to trying other dishes prepared by chef/owner Roberto Valle Hernández

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arturofranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

I’ve been here multiple times, and it’s always great....good food, reasonable drinks, excellent beet salad, I had a special there..”beef dish” there....a ragut, of sorts....wonderful......

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bobbysbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

My last visit was for new years eve. Dinner was exquisite, which started with a cream of asparagus which was absolutely delicious. Pork tenderloin with a delicious sauce accompanied by cauliflower that was very tasty. For dessert, I had the chocolate truffles that are just out of this world. I have previously been here for dinner and every time we enjoy our meal and leave very pleased.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monicagL7108JI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

The idea of ​​a French fusion with Baja cuisine, although it is something innovative, represents a challenge.
The menu presented in "Ajenjo" contains a representative number of fusions within its flavors, unfortunately the idea of ​​bittersweet flavors, spices and techniques that encompass Baja seafood and fish, create a menu more oriental than French.
The decoration of the place is nice, in the end the food is left to be desired in terms of landing specific fusions with French flavors and French techniques.
But I think it's fine if you have 500 pesos to spare.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Destructordelosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajenjo also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Ajenjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing