We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg Benedict Lovers run don't walk....”
Review of Baja Calypso

Baja Calypso
Ranked #1 of 155 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Egg Benedict Lovers run don't walk....”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

When in the Rosarito area, it is worth a trip to Baja Calypso. A California transplanted restaurantur has open a seaside charming place. Breakfast is served until 3 p.m..Three different kinds of Eggs Benedict served daily for $6, has people lined up on the weekend waiting for a table. When Manager Elaine is in the house everything runs smoothly. Lobster bisque is tasty and worth a try. Excellent live music on weekends. Dinners are U.S.prices. Go for breakfast or lunch instead. Cash only

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bashfultuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    34
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Went with a group and this oceanfront location had a beautiful setting. We all enjoyed our meal and returned 2 days later for breakfast. Breakfast was good, not outstanding, although the chilaquiles, which I did not get, looked very good. Service very good as was the hospitality

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great find near Rosarito”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Found this place reading Trip Advisor and made sure to visit while in Rosarito. Sat along the back rail and watched the surfers as we ate. Kids split a big bowl of Mac & Cheese and garlic Parmesan fries and loved them both. Bring cash as they do not accept credit cards

Helpful?
2 Thank krudean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They will be the best!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great food and music. I had the Rack of Lamb ordered medium rare, but arrived medium. I suggest you then order it rare. She enjoyed the crab ravioli.
The next day I had the cheeseburger which arrived at room temperature.My partner had the excellent California Eggs Benedict.
Negatives: server hands me my silverware by holding the fork tines and the knife blades,
the dining room has subdued lighting at night. Yet, the servers leave the door open when they come in and out; you are either in a mellow light or daylight and you also get to watch the sous chef prepare shrimps of which he eats by hand as many as reach the diners.
Please put in a stronger door closer spring before I return. Granted they've been open a short time and have a fantastic following for years in San Diego before a fire.
No credit cards yet as the 4 banks talked to want to see 6 month financials first before granting a machine (sounds like B.S. to me).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmechuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem on the ocean in Rosarito!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We ate here during a recent stay at Las Rocas just up the road. This is a charming French/Mediterranean place with a beautiful patio right on the water. Not very expensive, but bring cash as they do not yet take credit cards. I had a tomato, spinach & feta linguine which was good, my husband had a rich seafood ravioli & my son had their excellent hamburger with parmesan fries. We shared a Caesar salad which was very good.

The drinks were also a particular highlight - mine was a cucumber margarita made from scratch & it was awesome! My husband had a boutique beer with a vanilla essence. Sounds odd, but it was good. Try this place out if you are in the area. It's worth it...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selder-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Calypso also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Baja Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing