We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Steak Sandwich in the World!!”

El Gaucho Argentino
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant with big flavor. We offer Argentinian platters such as Lomito (Succulent Filet Mignon Sandwich), Empanadas with many different fillings and our famous Parrillada Argentina (Argentine Barbecue) every saturday featuring several high cuality meats. We are only a block away from the beautiful Rosarito Beach, and only 45 minutes south of San Diego. Stop by and see what all the talk is about. Make a day trip out of it and enjoy the beautiful scenery in Rosarito.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“The Best Steak Sandwich in the World!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was the best steak sandwich I have ever had! The steak was so soft and flavorful with carmelized onions ! The empanadas were also delicious. The chimmichuri sauce was to die for. We took an extra jar of it home. The wait staff was fabulous, and it is a sort walk to the beach. This is a definitely an awesome spot. Don't miss it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    20
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Does this place ever open!????”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I have been trying to try this place. Have gone 6 times and they have always been closed. I can't say the food is good or bad...I would say as a minimum though if you so exist as a restaurant you should at least be open when you say you are. 6 times isn't an accident.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
“Best beef in town!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A modest little place with the best-tasting beef I've enjoyed in a long time at a terrific price!
The place is small and casual but very friendly. I discovered it when visiting Rosarito for the first time, and enjoyed a delightful lunch steak for very little money.
It's a tiny no-frills restaurant but If you enjoy good steak then this is the place to g!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwyattwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beef the way it should be cooked...and taste”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've been to El Gaucho a couple times now. The first time I bought several strips of the BBQ as a to go & it was tender and tasted superb. The second time I dined in and had the Lomito plate. Absolutely perfect. Asked for medium rare and that's what I got. Again the flavor was exactly what I was looking for...yummy! The owner was there both times and did the cooking. I'll be coming back often as everything so far has been excellent and the people who provide the service are very kind.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnIncolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my new favorite place in Mexico”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My mother actually found this place and introduced me and thank GAWD for that!! The food here is amazing, it's lke you're sitting in their kitchen watching them make a homecooked meal just for you. Start with an empenada...any flavor will do and smother it in their chimmichurri sauce (sorry about the sp) Then try the lomita sandwich...it's basically two filet steaks on an crunchy yet soft roll. This place isa must try and will become a regular stop for you!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SamCarlson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentino also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to El Gaucho Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing