We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location gated resort”
Review of La Paloma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosarito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise after a 40 mts taxi drive from Tijuana border. We crossed the border by walking and very conveniently took a taxi for $30 to the resort. Town is quite dirty so we had not much expectations. But the resort was great. Huge clean rooms with free drinking water supply, complete gated so it was safe and best was private access to beach. We walked to another hotel nearby through the beach for dinner. Overall very good facility

Room Tip: Try to get room on upper floors away from main road to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Animesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is our favorite place in the world and we've visited at least a dozen times over the past 10 years, mostly through our timeshare exchange. It's the first time I've reviewed it because we want it all to ourselves! The perfectly manicured property sits on a cliff high above the beach and the views are incredible. It's a gated resort with security, most of whom have been there since our first visit. Same with all the friendly and helpful staff and the massage therapist, Eva, who is excellent, BTW. The tiny on-site cafe, Mama Mia's, is perfect for when you don't want to cook or leave the resort but has lots of competition from all the fabulous restuarants in Rosarito (which is a pleasant walk along the beach, or a short drive into town).

For the best internet connection, go to the clubhouse and sit in the northeast corner opposite the mailboxes. It can be hit or miss in Baja, but it's gotten better. Be sure and drive south along the free road for all the wonderful treasures to be found including, sculptures, paintings, glass and dinnerware, wrought iron, pottery and sinks, and fresh fish straight off the boats in Popotla.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible, or else bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobinByler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

La paloma is great getaway! , the resort is super nice! The person we rented from was super rude , he showed up in the middle of the night yelling and demanding his balance for condos when we had waited for him all day long. He Threatened with calling the police because he had not waited for him. He entered without permission or knocking in one of the condos with babies sleeping. At the end of our weekend he sent one of his workers for keys and parking passes without our full refund... Denied he owed us such amount. I proved him wrong with his workers showing our receipts. We had great weekend, next time we will just rent from other private owner to avoid all this. And Again DO not rent from Ernesto Briceno

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
23  Thank turkeyyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were there for the long Memorial Day weekend. This Worldmark property is located within the La Paloma complex. The Worldmark units are in the building that has 4 stories. All Worldmark units are 2 Bedrooms 2 Baths, no air conditioning. We stayed in a unit facing the ocean on the top floor. Excellent view!. The balcony is accessible from the living room and the bedroom and the BBQ on the balcony looks new. The second bedroom is near the front door and is near the street side. You can hear some road noise. The weather was just perfect.....temperature in the upper 60's, and with a gentle breeze.
The lobby is quite small. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Drinking water in gallon container is provided upon check in. Additional gallons are also free. Wifi was available at the lobby area.
There is a very small gym with a few exercise equipment. Guests are welcomed to use any of the three pools, tennis courts. There were two pool tables in the rec room by the middle pool.
Room decor was casual but pleasant. Kitchen has everything we needed during our stay. Two flat panel TVs with many channels and good reception, broadcasting from San Diego TV stations. Our car has reception from San Diego radio stations.
There was an Art Festival during the Memorial Day weekend. It was very busy and a lot of fun with food, music and many local artists displaying and selling their art works. The booths were just outside the Rosarito Hotel.
We went to Puerto Nuevo for lobster lunch. Delicious! Also bought some fresh fish from the local fishermen at Popotla, not far from Rosarito.
I would go back to Worldmark Rosarito Beach at La Paloma again. Driving from the US into Mexico was a breeze. However, crossing back from Mexico into the US was a test of patience. We stayed until Tuesday afternoon and thought we avoided the crowd going home to the US. Apparently many other tourists also did the same. It took us 3 hours 15 minutes to travel back across the border. That is the only complaint for this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The actual place we stayed in was great, the person we rented from was very rude, he showed up in the middle of the night, saying it was his right to show up whenever he wanted,screaming he was going to call the police because we hadn't paid the rest of the balance when we had waited all day for him to show up, he entered one of the condos without knocking where there were babies with the grandparents sleeping, yelling and screaming they had to pack scaring everyone, we often take family vacations and never had any problems, at the end of the weekend when we were leaving he was only going to pay us half of the agreed security deposit, good thing we kept our receipts, las palomas is a great place just save yourself from a headache and don't rent any condos from ernesto briceño

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank saravillegas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Service: English speaking front desk staff were very helpful. Helped with clarifying the local public transportation. See below. Not sure what the housekeeping service policy is. I was there for 5 days (by myself) and not aware of any housekeeping performed.
Overall experience: I like this place. It is not like a resort tho. No swim up bar, no bar or food in the vicinity of the pools. There is only one sit down restaurant on the property and they deliver to the pools and rooms. I ate there several times and they serve well presented food at a very good price. Very modest, cafe styled, but a good option for eating on site.
Accommodations: Room had blender and coffee maker with coffee packets. Water is potable from hotel, but apparently has an after taste so the hotel supplies a gallon of drinking water free and replacements also free. No safe in room. 2 bdrm units have a queen bed, two twins in the other bdrm and a futon in the living room. Free wifi/cable. Nice BBQ on each balcony, clean and push button to light. Each unit has a dedicated free washer and dryer outside the room behind a secured door. Nice feature. Gym is quite small and secured. Leave a picture ID at the guard shack in exchange for a key. There is a treadmill, elliptical trainer, stationary bike, recumbent bike, a universal gym and ceiling fans. No free weights or dumbbells. No music or TV. The only rooms available to RCI members are in the hotel style building, can't get into the villas. There are several small pools, one hot tub, some tennis courts, several large community rooms, two that look over the bluff and surf. There is a nice grass area on the bluff overlooking the surf that would nicely accommodate a small wedding party and guests. Nice sandy beach accessible by a goat trail from property or street access up the road.
There are like four different levels of public transportation. The cheapest would be a small school bus looking thing for about 10 pesos or 80 cents. I think these go back into neighborhoods. All the touristy stuff is along the main roads so don't take the school buses. Then there are the 9 passenger vans (think Chevy Astro, white body, yellow upper half) that run every 5 mins or so along the main road. They stop whenever someone waves, picking up and dropping off continually. It's all very quick so not as slow as you might imagine and you get a chance to meet some locals, not a bad thing. These run like 14 pesos or you can just give them $1.25 US and that works. Some of these vans go all the way to TJ for $1.50. Ask for the ones that go to "Centro". Quite a bit cheaper than a $25 taxi. Then there are the smaller 9 passenger vans (think Ford Aerostar) that run every ten minutes or so. These are painted white with a 3" red and blue stripe running along the side, like a US postal van. They go all the way to Puerto Nuevo for $1.25. Finally, there is your typical private taxi, a small 4 door compact painted yellow, usually labeled "Eco Taxi" in white letters on the windshield. These are private, pick you up, drop you off right where you want to go, no stopping for people waving on the side of the road. I never rode in one of these, would imagine cost is $5 or $10 local.
Directions: It's a little confusing to find this property. For starters, nowhere does it say Worldmark Rosorito Beach Hotel that you can see from the street. There is a well known building called the Rosarito Hotel on the way so your cabbie might stop there by mistake. Look for the big white letters out front saying "La Paloma". It is like 50 feet after the exit from the toll road labeled Popotla or just before the second toll booth from TJ. Many people drive over from San Diego, about 30 mins over the border.

There is an office for Worldmark and a separate office for World International Vacation Club (WIVC) members.

There are many villa styled buildings on this property, some owner-occupied part/full time, some available thru WIVC, some available for rent from a third sales/rental office on the property.

Room Tip: Probably want to get on the 3rd or 4th floor in the middle of the hotel style building, high enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank ruminatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is an great place to spend a long weekend in Rosarito, it is fully equipped, and the staff is awesome. You will not regret staying here. They have many amenities, lots of pools, and the club houses are great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
2.6 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Rosarito
857 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#3 of 14 in Rosarito
48 reviews
7.2 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#5 of 14 in Rosarito
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#10 of 14 in Rosarito
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#8 of 14 in Rosarito
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma

Address: 200 Carretera libre Tijuana-Ensenada, Rosarito, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rosarito
Hotel Class:4 star — La Paloma 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Paloma is a 300 unit private condominium development with 1-3 bedroom individual units, four swimming pools, three tennis courts, with beach access. The entire property is managed by a Homeowner's Association which does not manage rental units. Rentals are available through individual owners and agents: BajaSe and BajaNor Also, some units are timeshare membership through WorldMark Wyndham and World International Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Rosarito
La Paloma Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing