We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a Baja Resort?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Paloma

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosarito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a Baja Resort?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Didn't the Cesar Salad originate in Baja? It's on the Menu at the La Paloma Restaurant, however, the resort manager does not allow them to serve it?????
There is sketchy internet and terrible cable TV... be sure your there when the weather is good, otherwise your stuck in the condo with nothing to do or watch. Don't plan on keeping in touch with friends or sharing photos at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    58
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
82
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

LaPaloma is a nice resort, The rooms are clean and well decorated.
However, the rentable units are NOT ocean front, in fact they are the back units, closest to the street. Street noise is very Noisy on the weekends.

We were never charged for gallons of purified water or bags of ice.
There are 4 pools,& hot tubs. 2 pools were heated.
There are elevators, and each unit has a washer and dryer that are in a hallway closet.
The 2nd bdrm has 2 twin beds in it,
We saw no bugs, or geckos. Visited Jan 15 to 22 in room 442.
No daily maid service for World Mark might be different for pthers, rci or vvi.
No air conditioning,
did not use room service, but everytime we needed towel, toilet paper or ice, they were fast and would leave quickly like they werent expecting a tip. we always had to call out to them if we didn't have it right there.

The best tortilla soup we found on our trip is at the resort.

24 hr security.

Rosarito is very safe, they use the US dollar just like we do here, the drivers are very curtious.

Thinking of retiring in Rosarito.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent two weeks at La Paloma in October 2012, one week at Worldmark and then another week at WIVC. Before my trip, I scoured the internet trying to find out the difference between the two, but there was almost no information available. In case there might be other travelers who would like to know what I found while I stayed with each of them, here is what I learned. Actually most of the resort is privately owned, with some buildings owned by Worldmark, some by WIVC. Others have written a lot about the area, and I agree with them...

Worldmark -- Four-story apartment buildings, Flat screen televisions, Dishwasher, Very spotty WiFi, Excellent view of the ocean, Electric stove, Unlimited drinking water, Washer and dryer available

WIVC -- Condo feels more like a house, buildings not over two stories, Better traditional décor, Extra $10 charge, Drinking water only first gallon and then purchase, VERY nice towels, Daily maid service, Bar has stools, Tea is provided, Master bathroom has bathtub, Better WiFi, Coat closet, Stove is gas, Newer refrigerator, Brand new for each visitor: paper towels, toilet paper, kitchen sponge, dish detergent etc.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kristinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We drove down from Northern California, staying overnight half way. We stayed a week at La Paloma, Rosarito Beach, in Februrary. While it wasn't the best weather it wasn't that bad. No rain, no fog, just a little cool. We are Worldmark owners and the 2 bedroom unit we stayed in was nicely decorated and very clean. The complex is not all owned by Worldmark. Some units in other buildings are privately owned, and some are rentals. It is a gated community and we felt safe, even though everyone was warning us not to go to Mexico. There is a small cafe onsite that has pretty good food. It is an easy walk to the beach. Our unit overlooked the pool. We were there with our daughter and granddaughter and they had fun riding horses on the beach. We walked on the beach to the Rosarito Beach Hotel, a very large, old hotel with interesting murals. It dates back to when old Hollywood came to play. It has a restaurant and bar. We ate in town at Susanna's, owned by an American woman, and the food was very good. We drove down to Puerto Nuevo, a town known for it's lobster restaurants. We ate at Ortega's, the largest restuarant in town, which is less than a half hour away from La Paloma. We stopped at a roadside shop on the way back and purchased a hand decorated vase and a few other small items. No haggling because they were not street merchants. It is not hard to cross the border into Mexico but try not to do it at night as it can be confusing if you miss the turnoff. Going back home the wait was very long to go back into the U.S. but as we waited we bought churros from the street vendors and they were good. There is a Walmart just north of town. Bring bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marlou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Came down here with another couple for a weekend getaway. Stayed in the worldmark section through their timeshare. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Beds were a bit hard, but other than that it was quite nice.

The spa was wonderful and the pool was heated to a nice, comfortable temperature.

Driving a few miles north or south and you've got some great shopping and terrific restaurants (South Porto Nuevo for lobster, or North to the area around the Rosarito Beach Hotel for a great steak place.)

The shopping around the area is great if you're looking to decorate a house or buy things for the yard. We'd been shopping at the Los Angeles County Fair a few weeks before and we found some great things down there at a fraction of the price (be sure to haggle; they'll usually come down to half of their original price or less).

The unit we stayed in (332) was right next to the highway but with the windows closed, it didn't bother us. It also had a lovely view of the ocean from the balcony.

We had a great weekend down there. We'll probably return next year for a few days as well. Don't think we'd spend a whole week there as I think we'd run out of things to do after a few days but just right for a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave_the_Oracle_DBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Despite more warnings from friends (“You’ll get your heads chopped off!”) we headed back to Mexico for a week at La Paloma Resort in Rosarito Beach. It was a wonderful, relaxing trip. The weather was perfection and the resort lovely.

Driving from Prescott, AZ, we spent our first night in San Diego. After breakfast, we hopped on the freeway and headed south. The border crossing at Tijuana was a breeze, we hopped on the toll road ($2.50) and made it to Rosarito Beach in about 45 minutes.

La Paloma Resort is in the south end of town. It is situated on the coast looking west over The Pacific Ocean. It is a very secure, gated resort. You must check in with the guard each time you leave and return. Throughout the day, guards can be seen checking license plates on cars, making sure everything is as it should be.

My husband and I came to La Paloma to relax and that is exactly what we did. For seven days, we walked on the beach, swam in one of the three pools, and sat on our balcony, overlooking the beautiful Pacific. It was exactly what we had hoped for. Peace and tranquility.

Everyone at La Paloma was friendly and helpful. We got a chance to practice our Spanish, which is pretty pitiful. The office staff was perfecto! They were quick to give us suggestions on what to do during our days, and had maps to help us find our way.

We drove to Ensenada one day. It’s about an hour from the resort. When we arrived, we realized that it was port day for one of the cruise ships, and there were many touristas wandering the streets. It was very loud, music pouring from the local businesses. We had a quick lunch and headed back to La Paloma, anxious to get back to the peace and quiet of our little compound.

Our condo was impeccably clean. We had everything we needed from a coffee maker to a hair dryer. The bed was very comfortable, the view of the ocean from our balcony stunning. We spent many hours outside reading and people watching.

Speaking of people, there were very few! I’m sure that during the summer months there are many, but we came in mid October. We pretty much had the resort to ourselves.

There is a restaurant on the grounds and I HIGHLY recommend it. It is open only to resort guests. It is called (for some reason) Mama Mia, but the food is not Italian. It is fresh, delicious Mexican food of the highest quality, and very reasonably priced. The quacamole is incredible! We ordered it for every meal. It is freshly made each day, and is the best we have ever had. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day but Wednesday. You will love Mamma Mia!

Will we return? Absolutely. La Paloma is a little bit of heaven, just south of the border.

Word of warning: Mexico is NOT The Caribbean. Outside the gates of La Paloma, there was poverty everywhere.

Room Tip: We were in Unit 58. The balcony was private, the view wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank surfwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the apartment. The living area was huge, with plenty of room for sitting and dining. There was a full kitchen with good quality large and small appliances. The pool was just outside our door -- very handy for a cooling dip. We were worried that there wouldn't be enough sun loungers for all the apartments, but in fact there never seemed to be too many people there -- it was cool in the morning, and in the middle of the day most people went to the beach. Pool towels were supplied and exchanged upon request. The maid service was wonderful -- a really friendly lady who kept the place looking immaculate. A car is very handy here in order to go shopping -- there are three good-quality supermarkets within 10 minutes drive. It was a short walk to the beach through beautifully manicured grounds. We had a superb week here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank superhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.6 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#5 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.2 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma

Property: La Paloma
Address: Rosarito Beach, Baja California, Rosarito, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Paloma is a 300 unit private condominium development with 1-3 bedroom individual units, four swimming pools, three tennis courts, with beach access. The entire property is managed by a Homeowner's Association which does not manage rental units. Rentals are available through individual owners and agents: BajaSe and BajaNor Also, some units are timeshare membership through WorldMark Wyndham and World International Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Rosarito
La Paloma Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing