We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's a spicy meatball”
Review of Nuevo Amore - CLOSED

Nuevo Amore
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Tijuana, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“That's a spicy meatball”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Under new management, this comfortable restaurant on the main boulevard of Rosarito has gotten a new life. In addition to a facelift, a new chef, and new attitude, this true Italian restaurant is back on track with everyone's favorite items plus some new dishes. Not to be missed their homemade desserts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bashfultuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexicali, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“not what it used to be”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This restaurant used to be a good one, but the last time we ate there, everybody in our group left dissapointed. Sorry

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That's Amore in Rosarito Beach, Baja, Mexico”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I recently visited Rosarito Beach. I was pleasantly surprised to see the town is cleaning up with several good restaurants. Topping the chart is That's Amore at Blvd. Benito Juarez, Rosarito 22704, Mexico. The Italian cuisine's authenticity is admirable. One of the owners and manager of the restaurant, Jose Sanchez, has done a fabulous job with the ambience, food and service. He was there circulating amongst the tables the entire time we had our dinner experience. Mr. Sanchez is quite charming. When he stopped by our table, it did not surprise us to hear he has a long history of owning and managing high end restaurants and eating establishments; Maui and Los Angeles locations are a couple we remember discussing.
The food at That's Amore is terrific. Our favorites of those we chose were the fish special, pesto pasta, the house garlic bread and, best of all, the clams in a unbelievable sause that you can not help but dip your garlic bread in... truly a great appetizer or, if not super hungry, clams, bread and a salad or soup (both great) will make a great meal. For dessert my vote goes to the cannoli! Molto, molto buono (very, very good) from an Italian girl who grew up with the cooking of my mother from Sicily, Italy! We can't wait to go back to experience other dishes on the menu, specials of the day and look forward to another great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprize”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Toward the end of June we attended That's Amores' very first wine maker's dinner. Each course was paired with local wines. The resturant is under new ownership and the improvements were apparent. The space is light, bright and very clean. The wait staff friendly and helpful. But best of all the food was outstanding! Each course was well prepared, and delicious. With that many guests it can be difficult to deliver each dish warm but they did it. All and all it was a fun way to spend the evening with friends. We will definately be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food great experience!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were down in Rosarito Beach for the weekend and decided to stop in for dinner. The new owners were having a wine pairing dinner. Who would think you would find wine pairing this far north in Baja! We enjoyed the meal; my favorite dishes were the clams and fish. Wonderful and unexpected. The presentation of each dish was very well done. The staff were attentive. The restaurant was open and airy. I understand it's under new ownership, it shows because I ate here a few years ago and had a different experience. Kudos! I will be back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuevo Amore also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing