We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian Delighted to find a place to dine with freinds in Baja” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse Sports Bar and Restaurant

The Lighthouse Sports Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 153 Restaurants in Rosarito
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Mexican, Bar, Japanese, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Delighted to find a place to dine with freinds in Baja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Baja is known for its fine dining – but alas, not for vegetarians. At most restaurants even the rice is cooked with chicken stock and the frijoles made with lard. At Baja’s most famous restaurant, the only decent food I can eat is guacamole.
To my delight and surprise I’ve now discovered that The Lighthouse has a full vegetarian section to their menu. The Vegetarian Chiles en Nogado is out of this world! Representing the three colors of the Mexican flag, the mild green chili is stuffed with red pomegranate seeds and other delectable fruits and nuts, then smothered in a delicious white Walnut Sauce. Located just a few steps north of La Fonda, it is a virtual mecca for Vegetarians. Soy-Meat Balls in Red Chipotle Sauce, Portobello Mushroom Fajitas, glazed sautéed vegetables and much more. Polo designs the vegetarian meals. “I have 65 vegetarian dishes in my head,” he told me. “If you don’t see it on the menu, just ask me and I can make you something special – from all kinds of pastas to a baked potato stuffed with roasted vegetables and smothered in a delectable sauce.”
Of course the Lighthouse Sports Bar and Restaurant also has a full menu of fish, lobster and meat dishes for those who are not vegetarians, so it’s a great place to go with my friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosarito
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good food and excellent location. Their brunch is probably of one of the best. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VBLOZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Baja Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Really great food, friendly staff, special events, and it’s on the beach location have made this restaurant our favorite neighborhood restaurant.

Though the seafood, steaks, and traditional Mexican food are excellent; our favorites are the Baja Artisan dishes Chef Palo has added to the menu the past six months.

In the spirit of the new Baja Artisan food movement, Chef Palo has created over a dozen dishes using locally produced meats, cheeses, vegetables, fruits, breads, and wines.

Our favorite dish is the prime rib smothered with tender vegetables and napales which are all topped with his chipotle, rosemary, and blackberry sauce. The serving is generous, we always have leftovers for the day after.

The restaurant and outside seating share a 180 degree of a sandy beach, the ocean and Baja coastline.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mikemdci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Sportsbar and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great music, excellent food, awesome view, big screen t.v's....what more could you want? Love their margaritas!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank foxycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Like many others, we came here for a fast pass. Lucky for us the restaurant was serving brunch for $14.95. Food was fresh and tasty. Mostly mexican dishes but made-to-order waffles, omelettes and taco bar was available. The homemade tamales were excellent. Nice sunny patio and music from a local artist capped a great start before wine tasting that afternoon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Sports Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to The Lighthouse Sports Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing