We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as usual”
Review of Tapanco

Tapanco
Ranked #5 of 161 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It is the sister restaurant of El Nido and Los Pelicanos in Rosarito Beach
El Centro, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as usual”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My borther-in-law and I stopped by and had the Mexican plate dinners and were blown away. Everything was terrific. All things that everyone has mentioned. The hand made salsa, etc.
We decided to surprise our wives and took them there on Saturday night a week later. It must have been an off night. I ordered the filet mignon which was great. The others asked the server about the fish and were told that it was a Halibut filet. My sister-in-law ordered Ranchero style, my wife order Costa azul style and my brother-in-law ordered the Special Tapanco (wrapped in foil with garlic & butter). They all came wrapped in foil and my brother-in-law's was not cooked enough. Had to send it back. When it was returned, everything else on the plate was cold. The others were expecting a cooked filet of fish. Everyone got chopped pieces of fish. We all had baked potatos which were not done (hard). I guess when you go to a steak house - you shouldn't order fish! We will try it again, but will stay away from the fish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diedre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    102
    37
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great evening with friends...”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Enjoyed dinner for the first time at Tapanco at the advice of friends. Lovely decor....we ended up sitting upstairs which has a bit of a view of the ocean and sat at a round table for all six. Service was pretty attentive although one request for a tequilla and soda came with a tequillia and coke...didn't know what soda water was? Margaritas were good :-) The tableside salsa was very good, soup good, salad good...we did have to wait a while for our entrees but the ambiance is wonderful and the company good. I ordered 1/2 lamb chops and costa azul shrimp...the chops were tasty but cooked medium instead of medium rare as requested...the shrimp was very tasty. I think everyone enjoyed the food and it was plentiful....Food for 6 with one round of drinks was $170. Not cheap but not outrageous either. We will return...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kg92253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best steak in Rosarito”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

OMG! El Nido never again. This cousin of the old Rosarito standard barer is far superior in every way. This more intimate restaurant has similar decore and a charming patio with a water feature. Dinner starts with table side prepared salsa, that was outstanding. Then comes the "lazy Susan" salad bar that is set on the table for an all you can eat experience. The menu that features meats and Mexican dishes is the same as El Nido, but the similarity stops there. They brought out a dessert tray that looked to die for, but we were too stuffed. It's located just south of Badda Bing on the free road. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Califorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great warm salsa”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

the salsa made at the table with lots of cooked garlic was the best part. The rest reminded us of its cousin El Nido but better family fare.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryLee22043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Novel and tasty”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A great restaurant. Best salsa in the world made at your table. Excellent service. They say the steak is the best but the Mexican is beautiful and oh so tasty.Lovely setting. All fresh and healthy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapanco also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Tapanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing