We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and undermaintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Corona Plaza Rosarito
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Rosarito
A TripAdvisor Member
San diego, CA
11
Reviewed July 11, 2004

The corona plaza hotel building has great potential in appearance but due to what appears to be a lack of maintenance it is not. The pool and jaccuzzi were not useable as they both appeared dirty the rooms were of good size but the towels were old and no hand towels were provided ...no soap was provided there was no remote control(not a big deal) and the sheets had holes ...the hotel restaurant was way overpriced but the food was decent on the positive side everything worked in the room the water was hot and even though it had no Air conditioning installed the natural ventilation was fine overall there was not that much happening in Rosorito and the beaches stunk of horse crap and for the price of the room it should have been much better

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 176 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
13
Reviewed July 5, 2004

I just stayed at the Corona Plaza Hotel this past 4th of July weekend, and it was without doubt the worst hotel experience I've ever had. This includes my previous trip to Rosarito 5 years ago. The hotel was overpriced ($150 a night). The room was not clean and had an odor to it. The sink did not drain properly. They did not give us enough towels. The employees at the desk were unfriendly. The parking garage elevator did not work. My three freinds and I had to share the one key they gave us. We had to wear these stupid wristbands the whole time. And the hotel was not even in the central part of town like almost all the other hotels. And like I said, the room cost $150 a night, plus an additional $20 per night per person for the 3rd and 4th guests. My suggestion to all those visiting Rosarito is ... DO NOT STAY AT THE CORONA PLAZA HOTEL.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
13
Reviewed July 5, 2004

I was a bit scared of the hotel after reading some of the reviews on this site. It was a last minute trip for the 4th of July and that was the only place available. Upon arrival, the place looked nice and since I drove an SUV, the steep driveway into the parking garage didn't bother me. (Almost all the cars in the garage were SUVs or trucks.) When we got to the room, it was decent. The same quality you would recieve if you were staying at circus circus in las vegas or a Quality Inn. We brought our own towels although the hotel had clean towels, but we decided to bring some comforts of home. The tv was nive, allows you to plug in external electronics to play a movie or something. The room was clean and the maids cleaned everyday. What we did find out was that although there was an air conditioning unit in the room, it was not hooked up yet. Apparantely, the hotel is only using the first 5 floors of the hotel. The floors above 5 have not yet been completed nor used. Therefore although there is an air conditioning unit in the room, until the entire hotel is completed and used, it will not work. That was fine because we just opened the window and the ocean breeze provided more than enough air. To wrap this up, this hotel is along the lines of a Howard Johnson type hotel, it's not a Hilton but it's not a dump. It's Mexico, and that is what I expected.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2004

for $100/night received a dingy pink room with dirty carpet and even dirtier sheets (had eyelash and pubic hairs on the sheets). Definitely for the younger, party crowd as it was noisy all night. Received wake up call almost 15 minutes late. Definitely wouldn't stay there again.

2  Thank SoCalResident1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2004

Thank lgodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
14
Reviewed April 5, 2004

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pasadena California
12
Reviewed March 28, 2004

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.7 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Rosarito
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#3 of 14 in Rosarito
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#10 of 14 in Rosarito
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Del Mar Inn
Del Mar Inn
#7 of 14 in Rosarito
64 reviews
10.4 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
3.1 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#8 of 14 in Rosarito
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona Plaza Rosarito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona Plaza Rosarito

Address: Calle del Cedro #151 | Zona Centro, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range: $42 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corona Plaza Rosarito 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corona Plaza is conveniently located in Downtown Rosarito Beach where all the entertainment, dining, nightclubs, and water sports are only minutes away. The wide sandy beach is steps from the front door and all rooms have an ocean view. This hotel is a great place to hold parties, weddings, and many different type of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Corona Plaza Rosarito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Plaza Rosarito
Corona Plaza Resort Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing