We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Weekend Getaway from Southern California”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Rosarito
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We live in the Inland Empire. Travel time to the RBH is always about 2 hours on the dot. Where else can you spend the weekend in an ocean front resort in a room that is only 6 or 7 years new with a balcony and ocean view for a couple hundred bucks that close to home? They have 4 pools, including a roof top 19th floor pool, 4 or 5 Jacuzzis, a day spa, karaoke bar, fine dining, buffet; they have it all. There is a pier out into the ocean, horseback riding on the beach, quads, shopping - something for everyone! Claudia at the front desk is the most personable and friendly front desk staffer we have come across in all of our travels. Jorge and Zenovio are top rate bellmen. The food is great!

The Negative Nancys who have written poor reviews of the RBH are hard to figure. We are pushing 50 and have stayed at dozens of hotels and resorts around the world. The RBH is near the top of our favorites list. Very relaxing and hassle-free sums up our experiences at the RBH. We have never felt we were not safe and have never had a request not be satisfied. The RBH has three 'towers' with rooms. There is an old three story tower where the rooms are less expensive; there is a second tower which is 5 or 6 stories high built maybe in the 1980's; and there is a new19 story tower that is only 5 or 6 years old. The new tower rooms are all one bedroom condo type units with a kitchenette, a separate living area, bedroom, and bathroom. All have balconies with panoramic ocean views. The new tower rooms range from $90 - $170 per night depending on time of year and such. The new tower also has two story penthouses and two bedroom suites.

There seems to be a function happening every weekend at the RBH - wine/cheese tasting, jazz festivals, art shows, flamenco dancing, you name it.

Pack your bags and go down to the Rosarito Beach Hotel. Once you've gone, you will continue to return.

Room Tip: Get the fastpass when you check out. It makes the border crossing only take 15 - 30 minutes in a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Rosarito Beach Hotel and for taking the time to post your experience, we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 857 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Back in the nineties, I used to travel down here with the kids, as it was only about an hour and a half from my home. It was such a fun place to be. Pools, shows, ping pong and all of the activities on the beach. We live at the beach, but in California, you don't get people walking up wanting to weave your hair or sell you cheap jewelry. The food was good and margaritas too.

The hotel still has all that charm. Beautiful tiled foyer. Decent food. Great beaches and close to shopping for trinkets. They also offer a fast pass to cross the border. Of course it was closed down for the Sunday I returned which meant 2 3/4 hours of idling and warding off peddlers. But they say that that was the first time in 5 months it was closed. Others in our party crossed in 15 minutes when the lane re-opened.

The reason I give it 3 stars are for the accommodations. In the old parts of the hotel, the rooms are disappointing. They were clean but tired. Our window didn't lock and screens were broken or missing. Toilet didn't flush and TP roll holder was broken so roll had to sit on tub edge. Bedspreads look like something out of Sandford and Sons.

I know that the tourist business has been down so revenue has not been great, but I will never stay in the original hotel again.

I will go back for sure. Love Baja. But next time will stay in the Pacific Tower that gets such rave reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauralovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I bought a 3-nite package from Travel Zoo for Rosarita Beach Hotel and I must say I was a little apprehensive about the whole driving experience plus buying a package like this. We just returned to Nevada after a most wonderful experience. We did stay in the Pacific Tower which is newer than the Hotel and the accommodations were great...a very roomy room with a refrig and coffee set up every morning. We never left the Hotel - ate at the restaurant (Aztec) every night-food was excellent-varied menu..excellent service. Wonderful pool area - actually 3 pools-not all open in October, tho. Met a lot of vey interesting people sitting at the bar -great- happy hour until 7pm Mon. thru Thurs. Best 1hour massage ever! Am planning on returning-October is a great time..not real crowded and weather in the 70's. Definitely would recommend. Hotel even gives you a complimentary "fast pass" to get thru customs.

Room Tip: me sure yousk for the Pacific Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bridgegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Rosarito Beach Hotel and for taking the time to post your comments about the visit. We hope to have you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Overnight trip for the recent Mariachi event. Our plans werent finalized, until day of arrival. Called the front desk Sat am to check on rooms. Plenty of rooms avail in the new condo tower, Pacifico. Drove from LA and checked in by mid-afternoon, just in time for show. Got up early and was back home by Sunday afternoon. Hotel shows some age in older section, but that is part of the charm of a historic hotel. What makes a great hotel or restaurant is often the people. Thanks to the RBH crew for thier hospitality.

Room Tip: Only negatives - water pressure in the higher floors of the condo tower at peak times was down to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the hotel during your stay. We hope you’ll visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A group of us bought a great hotel package deal from Travelzoo, was a little worried. It seemed to good to be true, but it was !! We stayed the weekend and had a great time. Everything that was offered was awarded. If you go, ask to stay in the Pacifico Tower, its the newest and nicest of all the hotel. They also have two restaurants as well as a spa. Best massage Ive had in awhile. We also hung out at their pool below the tower's and had nice relaxing day. The service at the pool was great, Joanne Campos was the best !! {manager} She made us feel right home in Baja !!! Give Rosarito Beach Hotel a try... you'll enjoy it !!

Room Tip: Pacifico Towers is the best option for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelerdude500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhsalesmanager, Manager at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for submitting a review for the Rosarito Beach Hotel. Every feedback we receive is very valuable for us, we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

You MUST demand to stay in the PACIFICO TOWERS, otherwise you can except to stay in a very old and unkept area of the hotel. Pacifico towers are about 5 years old and are clean, well decorated, and have magnificent views of the pacific. They have a min fridge, stove, and microwave, as well as some kitchen essentials like cups and silverware. I really liked our room BUT there were a couple of things that really bugged me. First, the showers have those WaterSaver shower heads that barely dribble out any water. I hate these things! I need to feel the water peeling off my epidermis so that I can feel really clean. Second, they only give you about 1.25 towels per couple, and they aren't very soft. Lastly, the pools were freezing. Don't try to pass yourself off as THE best hotel in baja, yet skimp on things that really make people feel like they are staying at a cheap motel. I don't mind paying premium prices but I DEMAND high water pressure, lots of soft towels, a pool that isnt almost covered in ice, a good wi-fi signal. So, if you are coming to Rosarito I would suggest you stay here, but be prepared for the bad along with the good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villasenor1978d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been going to Baja and the Rosarito Hotel since I was a kid. We used a Travelzoo deal (which we also used last year) with the breakfasts, margaritas, massages and a 2 night stay in a suite in the Pacifico Tower. Maybe the old part of the hotel is worn, I think it has "character" and history. The Spa is great. One reviewer thought is was also worn out, but it is the former home of the original owner of the hotel and I thought it was charming with beautiful tile and iron work. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The only problem was with the speed pass and the directions to get across the border Very vague and confusing, no street names or other specifics. We made it, but not without a little conflict between me and hubby ("go this way, no, that way. Stop, go!!) LOL!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.3 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#3 of 14 in Rosarito
48 reviews
9.8 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
4.9 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#5 of 14 in Rosarito
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#10 of 14 in Rosarito
24 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#8 of 14 in Rosarito
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Del Mar Inn
Del Mar Inn
#7 of 14 in Rosarito
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosarito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosarito Beach Hotel

Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez No. 31, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range: $124 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosarito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosarito Beach Hotel is located right on the beach and features a SPA center and Wi-Fi in public areas. Ensenada's vineyard zone is a 1-hour drive from this modern hotel.The Rosarito Beach Hotel has a sitting area and cable TV in each of its rooms. They feature wood furniture and some rooms may have a balcony with ocean views.There is one restaurant available at the hotel, serves typical Mexican food. There is also a Karaoke-Bar.Some activities available in Rosarito Beach are whale-watching (when in season)and surfing. Tijuana International Airport is 18 miles from Rosarito Beach Hotel, and Tijuana can be reached in a 30-mintute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosarito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing