We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosarito Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Northridge, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went to Rosarito for we thought was going to be a fun 3 day weekend. Checking into The Rosarito Beach Hotel seemed easy, and fast. I was shown to our room on the 10th floor. It was neat and spacious, with fabulous views of the ocean. The temature of the room was 80 plus degrees.Very Warm. I checked the thermostat, to make sure the A/C was on.
Decide to go down to the pool. Got lounge chairs,and relaxed for a few hours. The pool water was so dirty, that a film of sediment floated on top. we decided not to put our heads under water just to be safe. By this time hundreds of people are checking in. The line for two working elevators, was out the door. You had to wait ten to fifteen minutes, to use the elevator to get to your room. Even more to catch one going down. each elevator was filled to capicity!!!
Back up to the room for a little late afternoon nap. The room was almost 100 degress byt that time. Checked to thermostat again, it showed it was on.
Called the front desk to ask if they could send someone up to look at the A/C. They said they were working on it. Took a shower, and within Three minutes, the drain was full of water, pouring out to the floor. it smelled like sewage.
Three more hours pass, still no A/C. We call the front desk again, they tell us they are working on it, but can't gaurantee it will be fixed by today.It was way to hot outside to open sliding glass door.
We decided to exit this hotel. Go down to the lobby and check out. Demanded a refund...So SAD

Room Tip: Dont go on a busy weekend, and call ahead to make sure A/C is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TM612northridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    216
    150
    98
    102
See reviews for
192
256
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great ocean views and balcony space at the new tower. Bathroom had horrible smell, almost like gas leak. Odor was briefly gone after room was cleaned but returned after a couple of hours. Buffet dinner is horrible but lots of other great restaurants in the vecinity.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie_torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach and a short walk from shopping and nightlife. The hotel rooms are clean. I had a great view of the beach from the room. If you go on a holiday weekend don't try to check in before 4pm, the line is out the door! Other than that it was a great stay! I really recommend it, oh and there's a FastPass included with the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calijewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to stay for a beach vacation but not much else to do around town.
Stayed in the Penthouse suite which was great value for money and had great views facing the beach
Hallways were a little dated and untidy.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can afford as it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickipedia63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great long weekend spent at the Rosarito Beach Hotel. Booked a suite in the tower, nice kitchen, living room, balcony overlooking the ocean. Love the old bar in the original hotel. Like going back in time. Service was excellent and everyone treated us with a smile. We had a dinner credit which was good at the bar so we used it for our happy hour margaritas each night. This was one of many stays at this hotel for us and we'll be back soon. Love Rosarito Beach and have found some great places to eat. Especially the taco stand in front of the hotel. This is a gem. Will have to remember to grab one of their border fast passes. The 5 hour wait in line to get back to the US was crazy. Even walking back take 3 hours these days. What in the world has happed??

Room Tip: Ocean View, Balcony, if in the tower get as close to the top as possible to avoid the late night par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santana_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The condo room was clean and roomy, the pools, one for kids with a water slide awesome, work out room incredible! The restaurants a must with top chiefs, and cheap! The beach was very clean. I purchased six bar stools for home, they were to big to bring to the room, so I had to leave them in the back of my pickup, they were there the next day, hats off to the security crew! I felt very safe in town shopping with my 3 year old granddaughter.
Thank You Rosarito Beach Hotel-Condos and staff

Room Tip: Get one with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I haven't been back to Rosarito Beach for about 10 years, scared away by all the news and the 2-3 hour wait at the border going back to USA. Since my wife had never been to Mexico, the news is not so bad lately, and I heard the fast pass can get you back in under an hour, I decided to give the Labor Day weekend a try to revisit one of my favorite college days hangout with my wife, and I was not disappointed. The friendly staff, friendly guests of all races, great food and the great view from the Pacifico Tower all made this trip worth while. The drive down to Puerto Nuevo Lobster Village for our lobster lunch was nice too, got to see many new awesome condo development along the coast. The only issue I had was coming back to USA. I read the direction on the hotel's website on exactly how to maneuver to the fast pass lane, but on the way back a road construction made me take a detour through downtown TJ. There were orange signs that lead me toward San Diego,. When I got closer to the border, the lanes and the sign with arrows were slightly off so my wife told me to move one lane to the right. The lanes then separated by concrete dividers (k-rails) and once I was in the lane we realized the lane leading to San Diego was one lane to my left, and I was heading towards Colonia Federal. I was getting stressed because I thought the lane I was on was taking me back to downtown and the traffic to USA was backed up that far back on the San Diego lanes. I kept driving then I saw the fast pass police booth ahead and realized that I was actually on the right lane after all. I pulled up to the left of the booth, the police came out to take my fast pass. He was very friendly and opened the gates. I drove traffic free down the path behind all the vendor shops and regrouped with all of the other cars close to the border. From that point it took about 30 mins to get back to the US. That was awesome compared to the 2-3 hours it would have taken if I hadn't made the mistake by taking the San Diego lanes instead. Be sure to read the directions on BajaBound dot com on how to find the fast pass lane. It discusses the road construction detour and to take the Colonia Federal lane. Overall, a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#5 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.7 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
6.0 mi away
Las Rocas Resort & Spa
Las Rocas Resort & Spa
#3 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosarito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosarito Beach Hotel

Property: Rosarito Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez No. 31, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosarito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosarito Beach Hotel is located right on the beach and features a SPA center and Wi-Fi in public areas. Ensenada's vineyard zone is a 1-hour drive from this modern hotel.The Rosarito Beach Hotel has a sitting area and cable TV in each of its rooms. They feature wood furniture and some rooms may have a balcony with ocean views.There is one restaurant available at the hotel, serves typical Mexican food. There is also a Karaoke-Bar.Some activities available in Rosarito Beach are whale-watching (when in season)and surfing. Tijuana International Airport is 18 miles from Rosarito Beach Hotel, and Tijuana can be reached in a 30-mintute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Rosarito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing