We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive...Beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Festive...Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Attended the XXIV Fish and Seafood festival, so many restaurants showcasing the food and many vendor with art and crafts, sampled some of the best Baja California wines from micro and boutique wineries, Enjoyed the wines of ViniCultores Carnalla-Villafan and some others.
Pool was very nice, the pier for fishing or just watching the Pacific Ocean, beach is nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaritoBeachHtlMgmt, Director of Sales at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Eduardo_TJ, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the Fish & Seafood Festival on Sunday, as well as our region's wines.

We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    220
    151
    98
    103
See reviews for
197
256
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I fell in love with this hotel. Never knew rosarito offered such great resorts. I was considering making this hotel my new getaway location. The grounds are beautiful..pier for fishing..couple of restaurants and bars..pools w/ slide..playground for the kids..little cafe..recreation room w/pool tables,foosball, and ping pong. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy any of it. We stayed at Coronado tower at a beach grand suite w/ a supposedly beach view (balcony facing south beach was to the west). I liked the rooms. Oh yeah, I didn't get my complimentary margaritas as promised on my booking. We played in the pool awhile and walked the grounds just to see what this hotel had to offer. We turned in at about 10 ish and as soon as we layed down we started scratching like crazy. I turned on the lights and our bed riddled with bed bugs. I was so disgusted called front desk no answer..called operator finally got to front desk. They said they will bring flea spray then said they will call back. I started packing up my stuff we were obviously not going to sleep there. I went to check out and requested my money back. For a hotel that $200 a night I would expect them to be bug free. The clerk had me wait one hour to check out he was fumbling around with papers, talking to other staff about unrelated issues and even attended other guests while my husband and I were standing there with 2 sleeping kids in our arms. They offered to change me to another room but I refused. I didnt want to bring these bugs back home with me. We ended up leaving and driving all the way home to San Pedro, California. I'm still so disappointed I was expecting to have a mini vacation for our 13th anniversary and it was a total disaster. I wouldnt recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaritoBeachHtlMgmt, Director of Sales at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Krys99, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the hotel during your August stay.

I'm very sorry about the experience that you had while at the hotel.

And I’m very concerned about the appearance of insects in the room. We’ve been taking action in this regard, including doing daily inspections, in order to avoid this type of situation. Also, we’ve looked into the situation with the clerk at the front desk and the time it took us to provide a solution for you and your family

I would welcome the opportunity to attend to your comments personally with you over the phone or by email. Please feel free to call or email me at your earliest convenience: (01152)661-612-1050 and daniel@rosaritobeachhotel.com

Your comfort and well-being are of the highest importance to us and we hope to correct this situation as soon as possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosarito hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Front desk personal RUDE, hotel is old but still very nice, location is perfect. Have been there more than a dozen times. Excellent for children or just couples. The main mercado is less than 2 blocks away. Close to clubs and many restaurants. Best taco place across the street in a big open warehouse open until 6am

Room Tip: the rooms in the Cotronado tower all have a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cualneci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

When we first arrived on 8/6 we were given the "old" master suite that advertised online as having a kitchenette, so we went grocery shopping before hand. When we got to the room, there was a mini-frig with counters, a board covering the stove and not even dishes to eat on. On top of that, our bathroom was flooded with toilet water and rather than move us, they just mopped it spreading the toilet water. Upon complaining we were offered a master suite in the Pacifico Tower and accepted.
The room was quite gorgeous, however the a/c NEVER worked for the entire visit. We were offered A...meaning ONE fan even though it is a two bedroom room. Therefore we had to sleep with the doors open, and listen to people partying at the pool and setting off fireworks.Everything in our room remained damp as a result. Upon complaining the next night we were given another fan, but as the second bedroom had no screen we could not open it due to mosquitoes.
The wifi DOES NOT WORK unless you sit directly in the lobby. I believe if you are going to advertise amenities such as central ait and wifi, it should work. I paid $150 a night, which even in San Diego would get you a pretty nice room. You would think in Mexico it would at least come with a/c. We were never even offered complimentary meals though I see online it comes with the room we rented.
We were swarmed by salespeople on the way out to buy in the condo section. Our response was, why would we buy in a place that has no reliable a/c and wifi?

Room Tip: Only stay in the new tower. The old towers are disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaritoBeachHtlMgmt, Director of Sales at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear mamaloza, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re grateful for your feedback regarding your stay at the Rosarito Beach Hotel in August.

We’re glad that in general you liked our New Tower. However, I’m very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations while you were here. We’re working on the room issues regarding the original master suite that you rented.

And as to the tower room, unfortunately the ac in some of these rooms had experienced technical problems for about a week this month. However, the ac in the tower rooms is now functioning properly.

Regarding the food package, not all of our packages include meals. Also, if you reserved through a third party channel, your package would’ve probably not included meals. Or if you feel this was our mistake, please let me know.

Finally, regarding our free WiFi, we are running tests to determine if the problem was an issue of oversaturation of our networks, or if the signal isn’t reaching some of the rooms.

Your satisfaction is of the highest importance to us and therefore we hope to rectify the situation as soon as possible.

Please feel free to call or email me at your earliest convenience at: (01152)661-612-1050 or at daniel@rosaritobeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I didn't plan to stay in Rosarito so just stoped the the first hotel a came upon on the beach.
The hotel was very conveniently located and the grounds poured right on the beach. This always makes for a spactacular view with the sounds of the waves at night.
It's not the hotels fault, but my room while adequite and clean was infested with mesquitos.
I found the help under staffed but helpful. The dinner was average at best.
So even though I rated the hotel above average for the above reasons I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaritoBeachHtlMgmt, Director of Sales at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Captwata, thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us in July, and I thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff, our rooms, and our oceanfront location.

I’m very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet some of your expectations during your stay.

I would really appreciate the opportunity to talk with you about your dinner comment so that we can take action in that respect. Please feel free to call or email me at: (01152)661-612-1050 and daniel@rosaritobeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

It's a good thing my best friend and her family treated my family there as an birthday gift to me. I can't remember too much because of the terror getting there other than the service was excellent despite the language barrier and food was very good and views from the pool area to the beach was amazing! The hotel was empty beside a few couples that I took notice of here and there. I won't stay here again based on the area, the bathrooms in the rooms were very dated and the bedding could also use some updating as well. The beach is rocky shore, cannot swim there as their website states!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoandMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaritoBeachHtlMgmt, Director of Sales at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear RicardoandMae, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay in Rosarito in 2011.

However, since we do not have a rocky shore (only a 4 mile sandy beach), I'm confused as to your comments regarding this.

If its possible that you reviewed the wrong property, I would politely ask that you clarify this with TripAdvisor.

If not, please feel free to contact me to clarify at: (01152)661-612-1050 and daniel@rosaritobeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I gave this review a mediocre rating even though I will not return because the value could not be beat. I purchased a travelzoo deal and stayed 2 nights on a weekend in August. The deal included massages which were very good and breakfast in the Azteca restaurant which was very good also. The room we had was one of the condo/timeshare rooms in the Pacifico tower. The view was great and the fridge was cold and the room was clean enough and that is all that was good.

Some of the balconies had chairs some did not - ours had two cheap dirty plastic stackable chairs and my daughters room had no chairs on the patio. We had our room cleaned and they removed our dirty towels and left us none for a replacement. No soap dish for the soap, a few utensils in the kitchen - only spoons, no forks, no paper towels, a big empty space where there was a flat screen t.v. but even then it was tolerable for the price. The main reason I would not stay here again is because it took us at least 20-30 minutes to catch an elevator. The resort was full and there are 2 elevators in this tower. If you are on the top floor or bottom floor you might have luck catching one but anywhere in the middle and they come to your floor and are FULL....you wait and wait and everytime they stop they are FULL. I took a ride from the 5th flr to the top flr and down to the lobby just so I could get on - we took the stairs several times, but that time I was checking out and had my luggage.

There were a lot of unsavory characters staying in the condos too. Friday night was fairly calm and quiet but Saturday night there were crazy people yelling all night on their balconies and a fight broke out in the hallway around 3 a.m. that went on for an hour - a bunch of girls yelling and screaming and fist fighting!

The pool was a "pee pool" as some previous reviewers commented and the roof top pool was closed. When we were at the pool someone barfed in it near the bar and families with kids were still swimming in it.

All in all I like Rosarito and felt fairly safe visiting again after not coming down for 5 years, but would rent a private condo or residence if/when I return.

Room Tip: If you stay in a tower stay on top or bottom if you want to get an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaritoBeachHtlMgmt, Director of Sales at Rosarito Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear mishottie, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Rosarito Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the hotel during your August stay.

And I’m glad that in general you liked our New Tower, the food at our restaurant, massages at our spa, etcetera.

However, I'm very sorry to hear that some of the hotel facilities didn’t meet your expectations. We are addressing the in-room amenities issues that you mentioned, and as to the elevators, unfortunately 1 of our 4 elevators in the New Tower was not working for a few days this month. It’s now working, and we’ve also activated a 4th elevator (the service elevator) to work as a general traffic elevator to ease the flow on the busiest days.

I’m also sorry to hear about the noise you experienced on Saturday night. September and October are great months to visit us too, while avoiding the summer crowds and rowdiness.

And regarding the pool in the New Tower (1st floor), we’ve installed new and larger filters in order to always maintain it in an optimally clean condition, regardless of the crowd factor.

Your comfort and well-being are of the highest importance to us, and we hope to have you back here again under different circumstances.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
9.8 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#10 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosarito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosarito Beach Hotel

Property: Rosarito Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez No. 31, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosarito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosarito Beach Hotel is located right on the beach and features a SPA center and Wi-Fi in public areas. Ensenada's vineyard zone is a 1-hour drive from this modern hotel.The Rosarito Beach Hotel has a sitting area and cable TV in each of its rooms. They feature wood furniture and some rooms may have a balcony with ocean views.There is one restaurant available at the hotel, serves typical Mexican food. There is also a Karaoke-Bar.Some activities available in Rosarito Beach are whale-watching (when in season)and surfing. Tijuana International Airport is 18 miles from Rosarito Beach Hotel, and Tijuana can be reached in a 30-mintute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosarito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing