We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosarito/Ensenada/festival Plaza hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Festival Plaza Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rosarito/Ensenada/festival Plaza hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This Hotel/Resort is in a tough spot, with all the ecomonic problem and, bad drug wars plague a lot of Mexico especially in an area that relied on Americans Tourism to fill up the rooms. That is gone and the hotel an the city of Rosarito have felt the impact with very reduced tourist

The hotel hascut down on things that would be going if it had more guest. the ferris wheel wasn't running and the bar closed early at times. The staff do a good Job at getting things you need sometimes over doing it like give me A huge bag of ice, all I wanted was a ice bucket full although it worked and made me laugh.

I wouldn't recomend this hotel to those seeking a romanic trip or quite nights. The hotel is smack in the middle party central with disccos pumping music till 4:am. If you like to party this is you place.The clubs were dominated by Mexicans tourist and Locals which put an limitation on conservations if you seak limtied spanish. I did meet some cool people that spoke english and even if they didn't they were nice.

The thing to do is rent a car and go on day trip to Ensenada, Bajamar(If you play Golf) and the blowhole. Ensenada has more tourist being a port for cruise ships that let people off the boat to shop and eat at the very virbant wharf area. If you like golf and hate to be slowed by others players this is your place to enjoy a record in time to complete 18 holes. The blowhole was alright, the drive has some impressive views of the ocean. The blowhole itself has a short walk through a street lined with shops, hotels,and resurants. At the end the blowhole was revived and was water getting blowned though rocks every 10-15 seconds.

The area has some nice beaches unfortunate the weather was gloomy and keep beach goers home, When the suns out some have tents of music and drinks on the beech.

If case you are wondering about the roads don't be fearful they are find. There is a toll highway connecting The border to Ensenada which will cost you 2-7 dollars depending on where you get on. The highway is in good shape like any highways in the states complete with traffic accients. The service streets can be bumby in spots but overall are fine. They are great for saving some money on the tolls. Watch for stop signs there are a lot where there probably should be a light. You will also notice Military checkpoints in place in order to finding drugs and other related things that are happening in Mexico as a whole. They generally way you through and your notice they search the trucks and some bigger cars, mutch like the border crossings One more tip for driving in TJ, traffic is constant and is like a driving in a big city pay attention and you we be find.

I would recomend Rosarito plaza Resort which is next door if you have kids and have more guest so the things were open, has a nice bar, pool and ping-pog tables, playground for kids a more pools.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broncoslover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    36
    32
    51
See reviews for
26
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

After reading some reviews from a couple years ago, my wife and I were skeptical about staying at this hotel. We contacted the hotel to cancel and they said they wouldn't charge a cancellation fee and they acknowledged the older reviews and said those were not issues and that they wanted us to come see the room and then decide if we wanted to stay or not. Needless to say we got down there and the staff was frendly, the rooms were clean and well kept, and we felt very safe. The view of the ocean was amazing and it was nice a cool since it was near the coast. Cable tv worked fine, pool was clean and cool. Bar was dead except for during the soccer game and boxing match. We would say overall this was a positve experience and we would stay there again. But do know that there are two neighboring clubs that are loud, but tolerable with the windows closed if you get a room at the south end of the hotel. The town is dead to tourists because of the recent violence in mexico, not the hotel or citys fault... if you do stay here, do not goto IGGYS for tacos, they will rip you off. Instead goto el norteno across the street, for $0.95 each taco they are awesome!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Sorry I have to do this, Festival Plaza. Your accommodations were nice, the surrounding nightlife is too loud. PURE TORTURE!!!

I read the reviews. I'm a seasoned professional when it comes to partying. I thought I could take it, for sure.

Unless you plan to stay up EVERY night until 2 or 3 am. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!! The surrounding club music is SO LOUD, from several clubs, it shakes the building. It's awesome if you are in the club, but when you are trying to sleep, it's beyond painful. I never realized this about myself until I stayed at this hotel. It's similar to what the Americans did to extract Noriega from his compound by playing loud music 24/7. PURE TORTURE!!! Do yourself a favor and stay at the neighbor hotel (not mentioned), which has a sound wall and is a safe distance from the POUNDING!!!

  • Liked — Ocean View, Clean room, Price
  • Disliked — Unless you stay up until 2-3 EVERY night, it's WAY TOO LOUD!!! PURE TORTURE!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosarito hotels

Long Beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I was kind of hesitant to stay at the Festival because of some of the reviews I read but I decided to take my chances. Everything was great. It was a great view, location and atmosphere all together. It's right in the middle of everything. The staff was very helpful and it was very secure. I don't think I've ever felt that safe in a hotel before. The only downside was that there was no airconditioning but who needs to have your windows closed with the A/C on when you can have the ocean breaze in your room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — All the security and everything around the hotel.
  • Disliked — The ferris wheel was not on.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank evekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I stayed at the Festival Hotel for the Rosarito bike ride last week. I didn't realize at the time I entered my hotel room that there was no way to lock the door from the inside, I wish I would have paid more attention. The hotel is a dump and the staff is rude and unhelpful. There is no way to sleep as the music blasts all night long. During the middle of the night, someone came into my room (I was there with another girl for the race) and shaved off my eyebrow. As strange as this sounds, I am telling the truth. Woman should not stay in this hotel. It doesn't matter if there are two or more woman in the room, this hotel is dangerous. I can only assume, the front desk sells off the room keys for men to enter rooms woman are staying in. Please let every woman you know not to stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — violent act
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank summerOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2008

At check-in we were greated by a pleasant and helpful young lady. That's it for the good stuff. The rest of the staff, especially the valet, acted as if we owed them something every time we walked past. The rooms were meager and spartan and in disrepair. The music from the neighboring clubs pounded until 3am so if you want to sleep go elsewhere. I was glad I only booked the room for one night. The place also had an unpleasant feel to it. My mistake that I didn't believe the other bad reviews.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank no_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Reading all this reviews I had my doubts about staying at this hotel, but when I saw their web site and took a better look of their facilities I definitely booked directly with them. At our arrival we checked inn right away their staff was very friendly and made us feel very comfortable. Our room was located on the main tower, a wonderful view of the city and the beach. We spend the entire weekend enjoying all the activities the hotel had scheduled because of the Spring Break.... foam parties (really fun), the pool area, and excellent food!!! On this matter I have to say that they have the best Mexican and Italian Restaurants in the city. We definitely are coming back!

  • Liked — The food and service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachFunGirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
0.2 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Rosarito
838 reviews
2.6 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 16 in Rosarito
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#10 of 16 in Rosarito
16 reviews
9.9 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Del Mar Inn
Del Mar Inn
#11 of 16 in Rosarito
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Plaza Hotel

Property: Festival Plaza Hotel
Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez 1207-1, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Festival Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festival Plaza is a two-and-a-half acre hotel and entertainment complex located in the heart of Rosarito, Baja California. Characterized by offbeat design wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs and retail shops, Festival Plaza has a on-going schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festival Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Plaza Rosarito
Hotel Festival Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing