We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Will Improve As People Realize It Is Safe To Come To Rosarito” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Rocas Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Rocas Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Rosarito
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Will Improve As People Realize It Is Safe To Come To Rosarito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I live immediately next door to the hotel and watched it being built. I partake of its services, but don't stay there. The prices are reasonable and the service has been generally good. I have seen a lot of reviews here where people are disappointed with the state of the hotel. During the super-hype of the media about how dangerous it was down here, the hotel had almost no guests, despite the fact that there was never a danger to tourists or American residents. Almost everyone on the U.S. side of the border believed the hype and didn’t come down. On a beautiful weekend, one would only see 3 or 4 cars in the hotel parking lot. It is a wonder that the hotel didn’t close its doors. The management kept the regular staff on until they could no longer afford to do so. No guests = no funds to keep the place up.

The hotel is not a high luxury hotel, but it is a good hotel that is struggling to come back from the depression caused by the media that has to overly sensationalize everything to keep your attention, otherwise you wouldn’t watch or listen to their programs. I would suggest that your regular patronage is the solution to bringing the hotel back to life. We are now entering the best time to come to Rosarito. The mobs of tourists are gone. The weather is great and everything returns to its peaceful slow tempo of life
.
If you like the hotel, like I do, patronize it; and in a short while it will regain the former character that people lament that it lost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    131
    67
    49
    63
See reviews for
70
160
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

we had a great time at this hotel but it needs some renovations, update maintenance on the outside of the hotel, the tile by the pool needs replacement.All in all it was a great place to stay we will definitely come back for another mini vacation:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncristina89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were married here in 2007. This is the first time we returned since our wedding and we were both looking forward to this trip. Unfortunately we were hugely disappointed in the lack of care for this facility. I don't remember Las Rocas being in such a run down state. We stayed two nights (Sunday-Tuesday) in a standard room (184.00 first night and 69.00 the second night) on the first floor north side of the resort nearest the smaller pool. The bathroom was in poor condition and continued to leak water from the over flowing floor drain. The towels were old and frayed. The furniture in the room was chipped and stained. I accidentally shifted the bed sheet, which is not fitted but just a flat sheet thrown over the bed, and the numerous mattress stains were appalling. The carpet was filthy, I needed to wear flip flops in the room. The pool lounge chairs are made of cheap plastic and so uncomfortable, some of them were cracked. The pool deck tile in front of where we sat was damaged and loose. A random piece of tile covered a big hole that a person could easily step into. All around the facility you could see the results of poor upkeep of the building and furniture. The food was mediocre at best. The worst was the smell of sewage that permeated through the resort. On Sunday night I could smell the sewage as we ate dinner at the palapa. Yes it was disgusting. I needed to light incense just to sleep our last night due to the stench. I can't wait to return home. The ocean views are amazing. The staff truly do work hard to provide service. However that is just not enough for us to return. Shame, shame, shame on the owner(s) of Las Rocas for allowing this resort to deteriorate to this degree. What a waste! What you see from their website is not what you will get.

Room Tip: If you do chose to stay here, tho I do not recommend it, choose the south side of the resort in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosarito hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visit the hotel for the first time on August 5, 2013 and excited my expectations. The room views are asome. I didn't like alot the regular rooms but I moved to a Jr. Suite and they are very nice, they don't have AC but the weather was perfect. My self and my family had a good time. I would like to thank all the staff for the good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonygo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have visited this hotel on two separate occasions and have good things to say. Love the bar next to the pool. Also the buffet has very authentic food. Totally worth it for the price you pay.anything that's under a hundred bucks with this level of service is always welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americafan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel I only visited some friends there, but it was a loooooong visit, bar was great and so were the pools. Although one (the non-infinity) need some TLC. Food was good and the spa was OUTSTANDING. Staff was great and the views are great, most outstanding pedicure I've ever gotten, views of the ocean the entire time.

Room Tip: All have a great view, go with 2nd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 568WIllieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I love Las Rocas. Years back I went for the first time and anytime someone is looking to visit the west coast and they ask me for a suggestion of a hotel right on the beach, but affordable, I give them the truth: it will be hard to find that in So Cal, but if you're willing to journey south of the border, Las Rocas is pretty great.

The infinity pool is awesome. The fact that the room opens right up to views of the ocean, and you get woken up by the sound of waves, and all of this is happening typically for under $99 a night if you go in the right season, it's just insane.

When I went, there was a little taco stand near the hotel and a nice lobster dinner down the road a bit more.

The hotel is old, I believe the word if you were spinning it would be either quaint or rustic. But if you are looking for a safe place with good, scratch that, incredible beach views at a more than fair price (read: steal) then I think this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosarito
6.0 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#5 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.1 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.7 mi away
Brisas del Mar Hotel
Brisas del Mar Hotel
#8 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Spa

Property: Las Rocas Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Tijuana-Ensenada | El Morro, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a romantic getaway, spa retreat, the perfect oceanfront wedding or simply want to treat yourself or that special someone with a relaxing oceanfront experience, then you have found the right place. From eclectic Spa treatments to the wedding of your dreams at Las Rocas Resort, the pressures of the outside world will simply float away. Give yourself and your significant other the opportunity to be pampered at our Rosarito Mexico Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Hotel Rosarito
Las Rocas Resort
Los Rocas
Rocas Rosarito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing