We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT'S ALL THE FUSS ABOUT?”
Review of Tacos El Yaqui

Tacos El Yaqui
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Rosarito
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WHAT'S ALL THE FUSS ABOUT?”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm not a bit impressed. I'm Mexican and know how good a taco should taste....I have tried just about all the taco stands in Mexico.. this place is all about being in the right spot where all the gringos/tourist hang out. ..that's why it's so famous.
They meat is served in huge pieces and it's hard to chew and it doesn't have any salt, pepper or garlic... you have to fill the taco with salsa to give it taste.
then the owner has been there for many years and hasn't done anything to fix up this stand that is falling apart. i will never go back and won't recommend.

I eat at another place called Tacos 2000 .. tacos are delicious, staff clean and friendly.. the establishment is very clean...bathrooms are immaculate and they have a sink outside to wash your hands...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lucero56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    42
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
1 review
“AWESOME QUESADILLAS!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First off im a vegetarian so i couldnt even try the meat but i swear it didnt even matter! the quesadillas were so filling! had everything except the meat and were they were still huge! ill just take my boyfriends word that the meat was great, im sure it is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yesenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth the Hunt”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

As long as you don't mind beans along with your carne in your tacos, these ARE pretty darned good; and filling, two will probably do you. This is basically a taco stand with some sitting areas - if you are an old-time SoCal resident, think "original taco bell - meets- original Tommie's" and you got it. Worth the short hunt (it's a block off main street on south end of town); no cerveza.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gardog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tacos El Yaqui vs El Gerente”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tacos El Yaqui little roadside shack, so poorly marked I would have walked right by it if I didn't see the employees wearing T shirts. Plastic chairs under a corrugated roof and walls of plastic visqueen make up the dining area. A small wood BBQ in front and a grill inside a plywood shack make up the food prep area. Go up to the window and order. If it's not busy, he will whip out your meal in a few seconds and hand you the plate. I had taco asada (one chopped beef taco) and a Coke for 40 pesos, roughly $3.50. Bargain. Made with an ample portion of tender meat with beans, cheese, salsa and guacamole on a freshly toasted flour tortilla. Full enough that I could just close the tortilla. Tasty. Was given a bowl with some limes and radishes, and a plate with some BBQ'd jalapeño peppers (spicy), he called it Mexican candy as he put the peppers on the table. Located one block east of Boulevard Benito Juarez, the main road thru town at the intersection of Calle de las Palmas. Road names are sometimes on the side of a building, rarely like the signage seen in the U.S.
Walked two blocks directly north on the same road to Taco El Gerente, another recommended taco shack. They have nice cold beer and a larger permanent covered dining area (open walls). Tacos were comperable, ample and pretty much a toss up in price and value that day. A cold beer would get the nod in my case. Lots of local traffic at both locations so can't go too wrong at either place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruminatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hit; best Taco's ever”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved the entire experience. From the smell of the meat cooking in front of the stand, to the great service and delicious taco's this place is a winner. Love people who stick to what they do best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likestocooktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos El Yaqui also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Tacos El Yaqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing