We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Leonero Resort
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Los Cabos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Just got back from another great time at Rancho Leonero. They had a hurricane that dropped 16in of rain in 24hr a couple days before we got there. It had caused some issues but the resort was doing there best to deal with it.
If you like remote, laid back, great fishing, and a place with nothing to do this is a great place to stay. The resort is a small place around 30 rooms with thatched roof and stone walls and tile floors. Grounds are nicely kept. Staff is pretty friendly and helpful. My wife and I love this resort. We go there for a week and fish for 3 or 4 days and the rest of the time just veg, its a great realxing time. We have never left the hotel grounds except to fish on any of our trips here.
Food is pretty good and varies from all you can eat rib night to a t bone steak to a mexican buffett. Breakfast is either a buffett or ala carte. Anyway the food is good and you can drink the water here.
Fishing is the real reason we come here though, that by itself makes this a great place to come. The hurricane had messed the sea up pretty good and the fishing was slow the first day or two we were there but picked up and got better and better each day of our stay. By the time we left fishing was almost crazy with all boats catching tuna, dorado, and marlin. I caught a blue and strip marlin, a bunch of rooster fish, a bunch of dorado. We brought back a cooler full of fish.
The boats are very reasonable with super cruisers go for 385 a day and pangas at 250. The boat crews are good, friendly and will take you to the fish no matter how far they have to go which generally isnt to far. They had kayak fishermen catching tuna and dorado right out at the boat moorings in front of the hotel.
I am already planning my next trip back for May. I would recommend this resort to fishermen which is about the only people you will find here. There is no real night life here everyone goes to bed fairly early and get up early to go fishing. I love this place...

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjcoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2007

I am a pretty seasoned traveler and have been all over world and had many different experiences. The rooms were terrible. The air conditioners are too small and I mentioned the room was very hot, the manager said they would check it out but never did. The roof/ceiling is literally made of palm leaves and open to the environment, there were lizards crawling in and out of the room. There were big black bugs, cockroaches, and moths in our rooms all over the place. Even bugs in the bed, I sprayed Off all over the place and it didn’t help! Our shower overflowed the first day there with sewage and they never came to fix it. There was also an open septic tank, it had caved in, and the place reeked like sewage, but the room smelled ok so we chalked it up the Mexico experience and tolerated it. Then while fixing the septic tank they pumped raw sewage on the ground in front of our room. When we complained about the horrible smell it created they moved us to another room. When we got to that room it had no hot water. I asked several times about having it fixed and no one seemed inclined to do anything about it. I brought it up the manager and he proceeds to ask us to leave because we complained to much. They do not care about their guests and tried to spin our complaints around almost like we were causing this mess. I must say the best part of the entire trip was the fishing, just stay some place else. I recommend you stay at another resort by the same water and catch the same fish. Do not stay here.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank mrjerry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We wanted to just relax and that is what we did. No timeshare sellers, in fact the most selling we saw was a guy selling jewelry a couple of afternoons on the beach plus one night at dinner a guy had his jewelry set up, but he didn't approach us, if we were interested we could go over and look.

There were few kids, most everybody went for fishing and snorkeling, both of which you could do right off the beach if you so desired. Otherwise, you could rent a boat which included someone to take you out on it who knew where to go. We went out snorkeling one day with some other hotel guests. We also rented a taxi and driver and went into La Paz one day just to do the tourist thing and buy a few gifts. Our driver was Francisco and we felt very lucky to have him as he grew up in La Paz and when we told him what we wanted to buy, he was able to take us to a place where they had exactly what we wanted.

We were very happy with the food, it was good and there was more than enough of it. The shower faucets were a bit too tight and I had a little difficulty turning it on and off. I mentioned it to the maid just before going to breakfast and when I got back, it had been fixed. Everybody there made us feel welcome. I have nothing negative to say.

I am looking forward to going back again, recommend if you are looking for someplace for relaxing or fishing, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee99723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We,my wife,two daughters and myself,just got back.The only drawback was the weather,which you can't blame them for.It is definetly a resort for fishing with the nearest town twenty minutes away.I'll go back againbut probably later in the year when the water is a little warmer. Our fishing captain worked his butt off to get us on fish. The staff was friendly and was always eager to help us. They were not very fluent in English but with what little spanish we knew and what English they spoke, we communicated well. The cleaning staff was awesome. Our rooms were always tidy. There were other activities available to us, besides fishing, through other companies outside of the resort. Not a place for teens or younger children, there aren't many activities for them. Overall, it was a nice getaway for fishermen.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank wgj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We loved it so much that this was our second trip to this beautiful piece of paradise. Looking forward to our next visit in 2007

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daddiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boise, Idaho
17
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Really nice resort, in the middle of the desert. Very beautiful and well laid out. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, no problems with bugs or plumbing. The beach is right out side and you can listen to the waves all night. Tons of sea shells and you can walk for miles, VERY relaxing. Dining was great, almost right on the beach and the food was good and plentiful, not 4 star quality but for the price it was great. Staff was nice and accomindating except for 1 boat captain. Message is $50 USD/Hour, a little too rich for the area.
Recommendations:
1-On your way in pick up any booze you may want, the prices at the bar are outragious, 1 day we paid $40 USD for a pitcher of margaritas, and that is even expensive for Idaho. You can pick up the mix for about $3 and the booze for about $10 and make your own. Also beers were $2.00 USD, pick up a case for $8.00 and a cheap styrofoam cooler for $2.00 and get the ice from the resort.
2-No hot tub, after a long day of fishing, would of been nice to have a nice soak with a beer.
3-Rent a car, it is $100 USD for the trip there and $100 for the trip back, and then if you decided to go into any of the little town around it is between $50-$200. Cars can be rented for about $50/day with insurance. DO NOT SPEED, the police are just looking for a reason to pull you over and then you need to pay them for the ticket.
4-Fishing sucked, but we were there in what suppose to be the off season, but ask around for the best boat captains, we went with Juan, never said two word to us and really didn't make any efforts. Went out 2nd day with another captain (forgot his name) and was really trying to get us fish, he was a lot more successful than the previous day and more fun to be around.
Overall, GREAT resort for the price, will definately go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
La Mesa, CA
15
Reviewed January 9, 2006

Well, what can we say, but thanks, thanks, and more thanks for such a fun stay, again, at the Ranch. It just keeps getting better each time we come. It's now like coming HOME.

Thanks to John, Jennifer, Gary, Janine, Nick, Paco, Francisco, Jorge, Joel, the drivers, the boat boys, the cooks for making the best Mexican Sashimi in the world, the ladies who clean the rooms, SANTOS and absolutely everyone else I can't remember......

While at our stay we won the "Let's Talk Hook Up Fun Tournanment" And needless to say, the fishing was FANTASTIC. We worked hard and found the fish, thanks to our amazing Captain. We caught lots of yellow tail, yellow fin tuna, big pargos, amber jack, rooster and a pompano. Yippee, our freezer is FULL.......

The best part after a great day of fishing is hanging at the bar with our fishing pals, Jim & Judy, Bob & Carole, Mike & Carol, Chris & Kim, Pete & Lolly, Carlos, Drew, Charlie (also known as the Swordfish Cowboy), Ron, Wes, the Fireman and friends, Tom & Kristi, Ted Sr. and Ted Jr., Todd, Ethan, Tracy, Neals and of course, John & Jennifer. You are all the BEST. We can't wait to do it again next year (or sooner if possible).

One special note to the folks who posted bad reviews: if you are unhappy with any little thing, go see John Ireland, he'll take good care of you. And Gary is a NICE GUY!! This is a place for the "simple at heart" and folks who love to fish!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cabos
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
4.9 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
56 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda de Palmas
Hacienda de Palmas
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Leonero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Leonero Resort

Address: Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Los Cabos
#51 Spa Hotel in Los Cabos
Price Range: $210 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rancho Leonero Hotel Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Resort Mexico/Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing