We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Leonero Resort
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Los Cabos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place is a real find. The resort is clean and the people are extremely nice. We had such a great time. The fishing was excellent and we will definitely be coming back. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our family and friends have visited Rancho for many years. We love the Fishing, breathtaking views,amazing meals and comfortable anemnities they provide. The staff is warm and welcoming and they always make you feel like you are the only person there! So special! We would recommend this for all families, extended friends, work groups/retreats for anyone who needs to relax, be cared for and enjoy the day as it plays out...ahhh! We love it and we will continue to return to Rancho Leonero- it is safe and welcoming and the best place to vacation bar none!!

Room Tip: look at website to determine what rooms are best to suit your needs- we get rooms that face the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sspella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our vacation to Cabo San Lucas in July 2011. We had stayed in Los Barriles before and remembered it fondly, and had always seen signs to this hotel and were curious. So we requested a room.

We were welcomed and given a tour of the property by a young intern who learned English by playing video games online! We booked a room. The accommodations are very simple and are catered mostly to people on game fishing trips. We would have liked the a/c to work a little better, but in July it's understandable how a smile unit in a small resort couldn't totally keep up with the Baja heat. This is not a luxury resort. But it was clean and had all of the amenities you would need for a vacation of good value and relaxation - a pool, a beautiful view, and well kept grounds.

Here's the intangible: you really feel that you've gone back in time when you stay here. Something indescribabable made me forget about cell phones and televisions. Most of all, the guests are friendly. How many times have you gne to a nice hotel only to be joined by spoiled rotten, obnoxious, and ill-behaved guests? You won't encounter that here.

The meals that were included we're very good, though I wish for dinner there had been an option for someone who is allergic to shrimp. But I had plenty of salad and was generously offered some of the delicious catch from some of the fishing guests, (and to be fair, I didn't tell the kitchen in advance that the dinner would be shrimp). The full breakfast was really a full breakfast including items like eggs, fruit, bacon, and French toast and more.

The location was perhaps the best part. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the beach (though it is easy to step down to the beach). The beach is long and pristine. At night, it's funny to see the cows wandering on the beach! At night, the property is quiet, which might not be for everyone. But most who stay here are "day" travelers - if you want nightlife, go to Cabo 90 minutes away.

There was a little bit of a dispute about check out (I can't really remember what it was now), but it obviously didn't overshadow our trip.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room because the beds will be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank meenooskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel is not for everyone. It is clean. It has miles of white sand beaches with hardly another person in sight. If you are looking for night life and shopping, this is not going to be the place to go. If you like solitude, good fishing, good service, and nice people you will probably like it.

This is no room service. There is one TV in the bar that is usually not on. There are no phones in the rooms. You can bring your own fishing gear down and fish from a boat or fish for free off the beach. There is also very good snorkling and kayaks are for rent cheap.

The place is pretty much deserted between 7 AM and 3 PM when the fishing boats are out. Once the boats have been launched and the fishermen gone, it is very quiet. The fishermen also go to sleep pretty early so it is also quiet in the evenings, too.

The price of the room includes 3 meals a day and the food is good to excellent.

Room Tip: go to the website to see a map of the rooms. The rooms above the office have no foot traffic and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Ranch was well appointed - considering where you are. Van pick up at airport available. We just returned and the trip was great - would have been better if the weather was a little cooler and less humid. This did make for a room that was hard to keep cool. Fishing arrangements were handled professionally and friendly by PACO and his staff who arranged the boaats and lunch orders. Fishing was great this time of year as we caught something everyday. The meals they supply are prepared for you every day with a different menu every night for dinner = pasta, fajitas, tacos, steak, shrimp, etc. Rental equipment was available for kayaks, snorkels, fishing equip, etc. For those with no equipment - see PACO - you may need to rent your equipment - or the Super Cruiser boats may have what you need. All in all, this was a great 5 day trip for a bunch guys.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craigcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my second time to the Ranch. Great place. The staff is friendly and will go out of there way to help you. The food is always fantastic and the setting looking out of the Sea of Cortez can't be beat. The only complaint is that the wall air conditioners in the rooms are too small and don't really cool the room. Fishing is great and they have a big freezer to keep your fish. If you want a great fishing trip, this is the place for you. The staff will take your fish and cook it up for you, make cevichi and even sashimi. They had soy sauce and wasabi. Yum. Talk about fresh.

Room Tip: The smaller standard rooms do a little bit better, because the air conditioner will not have as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fataspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I just spent 5 days down at Rancho Leonero and had a fantastic time. The resort is located on a remote dirt road about an hour from the Cabo airport. It is a rustic location with great views of the Sea of Cortez and a relaxed feel. The staff was friendly and they cooked us several different types of fish that our group had caught each day which really made the overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelg00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cabos
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
4.9 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
56 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda de Palmas
Hacienda de Palmas
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Leonero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Leonero Resort

Address: Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Los Cabos
#51 Spa Hotel in Los Cabos
Price Range: $210 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rancho Leonero Hotel Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Resort Mexico/Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing