We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 in Loreto!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location is GREAT!! This was our first time staying at a cabaña where the proprietors cared so much and truly wanted to enhance our vacation experience! What FUN!! From the day we checked in and were invited to a welcome happy hour to meet the neighbors, to potlucking, road tripping and the attention to details, we were so spoiled! I don't know if I want to go back to being anonymous at some big hotel. Such a fabulous time -- I recommend Las Cabañas to Everyone!! We miss you, Rick & Jill!!
PS: Everything was so clean and safe -- no worries. Can't wait to return! =]

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredEducator2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

How do I begin.........

We arrived in Loreto in late December, 2012 for a 2 night stay. We chose Las Cabanas de Loreto based on the great recommendations from other TA users, and we were not disappoinited. This place is AWESOME.

Las Cabanas de Loreto is owned by Jill and Rick Jackson, Americans who moved to Loreto 10 years ago. Rick is a well-known nature photographer, and his work is all over the city of Loreto. Jill is hostess extraordinaire - from the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we felt like her main goal was to make us happy and comfortable.

The Facilities - This place is located 1 block behind the Malecon (30 second walk) in a strategic location in the heart of Loreto. Imagine a massive, beautiful home built around a courtyard and pool, with 4 large suites facing the pool. The pool is small but nice, and the jacuzzi is HOT and perfect after a busy day of activities. There is a large outdoor kitchen (and barbecue) which would make any gourmet chef happy. There is a garage full of bikes for guests to explore Loreto at their leisure. There is Wi-Fi throughout.

The Rooms - The rooms are large, with comfy King beds and nice sheets and pillows. The window shades actually block out the light (unlike so many other hotels). The bathrooms were great, with nice towels, good shower and plenty of space. The room comes with a mini-kitchen, small fridge, microwave oven, dishes and utensils, a coffee maker (with coffee). A lot of little extras like popcorn, cookies, bottled water, etc. There was milk, yogurt and homemade granola in the fridge for breakfast. There were also 2 cold beers in the fridge which went down quickly after a long road trip!

Attention to detail - this is what separates Las Cabanas from the rest of imitators. Staying here was like staying at a close friend's house, and everything you even wanted or needed was there for you. From the coffee maker and breakfast, to the bikes, to the recommendations and booking of activities for guests.....it was all there. When we booked a boat excursion one day (a must do), there was snorkeling gear, a cooler and beach chairs outside our room door. When we asked about dinner options, Jill and Rick walked us to the restaurant and stayed and had dinner with us. When I mentioned that I loved clams, they magically appeared for me - already shucked and ready to eat.

I could go on, but I think you get the point. This place is fantastic, and so are Jill and Rick. We were sad to leave this place, and will definitely come back.....hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: All rooms are great in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cswltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great place to stay when you're in Loreto for fishing and other boat activities. Reminded me a bit of a European Pensione. Small, charming place, with simple yet tastefully decorated and very functional cabanas situated around a pretty courtyard and pool. It's right behind the Malecon, about a 5 min walk to the harbor where boats will take you to your daily activity.

What truly makes this place stand out are the hosts Jill and Rick, who make you feel right at home and do everything to help you make the best out of your stay.

They also have bicycles available to cruise around town with, as well as a bunch of beach and swim/snorkel gear you're free to use. They give great recommends on boat captains, activities and food around town.

One note about Loreto - the beaches in Loreto proper are not much to speak of. If you're coming for a beach vacation I'd recommend the resort 10 mins south of Loreto. Also, while we were there (October), the Malecon was still under construction. Didn't bother us much, but you may want to check with Jill on the progress.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Planning a holiday to Loreto, BCS, Mexico? This is the one and only place you should consider. Yes, truly! Convenient, just off the Malecon and a short 2 minute walk to the centre of town. Clean, comfortable. Every convenience you need. Great setting, an oasis with pool, hot tub. And the best part is the incredible service and friendship of the owners! Our second stay in the past year and there isn't even a question, yes we will be back :)

Room Tip: all the morning breakfast goodies you need are supplied in your room....fresh fruit, ie papaya; coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a week at "Las Cabanas de Loreto". We had friends that recommended it as a great place to stay. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Jill. A big friendly smile immediately making you feel welcome. Right away loved the place! Beautiful grounds. Green and tropical and wonderfully hot and inviting. The pool is wonderful. The cabanas were so well equipped you don't need a thing. Jill her mom Nancy keep the place immaculate. Rick her husband is so friendly and they are genuinely great folks. The restaurants we went to served some great fish tacos, which are my favorite thing to eat while in Mexico. We saw so many dolphines! Right next to the boat., it was truly something I had never experienced before. The snorkeling was wonderful. We came away wanting to remember our time with new found friends, so we ordered 2 of Ricks amazing photos of the dolphin's. We will definetely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The moment we walked into the beautiful courtyard of Las Cabanas, we felt at home. The owners live on the premises and care for the place as only homeowners can and they are warm and welcoming. The grounds are exquisitely maintained - huge palms sway over a perfect pool and deck; a cozy outdoor kitchen and tables beckon you to sit and sip beneath a charming thatched roof; and 4 lovely and spacious rooms form the perimeter. Cruiser bikes await should you wish to ride around town. We could never have imagined a more perfect vacation home away from home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just came back from spending three days at "Las Cabanas de Loreto"
It was exceptionaly clean,beautiful,boutique hotel in Loreto, Mexico.
Owners Linda,Rick and Jill Jackson were very gracious, helpful,and abundontly generous.
Supplied our cabana with fresh fruit,granola,yogert,milk and coffie beans to grind for our morning coffie.
The facilities are very clean and totally user friendly. As seniors we nervously enjoyed the use of their bicycles to tour the town.Their recomendations of a guide to take us around the island o f Coronado for snorkeling, swimming,and sun bathing was terrific.Adrian was very gracious, and the water and sand was out of a travel book. Thanks Rick & Jill...........Terry & Judy

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
21.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.1 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
0.3 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de las Flores Loreto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanas de Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas de Loreto

Address: Jose M. Moreles St, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#3 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range: $129 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cabanas de Loreto is a quiet and intimate property located just off the malecon, within walking distance to the marina, beach, restaurants and shops. Each of our four cabana studios have kitchenettes, A/C, ceiling fans and two beds and large tiled baths. Amenities include pool, hot tub, wifi, outdoor kitchen with BBQ, bikes, guest laundry and assistance with planning activities. Each cabana is beautifully furnished with typical Mexican decor. We welcome guests older than 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Las Cabanas de Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas De Loreto Hotel Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing