We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fonda Canipole

Fonda Canipole
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Loreto
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

As we eat our way through Loreto this will always be a memorable meal. Sofia is a charming hostess who prepares your meal while your sip you favorite beverage in her garden courtyard. We were blessed to be there on a slow night and my wife the chef could hang out with Sofia and watch the magic. Meanwhile server Blanca was attentive and pleasant throughout the evening.

The Chile relleno was amazing, chicken mole best ever, and a spicy pork stew a perfect counterpoint. And yes there were hand made tortillas, rice, beans, and guacamole. Portions of each are small but plenty for large appetites. We took home lunch for the next day.

We spent $1300 pesos, almost exactly $100 U.S. for two of us including 4 margaritas guacamole and tip. At that price it isn't for every day but we will go again for my birthday!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jazzlover44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My 2 friends and I stumbled in to look around the inviting and colorful entrance. We are so happy we did! Sofia took us on a tour of her traditional outdoor kitchen and explained her fixed price dinner which we felt was very reasonable. A previous Trip Adv. review indicated spending 80$ for 2......not sure how that happened. We paid $20 which included delicious carrot filled taquitos served with guacamole which we watched Sofia make, chicken mole, and chicken breast with herbs. It came with chile relleno....also excellent. A beverage was included (wine, beer, etc.). All delicious!
And Sofia's warmth and hospitality made us feel like guests in her home which it was!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gr8tworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly Mole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Arriving at 6:00 PM, we beat the dinner crowd and fortuitously enjoyed Sofia's complete attention as the only guests at that early hour. The courtyard decor is complicated and mysterious, perhaps resembling a 17th century trading post? Sofia's mole was equally complicated and mysterious, unexpectedly lifting the cuisine to world class. Her special "cactus juice" margarita was delightful. Sofia even observed my wife's birthday that day with a special little gift and hugs all around. You really can't do Loreto without doing Fonda Canipole!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dosewallips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
240 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Ambiance Beyond Belief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We've eaten in a lot of restaurants around the world, and I can honestly say that I can't recall being in a more interesting and comfortable eatery. You walk into what looks like a small store front to find yourself in a hundreds of years old courtyard, with a well and the lighted mission tower pulsing above you. Fascinating. The service is fabulous: attentive, kind. There's no menu. The chef takes your order after describing the fare. The food is delicious. The only reason we didn't rate the place five stars is that, compared to other restaurants in Loreto, Canipole is expensive--roughly twice as expensive. We spent, with tip, around $80 American for a meal for two. In the US, that amount wouldn't be surprising; in Loreto, where four can typically eat a lovely meal for that amount, the total was.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Sofia is opening up her restaurant again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I love this restaurant for it's great ambiance. A old world traditional kitchen and house. The natural spring has been there for over 300 years. A display of spices used in Mole sauce is very educational. Chocolate you say! Highly recommended that you make reservations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Canipole also viewed

Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Fonda Canipole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing