We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and very relaxing place to stay!”
Review of Iguana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Loreto B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Wa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic and very relaxing place to stay!”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at the Iguana Inn for one night before a kayaking trip and for 2 nights after the trip. It was perfect! Julie, Mike and Zoe couldn't have been better hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in Bungalow #1 which had a double and single bed, small kitchenette will coffee maker, filters, free coffee/tea, microwave, dishes, utensils, dishwashing soap, drain board, etc. The bathroom was a very good size with a large tiled shower. The room faces a charming courtyard with comfortable chairs and beautiful foutain. It was a wonderful place to come back to after our kayaking/camping trip. There is a hose and clothesline in a side yard to wash off and dry our paddling stuff. The Inn is also very conveniently located in Loreto and is within a block of the Capital Cafe (very good restuarant with reasonable prices, can't beat the fish tacos) and adjoining ice cream store. We also loved Cafe Lolita (home made bread, lattes, mocha, and the best French Toast we have ever had!)

An added treat was the free WiFi! On our last day, our flight did not leave until 4:30 pm and Julie and Mike very graciously let us use our room until it was time for us to go to the airport. They would have called a cab for us, but we met a very nice woman who was eating next to us at the Capital Cafe (she lives in Tripui) who offered to take us to the airport.

We will certainly be back! You can't beat the Iguana Inn for great rooms, reasonable rates, very convenient location, free wifi, and best of all, the friendliness and helpfulness of Julie and Mike (and Zoe, their very cute dog)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This past April was my fifth year and sixth time that I have stayed at the Iguana Inn.I have used the Inn as a place to stay between kayaking trips and I have always been extremely happy with the wonderful informal nature of the Inn and the great hosts Julie and Mike who are exemplary in their treatment of their guests.
This April into May stay was a wee bit different from previous visits in that usually I spend most of my time,7 to 10 days,out somewhere on the Gulf kayaking,returning to spend two or three days before venturing out again.Alas,on my second trip I became quite ill and we decided to return to Loreto six days early.Fortunately Julie and Mike had a casita available and I was able to fully recover in the comfort of their Inn.They also made arrangements for a local doctor to make a house/inn call(unheard of in Canada or the U,S.)to assess my situation and prescribe some medication.I was really impressed with this course of action,but knowing Julie and Mike this would just be an automatic response to a guest's needs.
While I was convalescing under their well shaded sitting/reading areas I was able to partake in some Spanish lessons that Julie has put together for guests and other people in the community.So if you want to enhance your Spanish Language skills and you have some free time between fishing,hiking or kayaking then the Iguana Inn would be the perfect place for this to happen.My Spanish language abilities are very rusty,but when I return,with Julie's help,I hope to increase my fluency.
By the end of my four week long stay in Loreto,I ended up staying two very enjoyable weeks at the Iguana Inn which made it very difficult to think about returning to the cold and rain of southern Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We originally planned to stay in Loreto for 3 nights, this increased to 5 which ended up being 9! Mike and Julie with their beautiful dog Zoe at Iguana Inn had a lot to do with that decision.

Firstly the accommodation was very clean (thanks to Lourdes the friendly cleaner), and spacious with all necessary amenities. Towels and sheets are changed as regularly as you like. Our room number 3 had a double and a single bed, fully functioning bathroom with high pressure hot water on demand, a kitchenette housing a coffee pot (with free tea, coffee, creamer and sugar), microwave, refridgerator and all the necessary crockery and kitchen utensils you would need. There is a washing line out in the back so you can hang any wet clothes out to dry (great for the scuba divers, snorkelers and kayakers out there)! The rooms all centre around a courtyard which has plenty of relaxing furniture and books/ games for you to enjoy. The centrepiece of the courtyard is a great water feature and there is a calor gas stove which guests may use to BBQ any meat/veggies they decide to eat!

The location of the place is great literally no more than a 5 minute walk to anywhere you may need to be in Loreto whether thats shops, restaurants, laundry, church or the seafront - however if you dont fancy walking there is the use of bicycles so you can get out that bit further! Noise levels are ok we had no problems sleeping - there is a dog in a nearby hotel/house that barked in the night however it seemed that this is a norm for Loreto as most people own dogs. When we walked to see where this dog was we saw that the dog had obviously been recently injured as it was wearing one of those collars so could have been the reason for its noise. I will say that Zoe who lives at Iguana Inn is a quiet dog so dont worry about that!

The cost of the place is very reasonable and as I have said Mike and Julie are fantastic inn -keepers. They will help you organise any trips you may want to do - as well as diving we went horseriding in the mountains! For our whale watching trips we were loaned a huge ice box to keep our lunch cold. Julie even spent time (a lot of time I might add) helping us with our Spanish! They are warm, friendly people who are very available and nothing is too much trouble. They make you feel very welcome, like family. This place really is a home from home!

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Iguana Inn to anyone whether it be singles, partners, friends, groups and families. I dont think you'll find better more relaxed and helpful accommodation in Loreto. We loved it here and definitly plan to return - thanks Julie and Mike.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rackie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

My husband and I had only two nights to stay in Loreto. The Iguana Inn was recommended by friends who visited Loreto last year. We felt completely at home at this quiet, immaculate little spot, with all the amenities we needed. The owners, Mike and Julie, answered our many questions: where to eat, where to find a quiet beach, which excursions are worthwhile, which shops are most appealing. Their friendliness and guidance made all the difference for our too-short stay in this charming town. The other guests were the types of unassuming, adventurous folks with whom we enjoyed visiting, while sitting in the central couryard with our morning coffee. We hope to return for a longer stay, and we will definitely reserve the Iguana Inn!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Our stay at the Iguana was very pleasant. The owners are very helpful with suggestions for day trips and places to eat. They go out of their way to make you feel very much at home.

The location is walking distance to the beach, the bank, restaurants, the center of town and the best ice cream store in Loreto.

The rooms are cozy and clean. I would highly recommend the Iguana.

  • Liked — Location and how helpful the owners were
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3intent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2008

This place is great. It only has 4 rooms making it a very quiet place to stay. Mike and Julie, the owners, live on site and are exceptional hosts. All rooms face a courtyard that boosts a water fountain, if you're a bird watcher, you'll love the variety that frequents it for either a bath or drink.

The location is super, only a few blocks from the water and 1 block from the city center. Best of all the ice cream shop and a bakery are just around the corner.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere, clean rooms, location, quiet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed one week at Iguana Inn after booking through their website. They were very good about sending us updates on nearby road construction before our arrival. Owners Julie and Mike and their dog, Zoey, were excellent hosts. Our room had a queen bed and a twin, plenty of room for the three of us. We also had a basic kitchenette and huge bathroom, with plenty of hot water and good shower pressure. The rooms are not fancy or high end, but very cute, clean and comfortable. Courtyard was great for relaxing and getting to know the other guests. Iguana Inn is a nice, quiet, friendly place. We will definitely stay here if/when we return to Loreto.

  • Liked — Location, kitchen and bath amenities, friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Limited internet, no phone
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MerWineland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.2 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
658 reviews
21.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1697 Loreto
Hotel 1697 Loreto
#8 of 20 in Loreto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Coco Cabanas Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Inn

Property: Iguana Inn
Address: Benito Juarez & Madero, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguana Inn is a quaint and comfortable hotel located in Historic Downtown Loreto. One block from everything, the Iguana Inn offers 4 spacious bungalows with kitchenettes. A one bedroom house is also available. there are several outdoor common areas and patios, a tranquil courtyard with a soothing fountain and outdoor kitchen. Other amenities include on-site parking, book exchange, bikes, movies, and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing