We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the Way in an Interesting Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission San Javier

Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
240 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Out of the Way in an Interesting Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The mission itself is not all that spectacular. It's a simple old--very old--stone and wood church. The particularly interesting part is that it's a couple of hour drive through beautiful austere mountains to a spot you that makes no sense for there to be a simple, very old church. That in and of itself is inspiring.

We ate lunch at a small family restaurant called, I think, Palapa San Javier. It's the first place on the left as you walk away from the mission. Very nice folks; excellent food. A surprising find in what counts as the real middle of nowhere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    137
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Exceptionally beautiful mission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Mision San Javier is remote, beautiful and spiritual. It's 34 km off Mexico Rte 1 just as you exit Loreto. Pass Giganta mountain: gorgeous mountain scenery. Road is being patched in parts because of flood washouts but nothing to tough for our Toyota Corolla.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“So Worth Your Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our group had the rare honor of traveling to this mission far up into the hills. Getting there was no easy ride as the road had been washed out in many places necessitating our vehicles to drive through many running streams. We were greeted by the two town dogs with wagging tails who sometimes accompanied us on our walk through this historic village. The mission was sacred. Upon entering, one felt a spiritual presence. The surrounding beauty of hills, blooming flowers and ancient crooked olive trees is a scene I will not soon forget.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JM0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I rented a car in Loreto and took the road out to the mission. It had a number of washouts that were being worked on but all in all not a problem driving out to it. The Mission was built in the sixteen hundreds and was quite ornate for its time. Especially the woodworking. There are trails that lead out behind the mission where you can see a 300 year old olive tree. Very impressive. The scenery around the mission was rugged and beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The mission oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Keep: the mission and all its ancillaries. It's a magic place to reach on the wavy road, sometimes interrupted by stones and creeks.
Change: a bit cleaner and better road indications. The place should be kept cleaner and the road signs to reach it are basically not existing. Even for some GPS it's challenging. Is it for purpose?;)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corrj1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Javier also viewed

Loreto, Baja California Sur
 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Mission San Javier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing