We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable setting and pace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable setting and pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

Don't worry about the dirt road into Coco Cabanas ... it's part of the charm that leads to one of the most comfortable places I could imagine. The setting was peaceful, rooms were comfortable and quiet and the pool area offered a relaxing way to cool off, read a book, snooze or just visit with the small group of neighbors.
We were traveling with good friends but no set itinerary. It was amazing how Bill managed to set us up with great trips on very short notice. He seems to have a wonderful network and working relationships with local people who provide excellent service. The first day fishing with Luis was wonderful and the split day of fishing/snorkleing with Antonio was a kick.
Juan was great on the trip to the mission in the mountains and it was a great experience. Lots to see but long dirt road was a little tiring.
Being able to walk to the marina to watch morning activities, to great restaurants (Mita Gourmet, La Palapa, and that Argentine place), and to shopping was great. Local people along the way were friendly and engaging.
Finally, Bill and Kathy really made a difference. Their kind and gracious nature made it feel even more like a trip to paradise.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Fristclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    22
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
158
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is the only place to stay in Loreto! The cabanas are very clean and quiet and cool--having a kitchen means you are able to keep and cook fresh produce and fish for your meals. I'd recommend arriving on a Thurs or Friday so you can go to the local Saturday market--by 7am--and pick up the best produce available. The stuff in the stores isn't nearly as fresh or great tasting. You must get the bananas and avocados--so sweet! Bill and Kathy are great hosts--they will set you up with fishing --we were the only boat to limit on dorados--they are still pretty scarce this summer--but the bottom fishing is great fun! They will also give you great ideas on where to eat--we never had a bad meal--we liked Mita Gormet, La Palapa and Pancha Mama's--all are near the town center--which is only 4 blocks from the cabanas. I'd recommend not renting a car--we walked everywhere--we just rented a car 1 day to drive up to Mulege and snorkel at the Bay of Conception--it was warm water but not that great of snorkeling. We also snorkeled at Danzante Island--more fish but the water was colder. Still a good trip--set up for us by Bill. I'd recommend the cabanas to everyone heading to Loreto--it was great fun to meet our neighbors and sit by the pool and drink our home made margaritas and salsa!
Take lots of americans $$--small bills--VISA isn't taken at many places and everyone likes dollars.

  • Liked — Bill and Kathy--the pool, fishing, everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank M-K-BOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

My Wife and I realy enjoyed our stay at Coco Cabana. We only wish we would have stayed there when we went to Loreto last November. Bill and Cathy are realy nice people and take the time to make sure that we have everything we need to make us confortable. The hotel is conveniently located and alows you to walk to most places in town.

The next time we need a place to stay in Loreto, you can bet it will be at Coco Cabanas.

Thank you Bill and Cathy.

Sincerely,

Ed and Dora Baxter

Helpful?
Thank EdBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

Oh where to start and so much to say so forgive my strea of conscience travel log. . . Bill and Cathy and the oasis they offer at the Coco's . . . it's the only way to go. Barrett, "thank you for creating such a treasure for travelers. The rooms are clean and comfortable . . . you receive fresh towels daily and a mid-week cleaning service, which is just perfect. There is a full service Kitchen with blender to make wonderful poolside concoctions. Plan to grill at least one night during your stay. You will make friends that you will want to share a meal with pool side - guaranteed! Bring a flat pack cooker or cozies to keep beverages chilled, poolside. You MUST schedule a massage with Sergio. He is wonderful and also has a little shop that you will find great treasures to take home (it's off of the Malacon). There are 2 fans in each room and air to keep it cool The private porches also have fans to keep the breeze moving. When you first get there, Bill and Cathy will give you the welcome overview. After you get that, Taxi into town for $8 roundtrip and go to the grocery store and stock up - the rooms are fully equipped to with cooking provisions so that you can dine in. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say, this is hands down the best place to stay in town ~ trust me, we looked! Feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Liked — the pool and the hosts
  • Disliked — a few blocks from town, but this is okay b/c it means its quiet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank apblanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandon, oreegon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

We recently returned to Coco Cabanas for our second stay and felt like we were coming home again. Bill and Kathy (the caretakers) met us at the taxi with a hug and did everything to set us up for our two week stay. They had arranged for local guides Francisco and Pedro to take the guys for awesome fishing in the Sea of Cortez for 13 days straight. They made the non-fisherpeople comfortable with snorkel, kayak, bike rentals and all our needslike good air mattresses to float around on in the crystal clean pool. Barrett (the owner) had worked hard to get our dates right and one member of our party stayed on for almost a full month. The cabanas are cool, clean and comfy and the kitchens and outdoor grill make fresh fish and food easy. We like that they respect and hire the locals, keep the atmosphere tranquil and serene and make you feel welcome and wanted. If you are looking for a place to call "home" in Loreto where the palm trees rustle, the sheets are crisp and the folks are respectful and helpful..this is the place for you.

  • Liked — The quiet grouping of cabanas around pool, kitchens and staff.
  • Disliked — nothing wrong
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

I selected the Coco Cabanas because of all of the gushing reviews here on TripAdvisor. It lived up to its reputation - so you can believe it! Bill and Kathy were the most welcoming hosts and helped organize fishing trips (with the famous Pedro) and a trip through to San Javier mission, high up in the mountains. (We went with Oscar, who took us off the beaten path.... if you go, do request him.) The rooms were nice and spotless. No complaints. (If you're tall, make sure you get a "long" bed - the beds in Mexico are "shorter" than ours in the states.) While we had every intention of cooking our catch on the communal BBQ, for a few bucks any restaurant will prepare your fish for you, so that's what we did. We HIGHLY recommend Isla's restaurant on the Malecon waterfront - big fluffy stacks of pancakes, great huevos rancheros, and an unbelievable $4 avocado salad as a dinner appetizer. Beautiful presentation, too. St. Lucia is also a great location, but despite 3 tries on 3 different days, the hotcakes were always cold. Great juices though and awesome yogurt and fruit. Our waiter, although a sweet guy, had short term memory loss - he always got our order wrong or mixed up. (We wish we had found Isla's the first day.) Loreto is not cheap like other parts of Mexico - plan to spend about $50 a day p/p on food if you eat in tourist restaurants for B/L/D. (This doesn't include alcohol or coffee - we don't drink either and imagine we would have spend 2x as much if we did.) For two of us, breakfast was always $20, lunch $30, and dinner $50. And this included "local" places serving traditional tacos and enchiladas. We love Palapa for lunch - they bring out a big tray of chips, guacamole and salsas before you order. (Try the carne asada tacos.) The Giggling Dolphin is fun. The best ceasar salad in town (is not at 1697) but is at Campanole (sp?), which is two doors down from Thrifty ice cream (back toward the Cocos.) Do not miss the best ice cream in town, which is between the hotel and the main square - Kathy can tell you where. They palatas (sp?) the ice cream popsicles made with fruit. The strawberry is yummy. We also like the fish tacos at Cafe Ole, although the chips are really greasy. Great guac, though. You may want to skip Sagitaro restaurant in the trailer park. A local recommended it but it wasn't all that.

For activities, fishing, obviously. The first day we were catching them like crazy. Second day, not so good. But we saw dolphins and had fun. The half day trip to San Javier is interesting and scenic. Other than that, unless you like to drink or dive, there is not a lot to do in Loreto other than hang out at the beach and stroll along the malecon. We snorkeled a few times (off Coronado island and up in the Bay of Conception), which were gorgeous above water but cloudy underneath.

  • Liked — The managers, Kathy and Bill were incredibly welcoming and hospitable
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliInWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

Coco Cabanas is a true Changri-La. The idyllic hideaway. Pack your swimsuits, get ready for a fishing trip you will not forget and leave all your cares behind. We picked Coco Cabanas because of the rave reviews it received and was everything and more than we wished for. After meeting Kathy and Bill at the office they took us to our cabana to settle in. Our cabana was one of eight situated around the pool area which has towering palm trees and give the area a cool and inviting feeling. The cabana was perfect in every way. It was spotless, comfortable and cozy. The kitchen is fully equipped even including a blender for those Margaritas. Kathy and Bill who had by now made us feel so comfortable and at home left us to unpack and get into cooler clothes. We then met with them on our patro to have our questions answered and learn of places to see and things to do in Loreto. Bill said that he would arrange for Captain Pedro to take us fishing on the three days we had chosen out of the seven we were to be there. He assured us that we would be in good hands. If you enjoy fishing there is nothing like the clear and sparkling waters of the Sea of Cortez off the coast of Loreto. Add Pedro as your Captain and you will have a fishing trip you will never forget. It did not take us long to realize that Pedroknows where to go to catch the fish and he truly wants you to be happy. He was fun to be with and anxious to teach us about the waters, fish and islands of the area. Thank you Pedro for sharing your knowledge! Again, we cannot emphasize enough what a good host and hostess Kathy and Bill were and how helpful they are. They will arrange for your fishing captain, tell you of restaurants, markets, gift shops, call for cabs, arrange side excursions as well as seeing that the housekeeping staff keeps your cabana spotless. Thank you again Kathy and Bill for all your help and your friendship. If you are looking for a laid back, relaxing and fun filled vacation you must make Coco Cabanas #1 on your list. This may have been our first time at Coco Cabanas but it will not be our last and we look forward to seeing you there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, convenience & pool area
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Wyobuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
22.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
0.6 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.8 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Cabanas Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Cabanas Loreto

Property: Coco Cabanas Loreto
Address: Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#5 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet and secure location is around the block from the marina and public beach. Located only three blocks to the town square, shopping and dining is just minutes walking distance away. We have eight individual cabanas surrounding a patio with pool and barbecue. Each cabana has air-conditioning, full kitchens, stove, microwave, fans, hot water, VCR's with complementary videos and covered patios. With daily and weekly rates, Coco Cabanas will accommodate any vacation budget. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coco Cabanas Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Cabanas Loreto Hotel Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing