We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely property, great place to spend a day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Lovely property, great place to spend a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We did not stay at the resort but a local told us that if we ate at the bar restaurant and had drinks there, we were welcome to use their facilities. So we spent a day there in May 2013. There were very few people there, but the staff was friendly and the food and drink prices very reasonable. They have a lovely pool, lots of palapas and cabanas with chairs, both overlooking the pool and the bay. the bay is very calm and you can snorkel around the rock on the south end of the beach. Lots of colorful small fish, crabs, lobsters and stingrays. The beach has grey sand - not the most beautiful beach in the Baja but one of the nicer ones in the Loreto area. during this time of year, kayaks, snorkel equipment and paddleboat are available for rent but only Thur-Sunday. There are sting-ray warning signs on the beach but I went in anyway, wearing water shoes and shuffling my fee and had no incidents. There is a golf course with dirt roads around the holes and you can walk or bicycle around them with some very lovely views. After a day in the bay, it was nice to have outdoor showers and bathrooms at our disposal. The Nopalo community is very picturesque and worth a walk around as well. They also had a board posting their spa specials and the prices for massages, etc. at this time of year were very reasonable -though we did not avail ourselves of those services. All in all a very pleasant way to spend a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    37
    24
    21
See reviews for
81
112
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from 5 days at Loreto Baja Golf Resort & Spa celebrating our first anniversary, and just plain getting away for a bit. We picked this particular Resort because it was right on the beach, and we were not disappointed, and will definitely be going back.

As it was our anniversary we chose a Honeymoon package that included all food, non premium alcohol, non motorized water sports, trip to Coronado Island, an incredibly romantic dinner on the beach, a couples massage and a Master Suite. The accommodations were very good, as was the food, and all of the staff were incredibly friendly. The beach was beautiful, but as others have said, there are signs and other warnings regarding the stingrays, so we mostly kept out of the water, which was a bit disappointing, but the pool and swim up bar more than made up for it. (I was in Loreto 15 years ago with no issues with stingrays, so things have either changed, or we were just never told.)

There were not too many guests at the resort when we were there, so the restaurant was not open; all means were at the snack bar area adjacent to the pool, which was fine with us. We actually preferred being closer to the pool and beach anyway, and the food was really good with full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus, so we didn't miss anything.

I have to say the best part of the stay was the romantic dinner on the beach. They set up a beautiful table on the sand bounded by tiki torches. Earlier that day the chef asked if he could make us a special dinner, and we of course accepted. What we got was not only incredibly delicious, but was also beautifully presented. We watched the sun set and the sky open up to millions of stars. We spent over 3 hours just enjoying the food, setting, wine and of course, each other. It was worth the trip just for that!

We are not golfers so I can't speak to the golf part of the resort, but the spa consisted of a couple of guest rooms that have been converted to use for massage, facials, manicures, pedicures, etc. That was fine with us and the couples massage was quite good, so we went back a couple days later for another along with facials. The facials were just OK, but the massages were worth the trip back.

Now for the reasons I did not give this resort an excellent rating. First of all, when we checked in, the person at the front desk did not seem to have any information about the honeymoon package (so I am glad I asked). Of course, they were very friendly and gracious, and straightened that out right away. But I did need to check to make sure all of the items in the package were included, and needed to ask a few times about what we needed to do to schedule things. Again, none of this was a problem, but make sure you stay on top of things.

As I mentioned, our package included meals and drinks, so we were given colored wrist bands when we checked in (after I reminded them that we had an all-inclusive package). Unfortunately, they did not explain that we still needed to sign for our food, and there was some confusion for the first couple of meals. We were then told the next day that we had the wrong colored wrist bands for all inclusive, so we we went back and got them changed. Again, everyone was super friendly and helpful, but the right hand did not seem to know that the left hand was doing. I should add here that none of this was a problem for us as we don't typically stress over things like this, and the staff was so friendly and helpful that it made it all kind of fun. But it could stand some improvement as other guests may not feel the same as we did.

One of my big problems was the issue of tipping. We were told when we got the all inclusive package that tipping was included, but that if we found anything particularly outstanding we could always tip extra if we wanted. The problem is that while no one ever said anything, you always had the impression that they were all looking for tips. Even after we got the all-inclusive wrist bands straightened out, we still got a bill for every meal that we had to sign for, and the tip line was always left empty. Not to mention, we frequently had 2 more people waiting on us, so I was never sure just who got a tip if we left it. And it was also not clear if we could just put it on the room and pay at check out, so we just paid cash as I did not want any confusion on check out. I think this issue definitely needs some attention by the management so others are not confused.

As others have said, the resort is very clean but could use a some minor updating. We had a master suite which was great, but just a big, over-sized room with an amazing outside deck (all on the 3rd floor with an incredible view)! The deck contained a raised covered area and sunken spa, and was probably as big as the room (maybe even a bit bigger). The bathroom was great, but the shower head was clearly plugged up by the minerals in the water, and really needed to be replaced. Again, for the price of this resort, this is a relatively minor issue.

Also, while one of the windows in the room had wood shutters, the other (the sliding door to the deck) did not have black-out drapes. It did have the standard 2 sets of drapes, one shear and one solid, but we found out our first morning that the solid drape was far from a black-out drape, so we were up early each morning.

But my biggest issue was the bed. While other reviewers have said they thought the beds were comfortable, ours was as hard as the floor, and while there was a great pillow top, it was not comfortable, at least for us. When we looked at the mattress to see what it was, we found it was very old and deteriorating, with parts of it falling apart. I have to say that after our 4th night on that mattress I was ready to go home to my own bed. This is one area that I think the resort should definitely address. I understand there are some compromises one might expect from a resort priced so competitively, but this is not one of them, at least for us.

I know you might not think so after some of my previous comments, but overall Loreto Baja Golf Resort and Spa was a wonderful resort. It was clean, very friendly, picturesque and fun. The food was really good, the people very friendly and the overall experience really wonderful. It hit the spot for us, and in spite of some of my comments, we will definitely be going back.

Just remember that you are in Mexico and this is not the 4 Seasons. The pace is much slower and simpler, which is just what we wanted. It was an easy and short non-stop flight from Los Angeles, and only a 10 minute drive from the airport (which is very small and easy to get through). If you arrange transportation to and from the airport from the resort, be aware that the taxi drivers at the airport will try to get you to ride with them, offer what are supposedly cheaper fares and even tell you the resort won't be coming (I heard this from 3 different drivers). Our flight was actually a full 30 minutes early, so they had plenty of time to get us to ride with them (or even buy other packages from their hotels or resorts). But don't believe them. The transportation arrived on time, and everything worked out great.

So there you have it. Would we recommend this resort? Absolutely!!! It will likely not match everyone's tastes, but it suited us just fine. If they had better beds, I might just move in!

Good luck!

The resort was

amazing, the beach and views were incredible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and just returned from Loreto. The Loreto Baja Golf Resort and Spa have the best beach in Loreto. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. The resort is not fancy and could use some updating but very clean and the beds are comfy. The resort also has the best water toys which are free to the guests. We will be going back this fall.

Room Tip: Best view from the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 607Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

we went in mid february for a long weekend. the hotel was fantastic. it was definitely mellow, and not many people staying there. not a huge nightlife, but a great staff and you can't beat the location. the food was very simple. so if you're looking for gourmet and in town, you most likely want to go somewhere else. but for a getaway without anyone bothering and a really nice hotel staff, this is the place.
and there are great little restaurants right across the street. the loreto bay village was full of friendly ex-pats and canadians having a good time 24-7. love the wine bar. owner is a really nice guy. met another couple there and hung out all weekend. went fishing 2 days and the panga picked us up at our beach. then the hotel cooked the fish that night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgla1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Much more beautiful than we had expected! The villa compound was one photo opportunity after another-- a truly lovely area to stroll morning and evening with ample vistas to the Sea of Cortez. Although there are several really nice little cafes (The Wine Cellar, El Corazon, and El Cardon and the hotel's restaurant) there really are not enough places on the compound to eat if you plan to stay more than a week, so an $18( U.S) taxi ride into Loreto is necessary. We loved having Vive Loreto Tours so close and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Such a good time!! This was the best beach in the area!! The resort had the best water toys and was the perfect snorkeling spot!! The employees were superb, friendly, helpful and top notch!! We loved the food, service, and all of the people!! The resort is very well laid out, close to the beach, and very clean. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatLoreto B, Public Relations Manager at Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Joister,
Thank you for your comments, we focused last year on adquiring equiptment for the delight and fun of our guests, we are glad you enyojed all of them at our beautiful beach.

We hope to see you soon in our beautiful resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We are a family of 5 adults 25-60 came down for a 10day family holiday.... About 3hours into the stay here we had already done everything there was to offer....
The whole place is empty maybe 30 people here with an average age of 60+.... We are woken up everyday at 730am with the hundreds of construction workers which seem to be only working in front of our place everyday... So we try to head to the pool but oh no they decided to renovate the gym which is right next the the pool and only restaurant.... There is absolutely no way to escape the noise.... Why start renovations on a complex that is only a few years old right at the start of the busy season.. The place seems to be a money laundering venture...
Everything is extremely expensive... The charge more than Canada for everything with really bad food and terrible service... But there must me 10 to 1 staff to guests... I'm in development myself and nothing about this place is good... When you ask the staff what to do that say nothing as in the first day everything and I mean everything has been done...

By 830 at night the place was dead.... With no Internet or tv or music in the condo what do 3 young adults do..
It was so bad I'm considering taking legal action.... It's makes things even worse as we basically got the place for free... As a friend of a friend owns a condo in the complex and he charged us $10 Canadian per person per night... And we are still considering taking legal action over opportunity cost we have all lost...

Never never again......

The town of loretto was pretty much the same every road was being dug up.... The whole water front was completely torn up all the whole place closes at 9 pm

Absolute worst holiday ever...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Skinnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
15.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
6.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

Property: Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Address: Paseo de la Mision de Loreto s/n | Fraccionamiento Nopoló, Loreto 23880, Mexico (Formerly Inn at Loreto Bay)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#3 Spa Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a privileged scenario in the foothills of the majestic Sierra La Giganta and with an exclusive beach at Mar de Cortez, mirror of the always blue sky, you will find our Resort, unique in its type, waiting for you to enjoy one of the 155 ample suites, beautifully decorated in contemporary Mexican style, all with a spectacular view of the sea, mountains and our 18 hole Golf Course, between lakes, mangroves and sea inlets, which is a complete challenge. The Tennis Club harmoniously integrated in the natural landscape and ready for you to enjoy intensely. If your passion is nautical adventure, fishing, diving, kayak, this is the paradise you long to discover. Our expert Concierge will recommend for each day a memorable experience, like our famous Pic-Nic to the Loreto Islands of indescribable beauty, and to relax, our SPA that will take away the stress with the tide and you will be ready to taste a culinary diversity in one of our three restaurants with exquisite cuisine.This paradise to be discovered is LORETO BAJA GOLF RESORT & SPA, and we are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Loreto Bay Hotel Loreto
Bay Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto Bay
Inn Loreto Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing