We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day trip to Mission San Javier”
Review of Wild Loreto

Wild Loreto
Ranked #4 of 21 Tours in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild Loreto provides tours and travel activities in Loreto, BCS Mexico. If it's an activity to do in Loreto we can help you have a safe, fun experience by land or sea. For land lovers we offer city tours, dine around tours, several hiking excursions, desert safari trips to the missions and cave paintings. Horseback excursions, guided trips to Magdalena Bay for whale watching or nature watching in the Mangroves. For those looking for water activities we offer both Blue whale and Grey whale watching trips, sailing and snorkeling by catamaran, fishing from 20 ft pangas to super pangas. Surf trips to Scorpion bay. All tours are owned and operated by Wild Loreto unless otherwise stated. We strive to give you the experience you are looking for. Come enjoy the islands and the oasis with us.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A day trip to Mission San Javier”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I and 2 others made the day tri up in the mountains to see the San Javier Mission and the village. I can only echo the positive comments that others have said about this interesting trip and knowledgeable guide, Said Orozco. The road was still in rough shape after the fall hurricane, but it made the trip all the more interesting! Definately a worthwhile trip. I had initially thought of renting a car and doing this day trip on my own. I am very glad that I chose to go on a guided trip instead with such a great and personable guide (also driving would have been a bit dangerous).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DebR_AK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    24
    6
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wild Loreto trip to San Javier Mission”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My friend and myself stayed at Villa Del Palmar and used Wild Loreto for a trip to San Javier Mission. Its a drive up through the mountains to get to the mission. The spectacular views from the mountains are life long memory. Parts of the road got washed away with the storm in September. On the way there is a stream and painted caves.Our Guides Efrain Martinez and Daniel were very knowledgeable and know the history.The mission is more than 300 yrs old and it is preserved in its originality.We also had tour of the farm around it (don't forget the 300yrs old olive tree) and had a freshly made Mexican lunch.Very friendly people and there is couple of stores with handy crafts for tourists which opens when tourists are around. Its worth taking taking the trip with Wild Loreto and visiting the Mission.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GJ2012-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Company”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We used Wild Loreto for two activities while in the Loreto area. A scube trip to Coronado Island with David the dive master and to the San Javier mission with Said. Both trips were great. The dive was professionally and safely guided but the boat is a panga not a real dive boat but was fine all the same. We initially tried to take our small rental car to the Mission but were unable to navigate the rough road following the hurricane. As it turned out we were much happier to have taken the guided trip to the mission later in the week because of the depth of the knowledge and local insite we got from our guide Said. Thanks guys!

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildLoreto, Owner at Wild Loreto, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for touring with Wild Loreto! Our diving center is growing this February when we will be a PADI certified dive center. Our dive instructor is the highest rated instructor in Loreto or the surrounding areas. All new equipment and a new dive boat made especially for diving in Loreto. Also this June we will have a second dive catamaran for the North island adventures.

We always recommend guided tours so guests get to know the details and culture of the area. Just renting a car gets you there but the history and stories don't come in the glovebox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wild Loreto Tours”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I, and her sister and her husband, signed up for two tours with Wild Loreto - one to Coronado Island, where we saw several species of birds, including an osprey, a huge colony of sea lions, and did some great snorkling. The second trip was on board a catamaran where we did a tour of 2-3 of the other islands, where besides excellent snorkling and a tasty lunch, we were stunned to see two humpback whales cruising between the same islands we were. We gave easy chase for awhile and got some good pics. Our guide for both trips was Said Orozco, and he was a great host - very knowledgeable and excellent company. We would do either trip again!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildLoreto, Owner at Wild Loreto, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We really appreciate our guests comments and photos. Great guests make for great tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa del Palmar resort and used Wild Loreto for two tours. Our guides on both trips were Said Orozco and Efrain Martinez, who both helped make the trip a lot of fun

On our snorkeling tour, Said helped my wife who was a little scared because she doesn't swim well. He talked her through it and pulled her on his buoy. Based on the time of year, there weren't a lot of fish.

On our second tour, we went hiking in the Tabor canyon. This was a serious hike, mostly scrambling over rocks with a few tight squeezes through caves. It was an amazing experience. Said and Efrain actually discovered ancient rock paintings at one of the pools along the stream! I took photos and sent GPS info to INAH.

All in all, a very helpful and friendly bunch at Wild Loreto. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nathangibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildLoreto, Owner at Wild Loreto, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We really appreciate our guests comments and photos. Loreto is a nature lovers paradise. New things being discovered and guest help is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Loreto also viewed

 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Wild Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing