We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Loreto
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,571)
Filter reviews
1,571 results
Traveler rating
1,183
276
81
22
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,183
276
81
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild loreto danzante restaurant golf course hiking trails beach bar danzante tours time share one bedroom suite paddle boarding timeshare presentation fish villa group activities staff snorkeling tour all inclusive plan all inclusive option nightly shows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 1,571 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018

This is the 2nd time I have been to this resort. I am a timeshare owner, and am disappointed that I was put in a room with a less than desireable view. The staff is friendly, shout out to the awesome service from Manny around the pool.
The rooms are clean, but again, I would spend a little to improve the bedding and pillows.
One of the biggest disappointments is that in our studio there is no Wi-Fi and they said that no studio will accept a modem. I would suggest before you start expanding the resort you invest in whatever it takes to bring Wi-Fi to all your guests.
Other than these concerns, I love the location, the beach, the snorkeling and most of the friendly staff.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank mcleansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

This is our 6th time vacationing at the VDP in Loreto and it never disappoints! It's so beautiful and serene and the staff is great across the board. Specifically, a few people made us feel extra special during our trip - Manny and Roberto (our two favorite pool guys along with Jorge), Candaloria and then Luis Rodriguez and his entire staff at the Market Restaurant - Abraham, Manuel, Raphael and Jafet. And last but certainly not least, my brother from another mother - David from the beach bar. We just love him and he made us feel loved. Thanks to all at the VDP staff for taking such great care of us. We will see you again next year!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JKGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit & it gets better each time. The resort is 30 mins south of Loreto. They own all of the surrounding property so no hassles from aggrivating souvenir salespeople on the beach. Plenty of activities from SUP to kayaking, hiking, snorkling, fishing, scuba, and a 1st class TPC golf course - Danzante Bay. If want a secluded vacation with good food, great service, nice facilities, a great spa, this is IT. Ee loved it so much we upgraded our timeshare which gives us so many options. Check it out.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Loreto

Stayed here for a week as a couple in April and would comment as follows:
Location:
Beautiful setting in a large sheltered bay, but it's remote - Loreto is 30kms to the north and there is nothing else around.
Accommodation:
Our suite was very spacious, clean and well appointed with a huge wrap-around balcony - a third of which was wasted space. However, building has been constructed cheaply with little or no sound insulation between the floors and with a central open space for stairways and elevator shaft and so any noise is excessively amplified. The HVAC and mechanicals (refrigerator, jacuzzi) are also very noisy. The safe didn't work and despite reporting it at least 4 times it still wasn't attended to. Much better to say that they couldn't deal with it than ignoring the problem.
Food quality:
The food at the Danzante restaurant (for which there is a $20 dollar cover charge per person) was very good. The Casa Mia is an open-plan facility serving mainly Italian style food - pizza's and pasta are prepared fresh but everything is drowned in too much cheese or sauce or both. The Market is buffet style fare, which was pleasant enough but I raised serious food hygiene concerns here with the F&B manager. His response was that they needed more staff training - but hold on a mo' - this was basic food hygiene practice that was being disregarded so why are they letting someone cook in the first place that doesn't know the basics? Serious flaw. If this was a mainstream restaurant it would be closed down by the Authorities.
Drinks:
Premium drinks are excluded from the all-inclusive package and oddly there is no separate cocktail bar or lounge even though there is plenty of space available. All the restaurants have bar facilities (as does the pool and beach) but if you want a pre-dinner drink to watch the sunset or an after dinner digestif away from the smell of food then then there is nowhere to go.
Service:
As expected, all the front line staff were excellent - special mention to Gabriel, Christian and Cesar in Danzante's, to Edgar, Roberto and Benjamin in Casa, to Manuel in the Market and to Manny and his team around the pool who work their butts off providing excellent service. Management on the other hand were largely invisible - I never saw anyone in Authority greeting guests or asking how their stay was going.
Facilities:
The spa is very nice and there are paddle boards and kayaks for the bay area. The beach is safe to walk on but you will need shoes or trainers. There are hiking trails around the property of varying lengths. The golf course looks very nice but at over $200 per person there was no one using it - I only saw 2 couples playing golf during the whole week. Maybe if they offered an introductory first round for $75 then they'd get some income flowing and people would then pay the $200 for subsequent rounds.
Overall:
This is a time share resort where the first phase only has been completed. The rest of the bay is a construction site and will remain so for the long term. This poses two fundamental problems - do you want to spend your vacation on a construction site with the attendant problems of noise and dust and secondly when will it all be completed, if ever, assuming they don't run out of money first as commonly happens with developments of this nature. This resort has the potential to be a top notch facility but is sadly lacking in the important distinguishing features. If you want to experience first class all inclusive's then try Secrets Golf Resort at San Jose del Cabo or Pueblo Bonita Pacifica at Cabo San Lucas. This resort simply does not deliver anywhere near its competitors.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful resort with its own little cove on the Sea of Cortez. Rooms were spacious, upscale and clean. Our room had a huge balcony that wrapped all the way around. Room also had a kitchenette which would be nice for an extended stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 908andyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews