We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

For the past twelve years our entire family vacationed together at the Villa
del Palmar resort in Cabo San Lucas. This year we decided to try their new
resort at the Islands of Loreto.

This trip was the most relaxing, pampering, fun time we've had together. The
staff were truly outstanding and very service oriented.
We had fun each day enjoying the pool, water sports, hiking and the island
tours. Everyone was friendly and we met many interesting people.

We loved the lunches, drinks and personalized attention at Casa Mia, but one
of the highlights for me was Chef Alfonso. All his special meals were
impressive and his presentation was unique. Being a foodie myself, we
connected immediately and he made our family feel so special every day. He
made a very special dinner for our family on our last night at Danzante
Restaurant which was simply spectacular.

Although the nightly shows were enjoyable and entertaining, one
recommendation would be to have more entertainment like a guitar player or a
piano player after dinner.

I highly recommend this resort for its personalized attention, relaxing
environment and outstanding service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobbim795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    197
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
317
457
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved the resort, the hardworking employees, and the suite we stayed in. Food is delicious. They have a breakfast buffet every morning with a good selection of food. The cost is about $14.00 US per person. The cost of alcoholic beverages is $8.00 -$11.00 US per drink. They have a free shuttle to Loreto every 1 1/2 hrs. It takes about that long to get from the resort to town because of the construction going on. Two things you should try is the Spa and the charter boat for $80.00 to Coronado Island. Lunch is not included but you can take an ice chest with food and drinks on the boat.
We will definitely be returning. We loved the tranquility and just the beauty of the area where the resort sits. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our extended family of 8 ranging from 11 to 72 stayed for a week in late June. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms were great. The location has everything you could hope for outdoors with fishing, paddleboarding, snorkeling/scuba, etc. available with no hassle and at reasonable prices especially compared to Cabo. NO BEACH VENDORS...yay. Being 20 miles out of town mid-summer was fine, no real reason to hang out there given the amenities and activities available at the resort. The staff at the hotel was excellent and we really enjoyed not having to reserve chairs around the pool or dealing with a crowded pool. One thing we have to call out was the Chef Alphonso. We think he was actually two people because there wasn't a meal where he didn't stop by and check to see how we were doing and to make menu recommendations for us. We had one special meal in the fancier restaurant. Alphonso asked us about what we like to eat and prepared one of the most amazing meals we've ever had - from the 3 different style clams to the dessert it was simply delicious. And the service was perfect - attentive without being obvious. We highly recommend the resort, and VERY highly recommend Alphonso. If we had to do one thing over it would be to have dinner every night in the fancier restaurant! Alphonso - muchas gracias!

Room Tip: It's easy - ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbergthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The resort is nothing short of beautiful. It's about a 45 minute drive (if you're lucky because there is road construction that could delay you by a full hour) The rooms are great, very well maintained, very clean and has everything you'd want. We had a suit that had a kitchen and even a washer and dryer which came in very handy. I would have definitely given it 5 stars, BUT as i was here to scuba dive, the prices are unreasonable. They give you a 25% discount, but it seems like everyone get's those prices. Even with a 25% discount, there is a 16% tax on all activities...we ended up paying about $85 USD per tank. I have been diving all over the world and i have never paid this much. The diving was great and the best part is the dive master Frank and the captain Hiram. They went out of their way to be so accommodating and they were just EXCELLENT. But in case management is reading this, i would highly consider reducing those prices. Diving in the BEST places in the world doesn't cost this much. In any case, the food was DELICIOUS and everyone there would bend over backwards to help you and be courteous to you. We really enjoyed our time. If dive prices come down, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days while traveling up the coast. It is truly wonderful and so relaxing. Lots of activities to do like paddleboarding, kayaking and snorkeling in the shallow bay. we say many groups get picked up and head out for snorkeling and fishing trips as well.

Rooms are very large with a kitchenette that was well stocked! We opted to get a cooler and shop in Loreto so we could eat in our room. We did eat out one evening and the food, service was great. Drive from the airport took 35 minutes on a Sunday. keep in mind, the resort is all by itself out there so if you plan on spending time in Loreto, you would have to take the shuttle into town and back or rent a car. We didnt' leave the resort as we were heading to Loreto later in the trip. There was construction traffic other days but not really a big deal. We just got out and met people on the road.

The hotel is building a huge golf course which is unfortunate. Golf courses in the desert? You can also see that the building will eventually take over the small fishing village on the other side of the bay. Hard to see all the growth happening but I guess its inevitable.

I love the fact that this part of BCS is still very quiet. No late night clubs or partying. This hotel is for pure relaxation. I would love to go back. The pools are excellent and small. Like plunge pools which is perfect to handle the heat. It was exceptionally warm when we went in mid-june-- 98-100 degrees each day.

You can buy into their timeshare program as well. We aren't interested in that and appreciated that nobody bothered us about it. there is information in your room and you can inquire if you want.

I would definetly go again and stay longer. The all inclusive plan would be great for a family or also if you plan on drinking a lot. But with the awesome kitchens its great to stay in and eat as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LIVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently returned from 4 night trip to Loreto with two friends. All of us have traveled to Mexico in the past but this was our first time to Loreto. We paid for the all-inclusive option at Villa Del Palmar and had a really fantastic time.

The service at VDP was really wonderful. All of the staff spoke English very well and were cheerful and welcoming at all times. Everyone bent over backwards to make sure we had exactly what we needed or wanted whether it was in the hotel, the restaurants, or on the beach. The most hard-working waiter we encountered was Pedro, who seemed to be in many places at one time. He plied us with margaritas on the beach and made sure we had enough shade from umbrellas when the sun got to be too much and also cheerily waited on us in the outdoor restaurant and again at the disco at night! We don't know where he got all his energy, but his kind attention made us feel pampered. He was certainly not the exception some of the others who added to our great experience were Jorge, Guillermo, German, Benito.

The food was excellent. The breakfast was a buffet with many options all of which tasted really great. The other meals were menu items prepared when ordered. Every thing we tried we loved from the burger and pizza to the fish tacos and ceasar salad, to the Sea Bass and flank steak. The drinks were all included as well. They were delicious and potent!

The location of VDP in Loreto is a double edged sword. On the one hand it is a bit far from town. When we were there the road was being worked on causing long delays in the hot sun. The trip to or from the resort during the day could take anywhere from 1 to 2 hours. We were told that when the road is not being worked on the drive is less than 30 minutes. Once you make it though, the property is just beautiful. The resort is alone on a bay. The water is shallow out for maybe a quarter to a half mile so (?) it is quite warm but cool enough to be refreshing even in the heat (about 95 when we were there). We were warned about the stingrays but didn't see any, and didn't hear about anyone being stung while we were there. They have paddle boards and kayaks and snorkel gear to use at the beach, some of which is included in the various all-inclusive plans, some cost a reasonable rental fee.

It is a quiet place, especially in the summer, but we enjoyed the close-knit atmosphere where we would see familiar faces every day. The entertainment was fun and provided something to do when (if) you get tired of sitting in the sun enjoying the beautiful Sea of Cortes.

One morning we took the short hike in the hills behind the resort. We enjoyed the views of the surrounding islands but were drenched with sweat by the time we got back to the resort at about 9am. The temps didn't drop more than about 10 degrees at night so there's no relief from the heat except in the well air conditioned rooms or in the Sea. The pools were a little too warm to be refreshing during the days for us, though others seem to spend all day in them.

The rooms and grounds are still very new and well-kept. We were in a room that was adjacent to a partner room (ours was B, the other A). The one negative thing was that we could hear every word and noise in the attached room. This became a bit unbearable in the middle of the night when the couple next door became quite active. ;) So we asked to be moved the next day and Manuel at the front desk happily obliged us. After that we didn't have any trouble with noise.

This was a really great vacation! A beautiful property, the best service ever and really delicious food. We recommend it and hope to return again ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family just returned from Villa del Palmar. Our trip was perfect in everyway, This all-inclusive rests approximately 30 minutes from the small town of Loreto. It is beautiful and quiet. Each evening activities were planned and for three of the nights we had live performers. The food was excellent and was always delivered by smiling and attentive staff. A big thank you to Gabriel, Raul, Norberto, Gerardo, Lalo, Josue, Roberto, and Alejandro. Within a couple days they knew us by name and we all became fast friends. We concluded our stay by eating at the Danzante Restaurant. This is the only restaurant on the premises you need to make a reservation. I have traveled extensively around the world numerous times and I can honestly say the food and the presentation was the best I have ever had. Unbelievable is the only word I can use to describe it. I do plan on returning someday. Thank you all for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and even though there were no bad views, I think I would still be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neeleylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
15.7 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
21.4 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#2 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing